We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but a little pricey”
Review of The Cafe

The Cafe
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 1
Mount Airy, MD
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great, but a little pricey”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It was great...surprisingly so, we were expecting cafeteria food at ripoff prices, but it was a great place. Fresh taking food, nice breads and wonderful array of desserts. Only drawback was that a chicken sandwich on croissant was $9.50...I thought that was a little much, but they do sell half sandwiches and the chix salad was very tasty!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank md29nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    137
    41
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Park
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrace Restaurant”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

If you don't have much time to eat this is an ideal place which is cafeteria style and is children friendly. Of course we had to have their famous mushroom soup, and other items. We had room for dessert which was great and also their hot apple cider.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carmen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“When you go to Longwood eat lunch here”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The restaurant is inside the Garden. The Terraces Restaurant is an informal cafeteria style with both indoor and outdoor seating. They have a good children's menu including pizza, hot dogs, mac and cheese and chicken tenders. There is beer and wine for adults. The mushroom soup is amazing. Their chili is very good. On a cold winters day it is a great place for a warm up while visiting the garden.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoverPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food Great Limited Menu”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The food is well prepared and presented. A little pricey and a very limited menu. I just wish they had more selections on the menu and we would eat there for often. We have a year pass to Longwood and it is an hour and fifteen minute ride for us to travel there. However the gardens are breathtaking. The service is not quick and this is OK because they don't rush you out. More time to spend with friends after you are on your feet walking in the gardens.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank admsgtfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This place is on the expensive side, but the food and atmosphere make the price well worth it. We have enjoyed eating a lunch and relaxing in their outdoor seating. Also had dinner there not long ago prior to a concert, and had the best time. I would say they have a good selection, the food and service are good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deltraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cafe also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to The Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing