We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Middle Village, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to attractions”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for a wedding in August. Being that we were out and about most of the time this hotel was very accommodating. We were able to check in a bit earlier and get ready in time. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Spent some time at the hotel bar after the wedding and had a great time. This hotel was not too far from Hershey park (about 45 minutes) so we were able to go there the next day. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    350
    102
    25
    14
See reviews for
243
223
35
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Nice facility is nice location. Good facilities and great service. Very hospitable staff. Centrally located and adjacent to nice restaurants and bars. Local ghost tours in and around Penn Square. Nice spa, pool, and jacuzzi.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel itself is nice, with the same general Marriott experience. In fact, our 2 year old commented that it was the same as the Washington Marriott we stayed in earlier. But $18 + tax per day is way too much for parking in Lancaster, when almost any other hotel (granted, not in downtown) is free. The service (check-in, crib) was nice but not exceptional. For families, I'd probably go elsewhere, as this is geared toward business travelers (as might be expected).

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed on a Saturday with friends at the Marriott Penn Square to enjoy dinner and drinks in the market district. The hotel was beautiful and ideally situated. The hotel bar had a great crowd as well. Parking was a little salty, but otherwise a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Went there for a conference, room was comfortable but covered with dust, they charge you the internet, wasn't able to set the code for the safety deposit box, I've reported this to front desk with no success.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank J Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel was nice, it's clean and close to lots of restaurants and shopping. What I didn't like is that they up charge for everything - Who charges per day for internet service anymore? This hotel does. Parking was also ridiculous. Parking was a per day charge, which I expect in a city location where parking is mostly garages, BUT, I was told that parking is one daily fee if you don't move it. If you plan to move your car it's a higher daily price - WHAT? That to me is crazy. The staff was nice but not very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Lancaster is my home town, and I always wanted to stay in this hotel after they built over the historic department store , Watt & Shand. Preserving the history of downtown Lancater while adding the 19 story hotel impressed me. I guess my expectations were too high, because my stay was very frustrating.

When I went to check in, the Bell Captain had allowed two buses to enter the turn in, and traffic was backed up down Queen Street. Then, the bellman had the buses back out, almost causing a few collisions on Queen street. Time from arrival until check-in- 35 minutes.

When we got to the room, we found a double with two small beds instead of a king( when we booked, it did say King or two doubles, but these double beds were very small).

On the way to the room, we passed a room service cart that was then allowed to stay in the hallway for several hours. That is gross and shows an inattentiveness on the part of the staff.

I was turned off by the $ 12.95 charge for WiFi. If I am paying almost $ 200 per night for a room, don't nickel and dime me for wifi.

Our bath tub was was clogged and drained very slowly. How does the housekeeping staff not notify maintenance about a clogged tub?

The Front Desk staff was very nice and seemed concerned about our complaints. They promised to fix the things they could, but by then, it is too late.

In short, this is a nice property that has poor staff execution. It is a shame, because, with the right attention to detail, this could be an awesome experience.

There are nicer hotels in town with the same price point, stay at those hotels until this place gets its act together.

Room Tip: Overnight Parking is $ 15.00- if you shop at sotres downtown, ask them to validate some hours off of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LVWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
940 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Property: Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing