We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lahaska
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
201 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have stayed at the Golden Plough Inn a number of times, but this is the first time we stayed in the Inn. The Inn has been newly renovated and it is absolutely lovely. The bathrooms are spacious, the rooms are large and have 2 chairs that are very comfortable. Upon arrival you find a full bottle of wine in your room and you also get continental breakfast which was good. Prior to the renovation, you would get a full breakfast. The front desk and entire staff are excellent. The only thing that is missing is a coffee maker in the room and they definitely need either carts or bell service for your luggage. They can get someone to assist you, but it is hit & miss.

The rates are excellent, but they do get overly high once October comes.

I don't know if they own or manage the Buttonwood Grill which has excellent hamburgers, but the service and wait for your order is ridiculous. We waited 45 minutes for a hamburger for lunch on Saturday and their lunch menu leaves a lot to be desired as there were very few sandwiches if any. I will also review ths separately.

Room Tip: If you require an elevator or handicap facilities, you have to stay in the Inn or in the Carousel bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    147
    44
    17
    12
See reviews for
73
228
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We always detour when traveling so, as Entertainment Director, it's my job to find new things to do! I chose Peddler's Village, made reservations at the Golden Plough Inn. We didn't actually stay there...they gave us a very nice room (large) above one of the stores in Peddler's Village! It was perfect because of its central location and proximity to everything in the Village! I checked out every store, bought a couple of trinkets, but the best part was seeing the Gazebo & the Village shops lit up at night! Really gorgeous! Our room charge included a free bottle of wine! Well worth it! I heard it's the go-to place at Christmas time!

Room Tip: Our room was not handicap accessible. Lots of stairs above a store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The rooms at the Golden Plough are badly in need of renovation, especially those that are not in the main building (which are the majority of rooms at the Inn). The cooling/heating systems are either noisy or do not work, and in some cases are hazardous. The rooms are very musty. When I checked into my room, in the Village Square, the hallway was 90 degrees, the ice machine did not work and the air conditioner in my room did not turn on. Most of the front desk staff couldn't care less about the Inn or their guests. What was once a lovely and unique place to stay has turned into a tourist trap.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masque978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
messiahwcc, General Manager at Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your recent patronage of the Golden Plough Inn at Peddlers Village. I am disappointed that your most recent experience did not meet your and our own expectations. The Village is a spectacular location this time of year with our flower beds in full bloom and shopping a pastime. We have just completed a modernization of all of our rooms; and hope that you will visit again soon to rekindle the memories you once made here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed in the Mahaska sweet July 18 to July 20. The room is centrally located in peddlers village, unless that were wonderful. The only negative I had was the room was in bad shape. Cracked ceiling, dirty and cracked tile on the floors, and a big missing tile in the kitchen. It did not present well at all. It's a shame, because it's a beautiful inn and that should be a showpiece of their facility
A representative did send an email apologizing for the shape of the room, and invited me for a return stay ar my cost But I'm not willing to put that kind of money out to try it again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelRN1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
messiahwcc, General Manager at Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for your recent patronage of the Golden Plough Inn at Peddlers Village and for taking the time to write about your recent experiences. The Village is beautiful this time of year and I'm glad you had the opportunity to enjoy both our wonderful staff and environment during your stay. I am disappointed that your room didn't meet your or our own expectations. We have taken the time to enhance the room based on your comments; and I am confident that any future stays will exceed your expectations. We do hope to welcome you back to Peddlers Village soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Golden Plough Inn this past weekend for my birthday. We had an amazing time! Was really looking to escape city life for a few days, and this was exactly what we needed. The hotel was recently renovated, so the rooms were cozy and clean. Loved the bed and the shower - AWESOME!

The only thing we missed was having room service available. But, the Buttonwood Grill is the right downstairs and the food there was phenomenal! Fish tacos were to die for and the burger was delicious. And our server Kelly was THE BEST! Remembered to write her name down so that we could shout her out. :)

Good shopping. Good food. Good getaway. And only a 10-minute drive from the main streets in New Hope (live music at Havana's was legit). We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Stay in the main inn. Closer to the restaurants, and our room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights for a mini-getaway - it was perfect! Our room was huge and had a gas fireplace, plus the bathroom had whirlpool that easily fit 2 people. It was very clean and comfortable, the perfect place to retire for the night after a day of shopping. All of our encounters with staff were wonderful, everyone was so nice and helpful. We enjoyed walking around the shops each day, and even got a couples massage at the nearby spa. The room came with complimentary breakfast each morning which was the perfect amount of food for us - they also had hot oatmeal available upon request. All in all it was a wonderful weekend, and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have been visiting Peddlers Village for over 10 years now which started when myself and 4 sisters wanted to treat our mom to this wonderful village for the weekend to enjoy the wonderful shopping and dining experiences. We always stayed at the Golden Plough since it has always been very clean and comfortable and the staff always very accommodating. The reason for writing this review is because throughout all these years we always looked forward to an outstanding sit down breakfast that was offered in the restaurant downstairs from the Golden Plough. Yes we had other options in the area for breakfast but my mom, sisters and myself all had our favorites from their wonderful extensive menu offering the freshest biscuits, omelets, french toast, pancakes, eggs benedict, fresh fruit, oatmeal, etc since the list was endless. Last weekend to our surprise waking up looking so forward to the exceptional breakfast that awaited us with each visit in the past we walked into the dining room and were totally confused. All of the seating chairs and tables were removed and replaced with a few tables that obviously now looked like a continental breakfast. This breakfast if you want to call it one was just so disgusting with quite a few very unhealthy options to choose from. My mom just ended up eating some toast and a cup of coffee that was very bitter. As we sat down for this atrocious breakfast all we kept hearing was very negative complaints to the hostess asking what happened here? Not one family came in that was happy with this meal. We always book 2 rooms for all of us and pay quite a bit more than for the neighboring hotels that we could have chosen but my mom always asked us to stay at the Golden Plough since she loves everything about the rooms and service and most importantly the lovely breakfast that they all offered to their customers until now. We would love to have the old breakfast dining experience brought back to the Golden Plough not only for us but for everyone else that has stayed there and of course for future new customers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reunion20145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenPloughInn, General Manager at Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your dissatisfaction during your most recent stay at the Golden Plough Inn. We are always disappointed when we fail to meet our guest’s expectations. We are reviewing the layout and standards of our new enhanced Continental Breakfast and hope to host your Family Reunion at Peddlers Village for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaska
4.7 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
235 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
4.6 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Doylestown
9.6 mi away
The Temperance House Inn
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village

Property: Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
Address: Peddler's Village, Route 202 and Street Road, Lahaska, PA 18931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Lahaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lahaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Bucks County's picturesque 42-acre Peddler's Village, The Golden Plough Inn features 67 guest rooms and suites that feel as if they've been plucked from beautifully appointed country homes. Hand-chosen fabrics and furnishings, teamed with treasured family heirlooms, create an atmosphere of mirroring the village's Colonial-era ambiance. Under the design direction of noted interior decorator AJ Margulis, the inn merges current design trends with an appreciation for timelessness. Guest rooms and suites are fresh and comfortable, yet stand the test of time. Stays at The Golden Plough Inn include complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet and Free Parking. Breakfast is available at the adjacent Best of Bucks winner Buttonwood Grill. After breakfast, it's time to explore the shops and boutiques of Peddler's Village, enjoy a spa treatment or head into the BucksCounty countryside for golf, tennis, horseback riding and antiquing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Plough Inn At Peddler`s Village Hotel Lahaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing