We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Italian restaurants in the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valentino's

Valentino's
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Kutztown
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,881 reviews
633 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,859 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian restaurants in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This casual place sits at a busy intersection on Route 222 just northeast of Kutztown. It has very good Italian items and excellent specials--lunch, senior, half portions, at reasonable prices. For lunch, I had a half portion of spaghetti with marinara sauce (a pretty big portion) and garlic bread for only $5.50 (meat sauce was $1.25 extra). Good food and prices. Large parking lot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stop by frequently since it is close to work. Great lunch specials and by far the most extensive menu I have seen at a restaurant. If you can't find something to eat here, I find it hard to believe that you like food at all. Wraps, hoagies, Italian dishes, and great seafood all in one place. Just can't beat it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Aubrey324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I was traveling with my husband this past weekend from Reading visiting a few family members. We stopped here on our way back home for dinner. The wait staff was very helpful and friendly, I had the salmon dinner and my husband had the chicken marsala. They were both very enjoyable and great portion sizes! We then had split the tiramisu for desert and it turned out to be very delightful. We were VERY pleased with the whole experience! We were more than glad we stopped in for dinner and will definitely remember to stop there again whenever in the area!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going back as often as possible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

The staff wonderful very welcoming always on top of things the food also wonderful was there with my son on Friday got a pizza and bread sticks very fresh our waitress was very helpful will be returning in the near furure

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank pizzalover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Last Resort…..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Valentino's promises and advertises "Italian Cuisine", but after a recent visit, I wonder which part of Italy this "cuisine" comes from. It is a very ambitious claim, and not even remotely satisfied. Deep freed mozzarella sticks came directly from the freezer, and the Veal Marsala did not only look rather gray, it also tasted as if the veal had been given a chance to mature fully to a mutton. The Marsala sauce was watery and tasteless.

The pasta we had was cooked well passed "al dente", although plentiful. The highlight was the side salad, which appeared to be fresh and crispy, although the dressing was straight from the bottle.

The crinkly French fries bore a remarkable resemblance to those you find in any freezer at the supermarket - they look good, but taste of cardboard.

"We have run out of Pinot Grigio" was the response to our request for a glass of wine. Instead, we opted for a (Paul Masson??) Chardonnay, which was drinkable but far from exciting.

Kutztown is hardly a major tourist spot, and it is probably understandable that KFC, Wendy, and McDonald are all doing better business than Valentino's.

On the bright side: there is ample parking, the service was pleasant, and the atmosphere - well, there was little, but it was acceptable.

My suggestion: Unless you are starving or have to use the restroom as a matter of utmost urgency (Please note: bring some disinfectant cleaners with you before using the toilet seat or touch anything), travel on.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Valentino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing