We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best coffee in town (...and the doughnuts are great too!)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frying Dutchman College Town Bakeries

Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Kutztown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Description: doughnuts!
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town (...and the doughnuts are great too!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I love The Frying Dutchman! Nothing beats a hot, freshly-fried, doughnut! I've probably had just about every flavor they offer. My favorites include the mixed berry and cinnamon sugar doughnuts. I am a big coffee drinker and this place brews the best in town (which is saying something since there are two coffee shops which supposedly specialize in coffee right on the same street.) This is a cool place to bring people too. Whenever I have someone over who is visiting Kutztown for the first time, a stop to the Dutchman is a must!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FRIENDinPA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
185 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Royal hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

On our way east from Amish Land back to civilization we past through a small town called Kutztown PA.
We learned from the internet that "There is a house in Kutztown, they called The Frying Dutchman and they sell the best donuts"...So we stopped by.
A beautiful young couple With a small smiley baby welcomed us. We told them that we read about them in our country, Israel. We stopped for tasting Donuts and a good Amish Cocoa and superb yogurt. They also offered us a variety of tasty hot Donuts,Yammy!! And two nice local T Shirts (gift).
Don't forget to stop there, you wont regret !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GadiB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

These guys will make you any kind of doughnut you can think of, especially good is the French Toast. Made right in front of you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oley
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy unique donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

It's a great place. Only a few tables, but the menu has wonderful donut combinations like French toast donuts and s'more donuts. Or, you can create your own combination of toppings and glaze. they then fry them for you! Fresh fried donuts to order! It puts those couple times a day places to shame. My only qualms are it'd be great if they were bigger with more seating, had longer hours, and put in recycling for the glass bottles. But, the food is great. the staff has always been friendly as have the owners when they are working.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caratach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Donut addiction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Each donut is made to order, all served warm. Sooo many toppings to choose from but naked donuts are just as decadent. This is absolutely my guilty pleasure...and they sell milk in glass bottles too! Wow

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christinelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Frying Dutchman College Town Bakeries also viewed

 

Been to The Frying Dutchman College Town Bakeries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing