We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be aware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Split Rock Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Be aware”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Split Rock is old and outdated but very, very clean. The staff were wonderful, had a sick baby and they came in two minutes to clean up.Very, very courteous and helpful. Check in was a breeze. However, the night we arrived there were 100 screaming high school teenagers who blocked the entrance way as we tried to get through with our luggage. The next thing we see are armed guards. very scary. They were having an outside function that required armed guards? Stayed in our room that night. Saturday night we find out they are closing the waterpark on Monday. What? Are you kidding me? Traveled with 6 children who were very excited about the waterpark. They should have notified us upon check in as we would have planned Saturday better. Now we had to try and sqeeze tubing and waterpark in one day on Sunday. Monday, even though they closed the waterpark, the movies were closed, the basketball courts were closed, the ice cream parlar was closed,They should have offered other activities being they closed the waterpark with no notice. (said they didn't have enough lifeguards) Although I liked the resort with all its amenities I cannot recommend for fear of what functions you might find when you get there and what activities will be closed with no notice.

Room Tip: If you have small children stay in the galleria, if not, the outside timeshare are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Downtown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romeyd04, Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We thank you for your comments about Split Rock: We are happy to hear that our staff was able to assist you quickly and you enjoyed your accommodations. Your other comments will be discussed at our weekly operations meeting and will be handled in a timely manner. We here at Split Rock thank you for your business and wish to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    453
    366
    262
    295
See reviews for
1,006
255
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolivar, Ohio
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

So many things were wrong.
My husband and I were here for a week on an Interval Time Share Getaway.
The check in process was bad.
If you could crawl over the 6 inches of ice all over the parking lot to get inside without breaking a leg, you were doing well.
We arrived on Saturday, about 4 PM. We knew check in was at five - so we were not disappointed to hear that our room was not ready. I gave them my cell phone number for them to call us when we were able to get in our room. For most of the time, we sat in the lobby in very plain view of the check in desk. I asked again at about 5:10 and got the same response. We decided to walk around and went up to where our room was on the third floor. The cleaning staff there said that room had been cleaned and was ready some time ago. I realize there is some time needed for communication, so I did not check back at the desk until 5:45. I was told it still wasn't ready. I told the desk rep I had spoken to the cleaning staff and they said it was ready some time ago. She held her position without making any calls and still said it wasn't ready. At 6:05, I couldn't wait any longer and went back to the desk rep. She handed me my check in packet which was in front of her. I asked her why she didn't notify us the room was ready and she really didn't have an answer.
Saturday night there was no sleeping. It sounded like wild animals running through the halls.

Sunday through Thursday was great. This resort sort of empties out through the week and everyone still there can use all of the facilities without crowds.

We used the hot tub, although the jets were broken.
We used the exercise room and it was really great.
We saw the movie, which then was Monument Men and enjoyed being there without the crowd.

Each time you go through the gate, you pay a dollar toll. You are supposed to get a token each time which you can use for things like a discount on ice cream, movie tickets and bowling.
We had to ask for this token each time, and on Friday, the gate guard said he had run out. That was that, He had no more to give.

We skied everyday and wanted to go to bed at a reasonable hour.
Friday night was absolutely the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel.
There was an event called Carnival of the Poconos booked in the ballroom which is three stories high in the center of the resort. The music from this event sounded like they were set up in our living area. There were 12 people in attendance at the event. (The top of the ballroom is glass and we could see inside from our hallway). The music could be heard in every area of the resort. We talked to many people who were also upset, so we went to speak to the manager.
This is what is really frightening: The staff said there was no manager on site. They said no person was in charge other than the security police they had hired from an outside source. WHAT?
The staff said they were upset also - but there was no one to talk with that could change any of the situation. I believe if someone was able to turn the bass down in the venue, it would have helped a lot, but there was no one to do that.

This resort should decide whether they are a family resort or a club resort.
It is really impossible to do both.

Even though this resort needs updates, it still could be a great place. But not with staff and management there now.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank summerfunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Harmony hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Horrible experience at Split Rock. Venues were booked at this hotel all weekend that were not family oriented. The hotel was being run by armed outside security, and a visit from the local police is always good while trying to enjoy the weekend.

Our kids could not use the indoor basketball and tennis courts. We had to leave the pool area because of it being over crowded. No food left in the restaurant. The staff there was no help even when asking at midnight if the venue could turn down there music.

People who own this hotel were more concerned with the money they made from these venues than the safety of their guests. What hotel has armed security for their event???

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romeyd04, Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about Split Rock: we are very sorry that you and your family did not enjoy your stay. We here at Split Rock wish you would give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fieldsboro
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The first few days of our stay were okay. Arrived on Weds. Staff pleasant. Room- mini in Galleria was spacious but has odors at times that seem to come and go. Otherwise clean. The problem started on Friday. They had this large event that was not listed on the events calendar on the web site. Hoards of teenagers in unsupervised groups arrived and took over the building. The event brought unsavory characters. So much for the family friendly atmosphere. We went bowling and had a good time. About 2 Hours after having 1 and a half beers at the bowling alley, I became violently ill. My husband had the same issue- throwing up most the last night. We isolated it to the beer because it was the only thing we both has that not one else In the group did. We checked out on Sunday after being so sick all night and there wasn't a luggage cart to be found. Staff said people keep them in their rooms- sorry. Obviously they don't have enough.
The skiing at Jack Frost was great. We enjoyed the water park and bowling but don't eat the food!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctakacs555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romeyd04, Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about Split Rock: your comments have been forwarded to the Food and Beverage Manager and will be discussed at the next weekly operations meeting. We thank you for your business and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times over the years and always enjoyed my stay. It is a dated hotel so don't expect the most updated room. They did re-do the rec center with bowling, arcade, tennis and basket courts, and billiards. The hotel and rooms were always clean. Segway tours were awesome. Unfortunately for a resort nothing is all inclusive unless you book a package deal so there is an extra fee for everything. Never ate at the restaurant but did at the concession/pizza stand and it was decent. Ice cream was delicious. The price has significantly increased over the years to stay at the resort therefore I probably won't stay there again in the future but it was definitely a nice place just don't expect a five star resort.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacc0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romeyd04, Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your nice comments about Split Rock: we thank you for your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We returned today from a stay Presidents week. You have to pay a dollar fee each time you enter the road leading to the resort. Even if you just paid it an hour ago you have to pay again. Not that it is expensive, just annoying. When we drove into the Galleria parking lot, it was a sheet of ice and snow. Looked like it had hardly been plowed and was very slippery. Had no place to park during check in unless you practically block the driving lane. Entrance to the Galleria where our room was located was very dark and deserted. No staff, no security cameras. A little creepy. Doors are left unlocked for anyone to enter. Our room was slope-side, a one bedroom with kitchen. Room was clean but very dated. As another reviewer said, it looked like something out of The Shining. It did. Sofa bed was very bent and uncomfortable. We wound up putting the mattress on the floor for the kids. Queen bed was horrid! Hard as a rock and smelled moldy and musty. Sheets and pillows smelled too! Room was extremely hot even though heat was off!! Did not sleep the entire stay. We were very disappointed that the water park had such high admission fee even though we were guests of the hotel. We chose not to use it. Food in pizzeria downstairs was so so. Hamburger i had there was disgusting! Tasted like it had no beef in it at all. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary1234321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We just came back from a weekend stay. We stayed at the Galleria in the slope side rooms. Our kids (age 7) enjoyed themselves in the water park, pool, bowling, tennis and arcade. The food wasn't the greatest but I didn't expect it to be. All of the staff we encountered were very pleasant especially security and arcade staff. All of the other guests we encountered were also very pleasant. Sure the decor isn't great and it could use updating but that doesn't matter to a couple 7 year olds who had a blast and that's all that matters to us.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Msobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romeyd04, Manager at Split Rock Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We here at Split Rock want to thank you for your very nice comments. We are thrilled that your children had a blast at Split Rock and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Harmony
13.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in White Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
14.3 mi away
Camelback Lodge and Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotrun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,721 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Harmony Inn
Lake Harmony Inn
#1 of 1 in Lake Harmony
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
22.9 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Rock Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Rock Resort & Golf Club

Property: Split Rock Resort & Golf Club
Address: 428 Moseywood Road, Lake Harmony, PA 18624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lake Harmony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Split Rock Resort & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Split Rock Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Split Rock Resort And Golf Club
Split Rock Resort & Golf Club Hotel Lake Harmony
Hotel At Split Rock
Split Rock Hotel
Resort At Split Rock
The Resort At Split Rock
Split Rock Pa
Split Rock Resort Pa
Split Rock Lake Harmony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing