We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved”
Review of Cove Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cove Haven Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Second stay at Cove Haven. Stayed on June 8th. in the champagne tower room. These rooms are up to date, with modern LCD tv,s and decor (albeit, themed to ancient Egypt...kinda). The room was very clean, and everything worked as it should have. The snow damaged buildings on the property have been torn down, and it you didnt know they were there at one time, you cant even tell they were ever there to start with. Grounds were well kept.

Staff is super friendly, and very helpful....they are the very best asset Cove Haven has.
Food, both breakfast and dinner was good...not great, five star level...but good enough for being in the middle of no where, back woods Pennsylvania.

For those who enjoy watching wild life at distances that does not require gear that has cross hairs (in other words, you non-hunting city dwellers), the deer are almost tame. Turkey were also seen way closer than at any time I have even been hunting the damn things....


CONS.
Just one. I realize that PA has a fascist/communist/socialist/backwards/stupid policy on alcohol, and under this policy the resort cannot include alcohol in the "all inclusive"package. I also understand the profit motive, and the need for companies and corporations to make profit....but the prices charged for alcohol are high way robbery! We made the mistake of having a bottle of champagne sent to the room while we were out.....never thought to ask the price, but knew the brand ordered was 12 bucks at any PA state store. I just figured, costs 12 bucks, so the resort price will probably be around 25 bucks....NOPE....try 53!!!! That was a rip off! Had I known that, or asked first, I would have just driven the 8 miles to the state store and bought my own!!!
So BE WARNED!! Bring your own, and let the free market tell them what to do with their resort prices!!! Even beer prices on site are out of control. 5 bucks for a Bud, but 7 for a Sam Adams! Really? Oh, and while you are enjoying the entertainment, no drinks of any kind....even water...are "all inclusive"....you pay out the nose for everything! You are also not allowed to bring your own drinks, of any kind, into where ever the entertainment is being performed! Talk about captive audience!



Overall, we did enjoy ourselves, and most likely will return.... but with our own booze this time!!

Room Tip: Bring your own booze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Jason M. We hope you do decide to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,518 - 1,524 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our 4th time at Cove Haven. My wife and I started going on our 20th Anniversary 4 years ago and have been going once a year ever since. Beautiful place, well keep and a lot of things to do. The people that work there are very professional. And the food WOW excellent.. We really enjoy our stay each and every time. Plus it is a no children getaway. Definitely a relaxing time. Just you and your sweetheart.. Highly recommend. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Happy 20th anniversary!! A great reason to celebrate! You are now officially Silver Forever Lovers. Thank you for the excellent rating and the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As world travels that spend more of our time abroad than at home we thought to honeymoon locally. Cove Haven seemed a nice combination of scenic, luxurious, and near nature.

It was not quite as scenic as it appeared by the photos, though it was luxurious, and definitively much closer to nature than I reckoned.

Imagine! First night of your honeymoon, 4:30 am, newly made wife cowering in the shower as you beat off a swarm of wasp with you travel journal! Not quite the kind of excitement that you were hoping for.

Well, so it goes. That night I killed a dozen wasps and found even more living and dead when the morning light graced our room.

Honestly, I was more entertained than anything. This had singularly been the worse hotel faux pas of my life. I had previously gotten a free breakfast at a hotel in which I found that my room had not yet been cleaned from the previous tenant.

I thought, wow, I wonder what management will do to compensate for this one! The answer, nada. When I explained the situation, the manager on called literally said, "wasps get in everywhere. Wasps are everywhere. I have some at my house right now".

I was dumbfounded. The previous night I had literally killed a dozen wasps and there were still a couple stragglers hiding on the lamp, behind the curtains, etc. House keeping came by and I even killed a couple of wasps in front of them and still management made no effort to acknowledge or compensate for our situation.

What staggered me even more was how a wasp infestation could have gotten so bad without anybody taking care of it previously. Management, fortunately allowed us to switch rooms but 2 of them also had wasps and one had mold growing in the champagne tower and a funny smell. We decided to go with the room with a smaller but positive number of wasps.

That said, we had a good time! It was our honeymoon right! I mean, apart from her driving halfway home the next day probably related to poor sleep the previous day. It started looking up once we began to ignore the wasps that somehow seem to have gotten into nearly every part of the resort.

The food was a bit greasy though we found that if we asked for specific thing the staff would be happy to make it so we found that once we had adjusted things turned out to be much better.

We enjoyed the many different activities and things available at the resort. In many ways it is a wonder the place can stay in business since the resort has so many different buildings and staff members as overhead. It is little wonder the rooms are someone poorly maintained (see photos).

Overall, I wish I had spent my money on a different place and a different. I could have imagined better ways of spending our resources which would have left us happier in the end. But, well, if there are not things to complain about on a honeymoon then it really isn't a honeymoon is it?

Room Tip: Avoid the champagne towers! By the time the fill up with water they are already cold, the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

fsmart, we are so sorry about the wasps and would love the opportunity to make this up to you. Please consider emailing me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just got back from a WONDERFUL stay at Cove Haven for our 10th anniversary. It was amazing. When we got there the desk clerk informed us she had upgraded our room for free to a room with a pool. We assume this was because a first visit to get repeat business and show off the more expensive rooms, but we didn't care the reason, it was great. The Cove Fantasy suite basically had 4 rooms, the living room with fireplace, bedroom, bathroom with Jacuzzi, and then the pool room with sauna. The bed was the most comfortable we had ever been on and I have to call to see what type it was because we want one for home. There were "twinkling" stars above the bed which gave off a romantic glow at night. The jacuzzi was nice, but the pool was even better. It was so relaxing, especially considering I have bad knees and it eased the muscles. The room had a flat screen TV that could be turned around to watch from the bed or the living room.
As for activities, even though the weather was dreary, there was so much to do inside from racquetball to pool to swimming to archery. Billy O is an amazing CXO that could keep you entertained with "game shows" or just sitting to chat with you. It felt like you had known him for years. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful with a few exceptions (one desk clerk on Day 2 was a little snippy and the one waitress seemed either clueless or new). Day 1 there was a "Mentalist" that was so entertaining I was in tears laughing so hard. Following this was karaoke, which is always entertaining. Day 2, the DJ was so so, not our type of entertainment, but people seemed to enjoy him. Drinks could be bought at the bar, which people have said are expensive, but in truth, aside from the beer, the soda and cocktails are no more expensive than going to any typical bar. It was also amazing to see the deer on the property. They were everywhere and would come within a few feet of you.
Dining was also pretty good. The first night we forgot to ask to sit alone and we were seated with 3 other couples which was a bit awkward. My husband left dinner still hungry that night as he didn't eat soup or salad and the waiter forgot to bring me a refill on my soda. We thought food was unlimited, but no one offered any extra. Dessert was good each night. Breakfast day 1 was a buffet and was really good. Day 2 dinner was chicken Parmesan and was outstanding. There was so much food we could barely finish dessert. Breakfast the second day was disappointing. There was a menu and not the variety of the buffet the day before. Our waitress took 15 minutes before even taking our drink order and had to be flagged down for a refill of juice. We did notice, as we were leaving, one table ordered three courses for breakfast, which may have been nice to know about. All in all, the food was good, and the experience at dining nice, except for the few hiccups, after we asked to sit alone.
My biggest disappointment, and it is silly, is the hidden bear they do every day. We looked for three days over 6 hours, asking the desk every few hours if it had been found only to find out day 3 if was found a half hour prior to our last asking, in a place we had checked over half a dozen times, which made us wonder when it had actually been put out since it supposedly had been hidden Sunday and this was Wednesday. Plus, every employee we mentioned it to looked shocked we were looking for it.
All in all it was an AMAZING trip and we are already planning our next visit for this winter. I know I keep using the term amazing but that is the best way to describe Cove Haven. Cove Haven will be our Couples vacation of choice from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Happy 10th anniversary! Love your last line! Thank you. Great photos too. We appreciate all your feedback and we will be sharing it with our Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Only a one night stay but a wondertful stay. Food was outstanding.Honest Phil is always a pleasure to see. Spent a little time at the Parrot Lookout lounge and must thank Gena for the awesome service.Many thanks to Kathleen and Marci for making our stay so enjoyable. Kudos to the entire team. Thankyou all.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrozie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014
Google Translation

Thanks, jrozie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I just got home after another excellent getaway at Cove Haven. We stayed in the Garden of Eden Apple and the Cove Fantasy. Rooms were clean and housekeeping staff was superb. On Saturday Night the band and comedian were excellent.
We want to give a sincere thanks to some of the Cove Haven staff which make us look forward to coming back each time because they show pride in the resort and their service and professionalism is second to none. They are a invaluable asset to Cove Haven Resort. Thanks to Honest Phil,Dennis,Chris,Mark,Suzie,The entire staff at Spooners cafe and Britney at front desk. If you are looking to go away with someone you love for a romantic,fun getaway Cove Haven is the place to go. Looking forward to our next visit in Oct,2014.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hask2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We love your review, hask2112! Thank you! I'll be sure to pass it along to our Team Members. <3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very old hotel, tv/vcr combo. Will not go back, looks like a very cheap motel. Spiderwebs in bathroom, dirty old carpet. Need major renovation. Wallpaper falling apart.The only good thing I can say its that the lake view its beautiful, staff great.
Spend good amount of money to spend quiet time with my husband but couldnt wait to get out of there.

Room Tip: Do not what to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizbeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We are very sorry to read your review. We'd like to check out the suite you mentioned. Please consider emailing me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeville
23.2 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,494 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
4.4 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,551 reviews
13.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,230 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Haven Resort

Address: 194 Lakeview Drive, Lakeville, PA 18438-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Price Range: £123 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove Haven Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cove Haven Resort is a romantic Poconos all-suite hotel. Many of our guest rooms feature whirlpools, saunas, fireplaces, and/or round king-size beds. Tennis, racquetball, and watersports are available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cove Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Haven Hotel Lakeville
Caesars Poconos
Caesars Cove Haven Poconos Lakeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing