We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel - Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton,NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We love this downtown location! It is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We love the pool/spa area, which is a great way to start the day. The lobby is huge yet comfortable, and is a wonderful place to sit and relax with friends after a long day of town touring.

Room Tip: Don`t get a room on the garage side. The only negative is parking fee is steep for guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunlvr302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    337
    92
    22
    14
See reviews for
234
211
34
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania’s Endless Mountains, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here a few weeks before my daughters wedding. We had a couple of clean, well appointed rooms. The food, & staff could not have been better. The Hotel is in downtown Lancaster so everything is within walking distance. But parking was terrible.
We chose to self park. After a few rides around the block we found out that you park in the Public Parking Garage. There is no sign that says Marriott parking.Ater we checked into the Marriott, we rec'd a guest parking pass and went to get out of the garage but the pass would not allow us to leave. Had to repark the car go into the hotel. I was mad to say the least but Adam at the front desk could not have been nicer. He even had a bellhop to escort us out to make sure our ticket worked this time. Its ashame that the parking brings a let down to this Beautiful Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreammj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Well, this is the second year that we hosted our Women's Conference at the Marriott; so of course I have good things to say. Let's start with the "Not so good" points. Marriott hotels should have their own parking, which is FREE for the hotel guests. Rooms are nice and spacious with very comfortable beds. I will say the bathrooms are well appointed and spacious. The hotel staff was AWESOME. A bell hop, I think his name was "Sandy" was very attentive and helpful. The team he had with him was great.
But I digress, the workout room, albeit small has the latest equipment and the pool offered a respite after a long day. There is also a jacuzzi. And let's not forget the Mandarin Spa (indulgent). As always, a conference wouldn’t be a conference without great meeting spaces and great food. We had both. With 250+ attendees, we had room to spare. The hotel was able to offer us a room for morning exercise. It was great. The food was AWESOME. As a "foodie" I was very satisfied. Many thanks to Kiki and her staff; they were vey attentive.
The hotel location, right in the heart of City of Lancaster offers guests history, good food, and shopping. And it's not far from the Outlets, if that's your preference. So although I was here for a conference, I would stay at the Marriott Penn Square for vacation, business, or "getaway".
If you are an event planner, as for the "Dynamic Duo" sales team of Sarah & Jacyn. They know how to bring your vision to life. Thanks for your talents and professionalism. This was the best conference yet!

Room Tip: For the best views as for the corner room any 01 Room (201, 301, 401...etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zelienople, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

First, I must say, that Marriott is my favorite hotel chain. They seem to do things a step above other chains This is a rather new Marriott, it is about 1 year old. The building used to be a men's department store. There are pictures of the old store & the remodel They are very interesting. My husband & I were there for a business conference. The room was very nice, large, very clean The food was good. We had both hotel catered food & we ate at the resturant. When we go to Lancaster, we think of a rural area. This hotel is right in town. It just didn't seem like the Lancaster experience that we are used to (we have been to Lancaster about 12-15 times) There is nothing wrong with this hotel My husband & I are Not city people. I did not know that Lancaster had that much of an urban downtown. Everyone we talked to at the conference (over 500 & spouses) liked it a lot & hope to have the annual conference there again soon. The country side is close
We asked for a king room 2 months ahead of time, but did not get one

Room Tip: There are NOT many King rooms I think they are for suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELNUT207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I and our 3 kids stayed here for 3 days, while we visited Dutch Wonderland (about a 10 minute Ride to Dutchwonderland). The hotel was very clean,and modern and spacious. The views from your room on the top floors are spectacular. The staff was very friendly at the front desk.
We were never short on towels, even with 3 kids, lol. There were plenty of places to eat, walking distance.

The only small complaint we had was parking: We did the valet parking, because of our 3 small kids. And at the end of our 3 day stay it really did add up. They should provide free parking for their Hotel Guests.

On-site parking, fee: 2 USD hourly, 16 USD daily
***Valet parking, fee: 28 USD daily***
Off-site parking, fee: 2 USD hourly, 14 USD daily

We would love to stay here again next year when we plan to visit Dutch Woderland, but the parking fee may make us think twice about it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NyJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowdfamily6
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for a soccer tournament with my daugher and her friend. the staff is extremely accomodating. You are greeted by the friendliest bell hops I have ever met. From check in to check out you are greeted with a smile at every turn. The rooms are spacious (We slept 5 in a room with 2 double and a cot) comfortably. The beds are incredible and the bathroom was beautiful and very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dowdfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

When you walk in to the lobby you feel like you are in a modern museum. Very impressive. Hotel staff very friendly and we loved the young college men working so hard to get your bags, valet you car(extra cost but worth it), and get you to your room and unload your bags. Room service was quick and the food very good. Room was elegant and we had concierge level. Our room overlooked the city.....very nice. At daybreak we stood at the window while we waited for the gentlemen to come for our bags. Amazing city with old and new buildings incorporated together but we didn't have time to walk around since we were off to Amish country. If you are looking to spoil yourself while in Lancaster, stay here! We hope to be back just to see the city someday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#18 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Property: Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing