We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discomfort Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Ariel
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Discomfort Inn”
Reviewed 23 August 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Lake Ariel Comfort Inn for a wedding, and found it to be one of the most uncomfortable hotel stays we have experienced in recent memory:

Pros: The staff was friendly, informative and efficient.

Cons: The room was musty and damp and smelled like a locker room. Air conditioner made a rattling noise. These two factors alone made for a long and largely sleepless night. Our traveling companion also complained about loud air conditioner noises and a unpleasant odor in his room. We're not overly picky travelers, but when paying a rate of $150 per night, we do expect an odor-free room with equipment that functions properly. There must be better hotels (or better value) in the area, and we would urge other visitors to press on in search of other accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    75
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
76
86
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, PA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We chose this hotel because we were traveling with our dog. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating. We were looking at properties in the area with a realtor and they gladly extended our check out time. Thank you to Tanya, Amber and Diane. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybeaches23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2009

For $107 - this is a dump. Worth maybe $35 - $50 at most. The building is ancient, the room we had was long-overdue for a refurb. Rugs and Bathroom dirty.

It has only one advantage - if you are heading toward New England coming North from I81 and going on I84 - it is just beyond the usual Scranton construction messes and delays. There is no other reason to even consider it.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cahudson42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed at the Comfort Hamlin on the way to Cape Cod. Be advised that there are few places to eat or visit in the immediate area. We got salads at McDonald's. After dinner, we usually walk in a mall when we have been driving all day, but there was no mall. We did find a game room in the hotel where they have a pool table. This was very enjoyable. If you are with children or teens, there are many video game machines, as well. The hotel itself appeared to be fairly new and the staff was very pleasant.

Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mamalyn27407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Namely- Amber W., Rheanna S., Carolyn G., and Diane S. were particularly helpful during our stay and ready to help at a moments notice. All requests were executed with optimum efficiency, in reasonable time, and most importantly, with a pleasant smile and positive demeanor at all times.

Even our housekeeper, Joanne F., was of equal stature and made every effort to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbottjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

One of my favorite places to stay while traveling from Maine to Florida...rooms have always been clean, staff is friendly, and the woman who manages the breakfast room is cheerful, helpful, and friendly. Always good fruit, yogurt, and coffee and the eating area is always clean and inviting. Beds are very comfy, hotel is well removed from freeway traffic, plenty of ample parking even when towing a trailer.

My only con is to advise folks to NOT eat at the restaurant next door (not affiliated with the Inn). Get directions to the Italian restaurant, I think it's "Trio's" maybe?

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

The Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes area is conveniently located to I80 with restaurant and gas station adjacent to premises. It is a good over-night stop for long trips.

We had a King room
Pros:
The inn is located in a quiet area that is easy-off/easy-on the highway with fuel and food right next door. The staff was friendly and courteous and the room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was good and had plenty of variety.

Cons:
None

We stayed at the Comfort Inn as an overnight stop on a long trip and were very pleased. It had everything we needed and was a welcome place after a long drive. We will stay here again.

  • Liked — It's comfort, convenience, and amenities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTravPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ariel
17.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
12.0 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
7.8 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Woodlands Inn
The Woodlands Inn
#8 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lake Mocatek Inn
Lake Mocatek Inn
#2 of 2 in Lakeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region

Property: Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
Address: 117 Twin Rocks Rd, I-84 Exit 17, Lake Ariel, PA 18436-4859
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lake Ariel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Ariel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region Hotel Lake Ariel
Comfort Inn Lake Ariel
Comfort Inn Hamlin
Hamlin Comfort Inn
Lake Ariel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing