We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing cooking demonstrations with fresh mushrooms”

The Woodlands at Phillips
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Woodlands at Phillips is the retail store for Phillips Mushroom farms. We are in the restored family farmhouse dating back to 1828 offering a large variety of Phillips fresh mushrooms and "everything mushroom". Follow the path of mushrooms to our FREE Mushroom Growing Exhibit and Museum open year round. We offer free mushroom talks and mushroom cooking demonstrations throughout the year. Check out our website for a complete list of events or join our monthly newsletter. We also have an online store on our website.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Their diverse mushrooms are fresh, frozen and dried. I get their emails and find out when their cooking demonstrations are. The chefs are very informative with some new twists on mushroom dishes. When the demonstration is done, you get to sample the dish. Their monthly emails suggest some delicious recipes too.
Mary Jo

Thank mjodimario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill G, Manager at The Woodlands at Phillips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you . We are glad you enjoyed our free cooking demonstration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fresh mushrooms"
in 20 reviews
"mushrooms growing"
in 4 reviews
"mushroom capital of the world"
in 6 reviews
"mushroom soup"
in 3 reviews
"mushroom lovers"
in 3 reviews
"informative place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"kitchen items"
in 2 reviews
"small mushroom"
in 2 reviews
"pom pom"
in 2 reviews
"interesting museum"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"mushroom festival"
in 2 reviews
"jars"
in 4 reviews
"gifts"
in 6 reviews
"shiitake"
in 3 reviews
"kennet"
in 2 reviews
"ornaments"
in 2 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2017

Great place to buy fresh mushrooms. They have several types (common and exotic), including some wild mushrooms. They also have various mushroom based products (boxed, in jars and frozen), books, and curios. There is also a mushroom museum with displays of growing mushrooms, and various videos on the history of Kennett Square mushroom growing, how various types of mushrooms are grown, and how to cook and store mushrooms. Definitely worth the trip if you love mushrooms.

Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill G, Manager at The Woodlands at Phillips, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you. We really appreciate your kind review. Please stop in for a visit next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Located in Kennett Square, the Woodlands at Phillips sells fresh local mushrooms, both refrigerated and dried. Types of mushrooms include portobello, shiitake, black trumpet, maitake, porcini, lobster and chanterelle. Dried mushrooms range from $4.99-6.99.

They also sell gourmet mushroom products and gifts. Mushroom tea, coffee, mushroom salsa, marinara sauce as well as mushroom fettuccine and linguine are available.

They sell a mushroom growing kit for kids, mugs, and lots of housewares (aprons, trivets, mushroom slicer, mushroom brush, etc.) Also mushroom tree ornaments, and mushroom shaped gifts of all sorts.

There is an interesting museum with lots of great history about Kennet Square being the mushroom capital, as well as seeing live mushrooms currently growing.

Clean restrooms, limited parking, credit cards accepted.

Glad we went. See would return for mushroom products.

1  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands555, Manager at The Woodlands at Phillips, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

A simply amazing place to visit with a peaceful country setting and everything for the mushroom lover from ceramic and wooden mushrooms,teas to even dog treats and most of all an great assortment of fresh grown mushrooms both common and uncommon which were priced very reasonably. The mushroom museum where you can see mushrooms growing on their substrate was, {besides the mushrooms themselves,} my favorite part of our visit, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. I'd go again and again.

Thank fairyspiritchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands555, Manager at The Woodlands at Phillips, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I love this place. Mushrooms are the freshest and the other items in the store make for a very pleasant shopping experience. I have gotten things for my brother's two Christmas' in a row now and they love the packaged food items and dried mushrooms and they have a terrific assortment of other items. Have also attended several cooking classes there and most have been free. Nice little how they grow building on the property which is perfect for everyone including children. The Ladies who run the place are always to helpful. Great place for all And it is all about location. Rolling hills and a store is housed in a beautiful historic building.

Thank birdwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands555, Manager at The Woodlands at Phillips, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woodlands at Phillips also viewed

 

Been to The Woodlands at Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing