We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Weekend”

Bancroft Manor Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bancroft Manor Bed and Breakfast
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Weekend”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We loved staying at this home. Mike was the perfect host and helped us plan our activities for the weekend. The breakfast was yummy.The house was lovely with plenty of room for everyone and beautiful furnishings.A perfect getaway for 3 generations of ladies.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    8
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Online booking is a *request* only, not a reservation (which I fully understood at time submitting online form). Confirmation email will say they'll be in touch, but don't count on it. It took me two additional phone calls, over the course of almost a week, to get a response, only to hear they wouldn't take my Saturday-night-only reservation in the busy season. I suspect they were delaying getting back to me to see if they could book a 2-3 night stay before committing to me.

Note that the website *does* include a "Saturday Night/No Friday" "package" for an additional $25, which I selected. It also notes "Please contact the innkeeper for availability". Of course, they don't make that easy.

I understand *all* of this. What I don't appreciate is Brancroft treating the request as a free option to book a single night if they can't find a longer reservation - without any proactive communication. They leave you hanging until you can track them down to push the issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockeysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed two nights, to see the Longwoood Gardens light show, and nearby Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. Mike is a fantastic innkeeper, and an excellent cook. Bed was very comfortable, rooms quiet, and reading in the chairs on either side of the fireplace was a special treat. Great location and excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast PA
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a charming Edwardian home, beautifully maintained, extremely clean, and in an excellent location. The street it sits on is quiet, but within walking distance to Kennett Square, and only a short drive to Longwood Gardens and Winterthur. The innkeeper, Mike, is a very attentive host, and works hard to make sure that his guests are comfortable. The breakfasts are very good, and not overwhelmingly large. The rooms are very comfortable and attractively furnished. We brought friends with us for our last stay, and they loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My elderly mother and I were visiting Longwood Gardens and chose the Bancroft because of its location. It is indeed only a couple of miles from the garden, and an easy drive. After reading these reviews (with one exception), I contacted the innkeeper to negotiate our visit. Our stay was exactly as I expected. We had negotiated the price in advance, and there were no extra fees or surprises when we arrived.

We stayed in the Brantwyn room, which has a king sized bed and an attached bathroom. My mother doesn't like to share bedspace, so we asked for a single bed in the room. This was not a simple rickety roll away, but an actual bed with a real mattress and she said it was very comfortable. It was a tad high for her, but not as high as the bed, so she didn't have to wake me up for help to use the facilities in the night. The down side to having the extra bed was that we didn't have a comfortable chair in the room, but with pillows (of which there were many) she was able to prop herself up and read comfortably. The bathroom was clean, the shower comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water. We were there 2 nights. We arrived in mid-afternoon on a Monday; Michael was still t work but his assistant met us, showed us our room, explained the door and locks, the air conditioning, the wi-fi, and the television. Michael showed up about an hour later from his job and gave us excellent advise on where to eat dinner. He is very knowledgeable about the area.

By B&B standards, the inn was delightfully under-decorated. We didn't fall over some bric-a-brac at every turn, and could admire the clean lines of the house and the furniture without distraction. Clearly the house had been built by craftsmen: even the curved moldings and the built-in seat at the staircase landing were hand made, and cut to fit exactly into the space. Everything was period (circa 1910), except for some of the pretty wall paper, which was probably from the 1930s. It is in a quiet neighborhood, about 2-3 blocks from the center of Kennett Square; our room was in the back, and I heard no noise at all.

I didn't go into the kitchen, but could see it through the door and it looked modern and clean. The food was tasty, and the recipes came from an innkeepers' cookbook that was for sale. One morning we had little quiches, another a small frittata with mushrooms. On both days there was fruit, juice, coffee, and some fresh quick breads. Breakfast on both mornings was sufficient. The portions were reasonably sized, although perhaps appeared small by American standards, but we enjoyed the food and the hot coffee, and the company of the other guest, who is a regular there. The assistant innkeeper gave us some little Italian cookies that were very tasty and crisp, which we enjoyed on our drive back to Pittsburgh.

All in all, we had an enjoyable visit, at a well-kept B&B run by a reasonable and knowledgeable host. We would definitely go back again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: The room with the attached bathroom suited us well, but for families with children it would be too s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntRuth001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

B&B was clean, well laid out. We used it during the week for one night after a visit to Talula's Table in Kennett Square. The property was nice, the facilities nice, but the inn keeper, Mike, made this place very good. He was very knowledgeable about the area, about the history, activities. Mike also went out of his way to prepare brownies and hot chocolate for a two-hour visit from our friends children while they waited for us during dinner.

Highly recommend this inn for this area (in Kennett Squre, near Longwood Gardens).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikehinkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We visit my numerous family in Kennett Square several times a year and over the years have tried several local hostelries. Now, however, we always stay at Bancroft Manor because we are always happy there. Mike Snyder has made Bancroft Manor our home away from home. We love the convenient location to the whole Brandywine valley; we love the woodwork and antique furniture in the fine old house; we love meeting interesting people around the family-style breakfast table; and, most of all, we love Mike's friendliness, consideration, and desire to please. On this most recent visit over the holidays, we even found a bag of homemade cookies on our bedroom doorknob -- such a kind gesture. Bancroft Manor is highly recommended by this couple!

Room Tip: Our favorite room in the summer is the Amish Room, because it comes with its own screened "slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
578 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
356 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancroft Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancroft Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bancroft Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 318 Marshall St., P.O. Box 654, Kennett Square, PA 19348-3329
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing