We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay but outdated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cove Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cove Haven Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Stay but outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

First we are forever lovers but we haven't been back in 6 yrs. The last time we stayed we were miserable but they said they had updated so we gave it another try. The rooms still smell old & need updated badly but Honest Phil still puts on a GREAT show. The food as usual is excellent. However I would go for longer than 2 nights as there isn't that much to do that they don't charge a nominal fee for. You pay $336 a night and expect all inclusive but it's NOT & they have gotten worse with fee here & fee there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J&J913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for visiting us after 6 years. We appreciate your feedback and I will be discussing your review with our Resort Manager. Don't forget to sign up for our emails for all the latest special offers. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    753
    395
    239
    292
See reviews for
7
2,158
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Not what I expected. The champagne tower didnt hold water right. Everything was extra..I mean everything. Breakfast was rushed. Dinner was nice but cramped. Food was average.Show was ok..kinda reminded me of acts that just doing a gig to keep their name out there. Pool in room was nice. Snotty girl in gift shop. Was pricey..I dont mean pricey get away pricey..I mean these ppl think they are in beverly hills pricey. Missed the turn going in..need more signs. Some places looked like they could cave in any second. Dirty. An old looking..not in a good way. Definitely a couple's place. No kids..nothing much to do if other half wants a nap. Lake looked nice. Wasnt worth the money we spent.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wic90000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Very sorry you feel this way, wic90000. Please consider reaching our to me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com. You bring up a lot of issues and suggestions and we'd like the opportunity to clarify some things and see how we can make your next stay perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Every thing was great the roses and chocolates were a nice surprise it was so relaxing unfortunately we had a family emergency and sadly had to check out the next day the front staff was so helpful but we will be coming back to enjoy the weekend again the trip was worth it short as it was

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
So happy to read this. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Cove Haven is not for everyone. It is out of the way; we like that. We agree, it is RETRO and we embrace RETRO. We were very happy to see the deteriorated cottages were recently removed. OMG you found a hair on the floor?!? Guess what, you are shedding too, its no big deal.

Drinks are a little pricy - it is a resort - every resort we ever visited had pricy drinks - Go buy a drink on Lido Deck or at Atlantis or anywhere in NYC or Disney or even a tourist area where you live, then make a comparison and enjoy your Cove Haven specialty or regular refreshment. We have never had thin ('watered down' wine or mixed drinks) at Cove Haven, never, ever.


Breakfast is at breakfast time and dinner is at dinner time ... go figger! No one mentioned you can enjoy breakfast on your day of arrival even though check in time is later in the day. Guests are invited to remain at the resort on check out day until 5:00 PM. Try that at other resorts. Did we mention the complementary Hors d'Oeuvres in Cupid's Corner every afternoon?

Entertainment always good ... better at times ... good all the time. We have enjoyed seeing the very toppest names at Cove Haven including The Temptations, The Beach Boys, Jay Black, Howie Mandel, Sinbad and many others. We always enjoy John Graham who may not be known as a top name but he should be. What a magician! We have also enjoyed many local entertainers at "The Cove". We learned about "The Stick" during dinner one evening - a serendipity for us.

We have enjoyed many fine times at Cove Haven and discovered many "strangers at dinner (or breakfast)" are really friendships to be enjoyed. We have never sat by ourselves at meal time though we respect not everyone embraces this type of dining experience.

We are pleased to enjoy the friendship of many Cove Haven Team members. We like being greeted by name by even the newest team members.

This is the Land Of Love, a so called "couples resort", expect tasteful adult humor and entertainment. No, no room for children at Cove Haven. Children should remain at home this time. Some of the PRO entertainers are a little over the top, we don't mind mentioning this to management. Some guests like that intensity - typically the younger couples.

We rarely leave the resort to seek entertainment venues outside, the exceptions being the gun club and a horseback riding experience, both of which were excellent values. We participate in as many resort activities as we can and have the 'solid gold' to prove it. Bingo does have a modest charge, benefits the PA Special Olympics and bingo winners. The resort takes no part of the pot. There are a few amusement machines which require tokens. There are many individual and group activities available at no charge. Often, dance lessons are offered. We have roller and ice skated. We have never had a conflict involving a basket ball. We have enjoyed racquet ball, miniature golf, in and out side archery, billiards, bocce, shuffle board, tubing in the snow, ski-doos (enjoying hot chocolate at the Chalet), power and non power boat rides as well as other games and activities.

The resort is located on the side of a mountain ... over 100 acres ... We never drive while at the resort preferring to use the professional services provided by "The Love Machine", always top notch. The Love Machine will take you anywhere on the resort in just a few minutes - why drive? We do bring our own refreshment and snack for use in the room as well as our own approved fire place fuel.

We have heard the neighbors only one time - started at 2:30 AM and was the stereo not the bed. Security took care of the problem within 10 minutes. We have never heard other couples in the accommodations, ever.

When things have not been up to snuff in the past, the front desk has always made things right or better than right. We have never been disappointed. Cove Haven is definitely for us. It may be for you. We hope you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: First time visitor, try the Julitte Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wevisited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for the summary, Wevisited. We absolutely love our Forever Lovers and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My Husband and I stayed there for his Birthday and we were so disappointed. The decor and overall feeling was just OLD.. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the food was Average. If they are going to charge 4 star prices they need to give a 4 star environment. We won't be back

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Camille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Very sorry to read your review, Camille W. We'd like to the opportunity to speak to you about your stay and possibly welcome you back. You can reach me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lakeville hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Other reviews say the place is nice and the webpage makes the rooms look fabulous. Please take my word for it, the rooms are horrid. I refused to use the pool or hot tub. Everything in the room is worn and out of date. There were burn holes on the couch in a non-smoking room. Our room was frigid. The thermostat was on the heating unit itself. Mirrors around the pool were damaged. I could go on and on. It is also a motel. The prices are rediculous. Dinner was the only thing we slightly enjoyed. I have been to hotels that range from the Ritz Carlton to Days Inn. This was definitely in the bottom of the barrel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jhalber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We are very sorry you feel this way, Jhalber. We would like to inspect the suite you mentioned. Please consider emailing us at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com with the details of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was our third stay at Cove Haven in just 12 months! Yes..like many of you we were skeptical the first time but we ended up staying an extra night and returning twice more....and recently booked our 4th stay.
The first two stays were in the summer and we loved the great selection of activities. So, we decided to give winter a try. This time we spent time participating in the "indoor" activities more-so than the past and realized we had missed some good stuff! Granted, the XXX game seemed a bit staged which was confirmed later when we found out the couples had participated before. Bummer. They should be excluded. Bingo, however was a blast. Definitely not your gramma's bingo. Honest Phil does a fantastic job.
We didn't go tubing because it was pretty cold but I was pleased to see that they give you rides up the hill. I sure wouldn't be hauling my cookies up that hill! Snowmobiling was a little disappointing, but fun. A trail ride or a bigger circle may have been better but I understand that is up to Mother Nature.
Food is good, the breakfast buffet is to die for, and the staff are great. Mark, the bartender went out of his way to serve us and we certainly appreciated it. (Tip your servers).
Overall a great time. Give it a try!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
You are now officially Forever Lovers, Kellie I! Great photos! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeville
23.2 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
20.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
21.9 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
5.5 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Haven Resort

Property: Cove Haven Resort
Address: 194 Lakeview Drive, Lakeville, PA 18438-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove Haven Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cove Haven Resort is a romantic Poconos all-suite hotel. Many of our guest rooms feature whirlpools, saunas, fireplaces, and/or round king-size beds. Tennis, racquetball, and watersports are available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cove Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Haven Hotel Lakeville
Caesars Poconos
Caesars Cove Haven Poconos Lakeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing