We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun”
Review of Hands-on House

Hands-on House
Ranked #21 of 76 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kids can touch everything at this interactive museum designed to help children and their parents learn together in a fun way.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stopped here on our way home from vacation and it was a blast. Very interactive with a great variety of play rooms. My children are 3 and 7 and they both had a great time. We have a membership at the Children's Museum in Pittsburgh so admission was half price. Definitely recommend stopping here if you have little ones with big imaginations.

Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOHLancaster, Guest Relations Manager at Hands-on House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We love to hear out-of-town guests enjoying themselves! Glad to know you're getting great benefits from your Association of Children's Museum membership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

It was smaller than what we were used to in Philly, but the space was utilized well and there were a lot of things to do at this place. We went on a rainy day in Lancaster and spent an afternoon there (probably could have stayed longer). There were dress-ups, a store, fun games, building-type sections...very cute and really well maintained. Best for age 8 and below...probably most ideal for ages 4-7.

Thank Imduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOHLancaster, Guest Relations Manager at Hands-on House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your compliments! We will be sure to let our Exhibit Designer know you were so pleased. Come back and see us soon! (Explore our Play Garden on a sunny day!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great time here! Perfect for toddlers. Nice outdoor play area also. You can spend 2 -3 hours here! Great exhibits & was fun for kids! We stayed at Best Western resort ...only 5minutes down the road. We are also ASTC museum members so we got in for half price! Another plus!

Thank haynestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOHLancaster, Guest Relations Manager at Hands-on House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Museum and Play Garden. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Was not too please with Hands on House. I did not like that parents paid when there's really nothing for them to do... it's more just watching after your children.

My biggest and most important complaint was the bees nest in the sandlot. There was a large amount of bees swarming in part of the sand lot and they had an obvious nest there as well.

When I reported it to the staff they just said they knew about it and nothing else. This was a huge concern for me as my daughter is allergic to bees, and they did nothing about it

Thank kieliefaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOHLancaster, Guest Relations Manager at Hands-on House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for visiting Hands-on House and taking the time to write a review. We do try to encourage parents and children to learn and experience the museum together, hence the $8.50 per person price. We certainly understand your concern for the bees in the sandbox. We are trying non-toxic measures to get rid of them, so we are not spraying chemicals around a children's play area. We are surely not ignoring the situation and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We took our Granddaughter she was six.We only meant to visit for a couple hr's ended up staying for five hr's.She never stopped finding things to do & amuse herself as well as us..

Thank ross h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOHLancaster, Guest Relations Manager at Hands-on House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this feed back. We are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us. Please return soon to see what else can be discovered!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hands-on House also viewed

 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Hands-on House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing