We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting and educational

The staff here are incredibly nice and helpful. First off, this place has a bit of everything you... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Mara028
,
NJ
Mushroom education .

Just a quick stop going through Kennett Square. Beautiful historic house. Very informative, with... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2018
joanhD8166TF
,
Mt. Top, PA, United States
Read all 52 reviews
  
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
47
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh mushrooms mushrooms growing mushroom capital of the world mushroom soup mushroom lovers informative place to visit kitchen items small mushroom pom pom interesting museum gift shop mushroom festival jars gifts shiitake kennet ornaments
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Located in Kennett Square, the Woodlands at Phillips sells fresh local mushrooms, both refrigerated and dried. Types of mushrooms include portobello, shiitake, black trumpet, maitake, porcini, lobster and chanterelle. Dried mushrooms range from $4.99-6.99.

They also sell gourmet mushroom products and gifts. Mushroom tea, coffee, mushroom salsa, marinara sauce as well as mushroom fettuccine and linguine are available.

They sell a mushroom growing kit for kids, mugs, and lots of housewares (aprons, trivets, mushroom slicer, mushroom brush, etc.) Also mushroom tree ornaments, and mushroom shaped gifts of all sorts.

There is an interesting museum with lots of great history about Kennet Square being the mushroom capital, as well as seeing live mushrooms currently growing.

Clean restrooms, limited parking, credit cards accepted.

Glad we went. See would return for mushroom products.

1  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands555, Manager at The Woodlands at Phillips, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

A simply amazing place to visit with a peaceful country setting and everything for the mushroom lover from ceramic and wooden mushrooms,teas to even dog treats and most of all an great assortment of fresh grown mushrooms both common and uncommon which were priced very reasonably. The mushroom museum where you can see mushrooms growing on their substrate was, {besides the mushrooms themselves,} my favorite part of our visit, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. I'd go again and again.

Thank fairyspiritchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands555, Manager at The Woodlands at Phillips, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I love this place. Mushrooms are the freshest and the other items in the store make for a very pleasant shopping experience. I have gotten things for my brother's two Christmas' in a row now and they love the packaged food items and dried mushrooms and they have a terrific assortment of other items. Have also attended several cooking classes there and most have been free. Nice little how they grow building on the property which is perfect for everyone including children. The Ladies who run the place are always to helpful. Great place for all And it is all about location. Rolling hills and a store is housed in a beautiful historic building.

Thank birdwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands555, Manager at The Woodlands at Phillips, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Great historic building that is the storefront for a lot of mushroom products. We participated in the Mushroom Cooking demonstration which was very nice with a great crowd. Note: There are about 12 chairs with some standing room as it is an intimate cooking demonstration. So make sure you are there early. We were greeted by the owners and enjoyed talking with them. We then visited the museum to watch a very informative video and see some of the live mushrooms in small growing environments. Very nice day.

1  Thank DiAlJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands555, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands at Phillips, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed the demonstration and hope to see you again soon!

We host cooking demos on a monthly basis on Saturdays, they are free.
Upcoming dates can be found on our website and facebook and include:
March 11th and April 1st

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This was a great place to see local family owned business. Great to see how they farm the varieties of mushrooms. Lots to learn, items to buy, recipes and mushrooms, mushrooms, mushrooms. We loved it.

1  Thank Elisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands555, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands at Phillips, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you for the review! We hope you enjoyed learning more about mushrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews