We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful dinner for first visit to Lancaster”
Review of Checkers Bistro

Checkers Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Checkers Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 570 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Checkers Bistro has an eclectic menu, with American, French and Asian infuenced dishes. We are passionate about Food, Wine, Craft Beers and Liquor. We purchase as many ingredients locally that are in season. Our goal is to deliver a fine dining experience in a friendly and consistent setting. We welcome your feedback through TripAdvisor and will respond to your comments.Live, Love, Eat at Checkers Bistro.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner for first visit to Lancaster”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

my first review on Trip advisor, but I wanted to give top marks for our dinner at Checkers Bistro. My son and I had dinner this evening, and were very happy with our meal and attentive service. the decor is interesting in it's homage to Lancasters industrial roots, and with no reservation we were immediately seated at a wonderful table. I enjoyed the apple salad and salmon, and my son the steak frites. Well prepared and attentive service.

perhaps those reviewers who loved the old location are pre-disposed to make a negative comparison. we had a delightful experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FelixCloudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    90
    27
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb lunch”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We found this restaurant through tripadvisor and we were very pleased with our lunch. Meaningful crab in crab cakes and a great fish sandwich. The formality caught us off guard, but this only means we were pleasantly surprised. Good wait staff. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wailes45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Something went wrong”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Food was excellent when we finally got it after an hour and a half. Service terrible. Seriously think they lost our order but nobody ever explained or apologized.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 636whitneya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What can I say? WOW!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When we arrived I didn't know what to expect. The outside was deceiving. Once you walk in you are pleasantly surprised at the décor. Beautiful. The server was so attentive and very informative. She really knew her stuff!! She was such a great help in deciding what we would like. The food was so exceptional!! I am not sure about this, but I would think that the owner is also the chef. This person really has a gift! The sauces that were dished along with the food was sooo good! They do not just plate food, they create a piece of art! Thank you for this experience. It may be out of the way for you but it is well worth the trip!!!! I would like to go back to Lancaster just to go back to Checkers!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharcu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“If only they could go back to the old location...”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I loved Checkers! But then they moved... We went last year for my birthday and it was such a lovely special evening. For that evening I could give them five stars. This year we went for my birthday, which was my first time in the new location. Unfortunately there will no longer be birthday dinners at Checkers. The food was still good, but for the price is should be. The new atmosphere is so disappointing. And the service was even more disappointing. They lost everything I loved about this place in the move and more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Checkers Bistro also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Checkers Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing