We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but everything is extra!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, but everything is extra!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel was nice, it's clean and close to lots of restaurants and shopping. What I didn't like is that they up charge for everything - Who charges per day for internet service anymore? This hotel does. Parking was also ridiculous. Parking was a per day charge, which I expect in a city location where parking is mostly garages, BUT, I was told that parking is one daily fee if you don't move it. If you plan to move your car it's a higher daily price - WHAT? That to me is crazy. The staff was nice but not very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    350
    102
    25
    14
See reviews for
243
223
35
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Lancaster is my home town, and I always wanted to stay in this hotel after they built over the historic department store , Watt & Shand. Preserving the history of downtown Lancater while adding the 19 story hotel impressed me. I guess my expectations were too high, because my stay was very frustrating.

When I went to check in, the Bell Captain had allowed two buses to enter the turn in, and traffic was backed up down Queen Street. Then, the bellman had the buses back out, almost causing a few collisions on Queen street. Time from arrival until check-in- 35 minutes.

When we got to the room, we found a double with two small beds instead of a king( when we booked, it did say King or two doubles, but these double beds were very small).

On the way to the room, we passed a room service cart that was then allowed to stay in the hallway for several hours. That is gross and shows an inattentiveness on the part of the staff.

I was turned off by the $ 12.95 charge for WiFi. If I am paying almost $ 200 per night for a room, don't nickel and dime me for wifi.

Our bath tub was was clogged and drained very slowly. How does the housekeeping staff not notify maintenance about a clogged tub?

The Front Desk staff was very nice and seemed concerned about our complaints. They promised to fix the things they could, but by then, it is too late.

In short, this is a nice property that has poor staff execution. It is a shame, because, with the right attention to detail, this could be an awesome experience.

There are nicer hotels in town with the same price point, stay at those hotels until this place gets its act together.

Room Tip: Overnight Parking is $ 15.00- if you shop at sotres downtown, ask them to validate some hours off of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LVWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
col
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and other family members. My younger brother went to YTI institute and we were in town to pick him up for break. My mother and her husband enjoyed the full night club atmosphere on the first level while I enjoyed the comfy bed and great shower. This hotel is kind of pricey but it is in a great location it is literally right in the middle of everything. My brother bragged about this hotel and told me they often have NFL meetings and conventions at this hotel and I believe because it is a top of the line Marriott. The staff were some what nice and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

There aren't many affordable places in Lancaster City Center. This hotel is certainly convenient (the tourist Central Market is across the street).
The place is very clean, the staff friendly (although NONE of the housekeeping folks I found could speak ANY English at ALL - some signs worked to get towels and coffee), the whoopie pies at registration (in a variety of flavors) welcome -but

IT is freaking expensive - and even if you have a room you are paying for parking.
So - if you are used to NYC prices - this is fine. If you were hoping for middle America costs (heck! Reno Sands is sometimes $25) you will have some sticker shock.

Advice to the hotel - include parking with the room- come on! Also - invest in some simple language classes for your staff - coffee, towels, clean, check out, etc - and simple responses....

REALLY nice staff, though!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I know Lancaster quite well as I grew up in this area and was quite pleased with the caliber of this Marriott. It is centrally located so guests can enjoy historical sites such as the oldest known city market (Central Market, which is a short walk from the hotel), There is also the Amish country, and many quaint towns within a days drive such Strausburg, Lititz and Hershey, which are steeped in history and charm to explore. I stayed at the hotel while attending a wedding reception held there. The ballroom was quite lovely, and I'd give high marks for the array of appetizers which were served. The only complaint with the food is that I had pre ordered steak for dinner and no one asked me how I liked it cooked prior to serving it so I ended up with a well done, dry steak when I would have preferred medium rare. I have eaten in their restaurant previously and enjoy the food but feel most of it is overpriced for the location. The customer service was also very good as all the staff were friendly, helpful and had pleasing personalities verses just the nice smile and meet and greet scenerio. I enjoyed the room as it was quite comfortable, very clean and extremely quiet. I had a room with two double beds and had a very restrful night. (I didn't find the beds too firm as some other guests mentioned. ( if I had a soft mattrress I would likely think it was of inferior quality or just plain old.). Overall, I would give the hotel a rating of nine and witll definately stay there again on return trips to Lancaster.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OPTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We only stayed here one night, but this hotel was clean, modern, and well maintained. The hotel rooms were spotless. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The one and only draw back of this hotel is the parking. You have to park in the city owned lot which costs $15 a night. The lot is connected to the hotel by a bridge so that it is convenient for hotel guests, but the cost is the issue. Other than that I have to say it was definitely an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel in town and perfectly located. The spacious rooms appointed to a high standard and represented good value if you better the rack rate. Parking costs an extra $15 per day or more for valet. Unfortunately wifi is not free either, a shame in this day and age. The restaurant serves excellent meals, again not at economy rates. We were the only diners there at 7pm on a Friday.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
940 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Property: Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing