We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, gracious hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
A TripAdvisor Member
Belvidere, NJ
1
Reviewed 27 April 2006

If you are looking for a place to stay in the Brandywine Valley area, this bed & breakfast will certainly not disappoint. The home is beautiful, the breakfasts wonderful, and the hosts create a friendly and cozy atmosphere. If you are lucky you'll get to meet Mac, their adorable cockapoo.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 114 of 114 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Saint Michaels, Maryland
11
Reviewed 17 April 2006

Carol and Jefff Yetter are the perfect hosts for a Bed and Breakfast. The first thing Jeff did is show us through his place, pointing out all the special features and helping us with dinner reservations and directions. Carol cooked us gourmet breakfasts and also cookies and brownies. There were sodas and water available as well as early morning coffee. We had a great time at this very clean, friendly B&B and have every intention of going back. We highly recommend it.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2006

We just returned from our sixth stay at the Kennett House. The house is absolutely beautiful. It is has it all classic beauty, comfort and charm.

We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts throughout the eastern US. But this one is our favorite. The innkeepers Jeff and Carol make you feel like friends. They attend to your every need. Not only do they provide every amenity they can to make your stay comfortable. They go out of their way to make sure you have the tools to enjoy your sightseeing. They are very knowledgable of their area. They will help make restaurant reservations, they will provide movie schedules, etc. They are better then most hotel concierges.

The nightly rate is an exceptional value. The rooms are big and comfortable. The special touches are endless. The nightly treats are amazing. Homemade cookies, brownies, muffins...and the breakfast...that only is worth it. Carol is great in the kitchen.

If you are looking for the perfect little getaway for sightseeing(Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, and Brandywine Battlefield are within miles), wine tasting, antiquing, or just a relaxing retreat...the Kennett House in Kennett Square is the perfect place. You too will want to visit again and again and again...

1  Thank B6096GJgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2006

There is not a better place for a base to tour all the attractions of the Brandywine Valley. Breakfasts are beyond wonderful and the hosts go out of their way to make you feel at home. They are extremely knowledgeable about the area and have detailed maps and directions to everything.

The Kennett House is a short walk from dining and shopping in Kennett Square and Jeff and Carol are ready with many suggestions.

Rooms are cozy and comfortable and the morning coffee on the landing, can't be beat. The first floor sitting rooms are a homey place to enjoy an evening glass of wine (Jeff has many tips on the local wineries) or relax on the sofa with a good book or check email (if you can't let go).

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2006

Having visited the Brandywine Valley yearly for some time, my husband and I have found our perfect 'home from home'. At the Kennett House (---), Carol and Jeff Yetter have turned a stately old home in the center of this charming small town into a warm, welcoming, comfortable -- and quite beautiful -- place to stay. The location is a perfect base for exploring the many attractions in the area, and after a day out, you'll be happy to come back to a place where every need is anticipated. There are a couple of ground floor living rooms comfortably furnished for guests to relax in (huge TV in one, which is great if the game's on!), and on the first floor there's a fantastic 'refueling' nook--coffee (Jeff's super-charged special), teas, sodas, snacks, the daily paper--all complimentary for guests.

We stayed for several days and each morning, breakfast was a delight, starting with fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, juice and then a full cooked treat such as BLT quiche or mushroom omlette, plus fresh, warm baked goods. If you're hungry again by dinner (!), you're within a couple blocks' walk of several terrific Kennett Square cafes and restaurants. (Try the Half Moon if you are a fan of micro-brews and specialist imports on tap, as well as great food!)

Guest rooms are charming, with beds so comfortable they were inevitably a topic of conversation 'round the breakfast table, and bathrooms full of every amenity you could want, including robes, soaps handmade locally, and bedtime chocolates.

I couldn't recommend this B&B more highly--they get everything just right. It was a pleasure to stay, and we can't wait to visit again next year!

1  Thank PhillyUKGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2005

Lovely immaculate spacious old stone home. Hosts, Jeff and Carol, gracious and helpful. Breakfast of gourmet quality. Within walking distance of downtown restaurants and an excellent Mexican-style ice cream shop. Close to Longwood Gardens and other Brandywine attractions. Probably the best B&B I have stayed in...and I travel a lot.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
627 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
7.0 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
4.5 mi away
Fairville Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 503 W State St, Kennett Square, PA 19348-3028
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Price Range: £95 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast offers guests the casual elegance of a magnificent granite foursquare mansion, just three miles from Longwood Gardens. Built in 1910, this Brandywine Valley, Arts & Crafts style B&B is nestled in the historic borough of Kennett Square, and features beautiful chestnut and rosewood woodwork, antique furnishings, and oriental rugs. The Kennett House is just a few minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum, Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing