We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chubb Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lafayette Hill
Reviewed 24 November 2011

When I got a cab from the airport the driver put in the address into his gps and the gps had "no clue" where the hotel was located. After an hour, $80 cab ride and getting lost I had to call the hotel for directions for the cabbie. Adding to the confusion the hotel is located at a country club and a convention center. The hotel was not within walking distance to any restaurants or shops. Upon arrival at 8p the hotel had a $50 buffet or a $25 roast beef sandwich. The room was clean and comfortable and the conference rooms were very nice. The hotel grounds were clean and quiet. The hotel is sprawled out and can b a long walk from the front desk. Most rooms have patios. The hotel itself is secluded and quiet and has a nice view over the countryside. From what a cab driver said Lafayette Hill is one of the safest places in Philly. It's about a $35 cab ride to downtown. On the third nite there i decided to stay in room and order a pizza from a delivery restaurant 1.5 miles from the hotel. The delivery driver didnt know where the hotel was and called me for directions. WTH??? When I left for the airport to go home the cabbie went thru the city and it cost $50. Cabbies were not very friendly. But I did get to visit Paddys Pub from It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia. That was worth the trip. I'd like to go back and spend time site seeing. If I stay at this hotel again I would rent a car.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACEConferenceCenter, General Manager at Chubb Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay at the ACE Conference Center. I am disappointed to hear about the challenges you had in getting here and that your cab driver was unable to locate the property. Our facility has been located here for almost 30 years so it’s discouraging to hear that an area cab driver was not able to locate our property, even with GPS. As we are situated on 300 acres along with The ACE Golf Club, we are not within walking distance to area restaurants and shopping, however we do offer complimentary transfers to nearby destinations. Additionally we do offer a lighter fare menu in our lounge, I apologize that this was not made clear to you during your visit. Should your travels bring you back to the ACE Conference Center please contact me directly so I may be of assistance to you to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in the Philadelphia area.

Regards,

Daniel Briones
General Manager
ACE Conference Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

We needed one room for a Saturday night and were able to get a great rate. We found a spacious room that was very clean and had everything we might need, including extra blankets and pillows in the closet. I understand the comments about some rooms being far from check-in area. The staff were extremely helpful, however, and told us where to park to be closest to our room. A request for extra towels was promptly taken care of. This place has everything that we needed and we really liked it. Clean & quiet - just like we like it!

Room Tip: Ask where you should park when you check in so that you can park closer to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theorbo-pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We had our 5th (every 5 years) camp reunion at this facility. They overbooked. We had to go elsewhere for Friday night. When we arrived Saturday some of the group had no rooms even though they had confirmed reservations 6 months in advance. Desk personell were impersonal and the manager in charge got people handicapped rooms after the desk said there were no rooms. The manager did not smile nor say she was sorry. My room was the last one in the place. Could not have been further from the lobby. The dinner was a buffet. When platters were empty they did not refill them as normal. The food was poor. Lines were long. Service was dismal. I would never go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pittsburgh_PaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This hotel had five star quality in a great location that makes you feel like it is remote, but really is not. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and the service was very quick. They only down fall was that I personally did not like the food. Some of it was more exotic than I personally care for, other stuff was brought in and just didn't look presentable. I would go back in a heart beat. I drive past it and wish I had a reason to check in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staciobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This property is fairly nice with a well maintained golf course with pretty views in a good location. The rooms are slightly outdated, yet clean. Beds feel cheap and have plastic mattress protectors, so it feels as though you're sleeping on a shower curtain, but it did the job. Rooms have abundant sunlight and large sliding glass doors.... And while they each have a great balcony, they are shared with other rooms so we didn't use the balcony to give our neighbors their privacy.

This property has lots of potential, but they will need to do some reshuffling of their management as we were greeted with a shockingly rude and unhelpful assistant manager named Jeffrey Kelly. We were appalled at his classlessness and unprofessionalism when we were late checking out of our room after my wife became ill with food poisoning after eating their breakfast. Hoping for a bit of understanding for checking out 30 minutes late because my wife had been vomiting profusely since breakfast, we were met with the threat of charging us for an extra night (while he had our credit card in hand) and a security guard escorting me and my poor wife from the room.

We travel weekly for business and have never in our many years of traveling been met with such bitterness, lack of compassion, unprofessionalism, and surly threats.

We hope ACE looks into this manager's behavior as it is truly a detriment to the success of their business.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wetravel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We booked this hotel thru the Valley Forge site. Great rates! The hotel is beautiful and very serene, on a golf course. The rooms are great with a balcony. My daughter planned to sip her wine and watch the wild life from it.

The only bad things about the hotel is that it does not have a swimming pool and it is a long walk to the rooms. MY grandson is on crutches and I have a gait problem (they have since taken the pool site off their site). This is not the fault of the hotel

The manager felt sorry for us and booked us into another hotel that had a pool at the same rate.

We could not ask for anything more from this hotel. The staff is great and the manager is also great.

Choose this beautiful hotel for a great weekend. You will not be sorry!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank yoelreyleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lafayette Hill
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philad...
#1 of 6 in Plymouth Meeting
188 reviews
Chestnut Hill
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Chestnut Hill Hotel
#17 of 89 in Philadelphia
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chubb Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chubb Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 800 Ridge Pike, Lafayette Hill, PA 19444-1751 (Formerly ACE Conference Center)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lafayette Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lafayette Hill
Price Range: £116 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chubb Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of Center City Philadelphia and near Plymouth Meeting, Chubb Hotel & Conference Center combines 300 acres of rolling hills and woodlands with distinctive, state-of-the-art venue for any type of meeting or event. We offer 120 newly renovated guest rooms, featuring custom-designed modern furnishings. Wolfgang Puck Catering provides their award-winning cuisine with flawless service and creative flair using seasonal ingredients that are sustainable and ethically raised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chubb Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel Lafayette Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing