We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & Bs of the world”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 6 November 2006

This was a wonderful find. Beds (and rooms) were extremely comfortable and the hosts, Jeff and Carol couldn't have been more helpful. A beautiful area to explore and fabulous restaurants just a short step away. We would definitely go back - even though we have to travel "across the pond" to get there.

Stayed: October 2006
Thank Openbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2006

My stay at the Kennett House was extraordinary. Jeff and Carol went out of their way to make sure that every need was met. The food, the room, the atmosphere, their attitude and enthusiasm was all better than expected and made a lasting impression. The rates were more than fair and affordable. I highly reccommend this establishment to anyone spending some time in the Bradywine Valley who wishes for extra comforts and wonderful food to enhance their experience. Anyone can stay at a hotel, but how often has a generic hotel added to the vacation? The Kennett House will guarantee that your experience doesn't began when you leave the hotel and end when you come back to rest. I can't wait to book my next stay and see what else the Brandywine Valley has to offer!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MR_O81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2006

What a delightful place to end a wonderful day of travel in Pa. The house and rooms were delightful. The innkeepers assisted in all areas from where to eat and sites to visit in the area. Definitely a must to stop and visit this quaint town and inn in Kennett Square.

Thank Merrillsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2006

We spent two weeks touring around Pennsylvania, and our stay at the Kennett House was one of our best experiences. The accomodations were lovely, and the amenities made us feel pampered. In fact, it became a benchmark for other stays: "If they only had coffee available like the Kennett House..." "If they only offered Internet access like the Kennett House..."

Although the room was beautiful and the breakfasts incredibly delicious, it was the personal touch that Jeff and Carol bring to their innkeeping that really sets the Kennett House apart. They have mastered the exact balance of being helpful and available without being intrusive.

They were a wealth of information. They helped us decide on restaurants, scenic routes, day activities, and multiple other items to make our stay in the Brandywine special. They answered our endless questions about fox hunts and the mushroom industry and local history. They even gave us tips on trips we might like to take outside the U.S.

We have already recommended the Kennett House to many of our friends and will continue to do so.

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank VNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

Carol and Jeff were so welcoming during our entire stay. They were dedicated to providing whatever we might need. The room was spacious and the food was fabulous. If you're looking for an amazing bed and breakfast in the Brandywine Valley this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pixie619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

This was the best B&B we've stayed in. The house (and the Brandywine Room in particular) was lovely, with all the amenities you could think of provided gratis (i.e. snacks, drinks, toiletries). The delightful, very knowledgable owners whip up gourmet breakfasts each day and made suggestions for how to make the most of our long weekend. The Kennett House is within walking distance of many great shops and restaurants, and within driving distance of numerous local attractions like Longwood Gardens and some wineries. We came for the annual Mushroom Festival, which is not to be missed! Great place to stay. You'll basically feel like you're right at home...just a much more elegant one.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2006

My boyfriend and I spent the day at the local wineries and stayed over in the Kennett House. The house was beautiful and the food was delicious! Both Carol and Jeff made you feel right at home. I would definitely recomment staying there if planning a trip in the area.

3  Thank Lax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
616 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
7.0 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
11.3 mi away
HOTEL DU PONT
HOTEL DU PONT
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 503 W State St, Kennett Square, PA 19348-3028
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Price Range: £95 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast offers guests the casual elegance of a magnificent granite foursquare mansion, just three miles from Longwood Gardens. Built in 1910, this Brandywine Valley, Arts & Crafts style B&B is nestled in the historic borough of Kennett Square, and features beautiful chestnut and rosewood woodwork, antique furnishings, and oriental rugs. The Kennett House is just a few minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum, Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing