We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B in Kennett Square”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kennett House. Gilja, the innkeeper, was a very gracious host. The breakfasts were amazing. Just enough food. The house was immaculate and the room cozy and inviting. The Kennett Square historic district is just one third mile away. Beautiful shops and boutiques. Don't miss the Farmer's Market on Fridays. Everyone was very friendly. Kennett House is just minutes from Longwood Gardens. We stayed in the Wyeth Room which has a private bath. Lovely porch to sit on a rocking chair and just relax. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2010

This well-maintained B&B is conveniently located near Brandywine Valley attractions (Longwood Gardens, Brandywine River Museum). Our hostess Gilja was cheerful, eager to please, and served a lovely breakfast. Pay attention, however if you are booking a room with a private, but "adjacent" bathroom. That means the bathroom is yours only, but you walk out into the hall to get to it. Gilja provides robes in the closet to make that easier. But if you were planning on stumbling to the bathroom in your underwear, think again. Gilja provides good restaurant recommendations. We had a great dinner at Catherine's. Sound from the street and other guests was noticeable, but not enough for us to turn on the provided white noise machine. The entrance is actually on N. Garfield street, so don't be alarmed if your GPS directs you to a barren rock wall on State Street.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My husband and I were very pleased with our stay at Kennett House Inn B & B in Kennett Square, Pa. Our room had lots of thoughtful extras: robes, high quality linens, well-placed lamps, and it was spotless. The host Gilja took great pride in her breakfast, as well she should. Good food, perfectly served. Comfortable and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanellen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Gilja does a fantastic job of maintaining this grand old Arts and Crafts style home and of taking care of her guests. We thought the breakfasts were great---I can't imagine needing more or better, and she was a lovely host. My husband and I like B&B's and would highly recommend this one to fellow travelers. It is a great place from which to explore the beautiful Brandywine Valley (highly recommend Longwood and the Brandywine Museum---we enjoyed both shuttle tours out of Brandywine...fantastic tour guides)

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank blountstreetadvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Not a fan of B&Bs but none the less have stayed in many throughout the U.S & Europe. The Kennett House is spectacular--- more like a boutique inn with its quality ammenities & tasteful decor. No detail is overlooked. The breakfasts are gourmet made with the freshest ingredients. Gilja is a hostess par excellence. We stayed in the Delaware Room, very private, very quiet. The Kennett House location is perfect. We walked to the Kennet Inn(just a restaurant-no rooms despite the name) & enjoyed lovely dinners outside on 2 consecutive evenings. A very short drive & we were at The Hagley, Winterthur, Longwood Gardens, Brandywine Museum, & wine tasdting at the winery. Leaving the Kennett House was painful after our luxurious stay. Gilja felt like a dear, dear friend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMCPittsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

This is a fantastic historic home, with many unique features. It's located really well, close to Brandywine Battlefield, right on the edge of Amish country, and within easy driving distance of Philadelphia. The town itself is very quiet and friendly, and the place lends itself to a relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle of the big city.
The rooms itself are all nicely updated, while retaining their authentic character. Bathrooms have all the amenities, including great supplies from high-quality soap and shampoo, to little touches like q-tips and cotton balls. It is these little accents that make the place so incredibly comfortable.
The beds are better than some of the bedding at high-priced hotels: very soft sheets but firm, good quality matresses and pillows.
As a business traveler, I especially appreciated the (free) WIFI connection throughout the property, as well as the good selection of channels on TV.
The innkeeper was extremely accommodating and made you feel like part of the family without being intrusive or awkward about it. The breakfast she cooks up is made to order and so plentiful and varied (with fresh fruits, as well as delicious bacon), that it is a true joy to come down for that meal. My favorite memory was waking up in the morning to the delicious smell of fresh bacon and coffee from the kitchen downstairs.
Great place! I'll be sure to return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BavarianDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed in the Delaware Room which has an adjacent sitting area with TV. Unlike the previous reviewer, we found that it wasn't noisy at all. Since this suite of rooms is toward the back of the house, we did not hear any traffic or noise. There was nice bathrobes, luxury soaps and lotions, along with other necessities you may forget to bring with you. The bed was quite comfortable with high quality linens. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. During our 3 day stay she prepared mushroom omelets, French toast (my favorite) and a more traditional breakfast. She asked us what we prefer to eat for breakfast and was very accommodating. The location couldn't be better! Just a couple of blocks and you're in Kennett Square - a quaint area with nice restaurants, cafes, and shops. We highly recommend this B&B and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank celluch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
615 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
7.0 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
11.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 503 W State St, Kennett Square, PA 19348-3028
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Price Range: £94 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast offers guests the casual elegance of a magnificent granite foursquare mansion, just three miles from Longwood Gardens. Built in 1910, this Brandywine Valley, Arts & Crafts style B&B is nestled in the historic borough of Kennett Square, and features beautiful chestnut and rosewood woodwork, antique furnishings, and oriental rugs. The Kennett House is just a few minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum, Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing