We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News, VA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC Hotel!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Traveled to Lancaster, PA to do some family history research. Didn't have a reservation at any hotel --- this hotel was suggested. I must say I was a bit skeptical as we were driving downtown Lancaster and had to go thru some rather "iffy" neighborhoods. But once we arrived at the Lancaster Marriott, we are totally won over!!! We were greeted by the bellman as soon as we drove up to the door. Ushered us to the reception desk where we were told there were rooms available --- given the AAA discount and another discount that gave us a free breakfast buffet and free parking. The customer service at this hotel is top of the line. Every employee greeted us with a smile and asked if they could help .. or was there anything else they could do. The front desk personnel helped us with ideas of where to do our library research (genealogy). The breakfast buffet was excellent --- everything from cereal and oatmeal to fruit .. to eggs/bacon/sausage/french toast/waffles, etc. The room was large with plenty of space -- safe in the closet; refrigerator; coffee maker. Nice office area in the room.

I can't stress enough how pampered you feel at this hotel. The customer service is extraordinary and the accommodations are wonderful. Do yourself a favor and stay at this hotel!!

Room Tip: We are on the 17th floor and truly enjoyed the view out the window. No noise noted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swocean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    347
    100
    25
    14
See reviews for
242
220
35
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Centrally located in downtown Lancaster. Rooms, service, and the bar are outstanding. The restaurant is just ok..... So.... Apparently, I can't put in a short, quick review,... The trip advisor app is making me input 200 characters, minimum. I will add that I love the valet parking staff, the front desk staff, and the bartending service....... Atmosphere is great, too. Modern rooms, great beds and pillows....

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is beautiful, and nicely situated in town. We stayed at the Lancaster Marriott during a sold out weekend, with a few weddings, etc. Even though they were busy, they made us feel very special. The staff at the front desk were very friendly, and in conversation, discovered that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. After that, we felt even more special when the hotel clerk threw in a few "extras" for our stay. I was not surprised by the parking charges, because most 'downtown' hotels charge for parking.
I didn't worry about internet charges because I have my own mifi. Most Marriott Hotels do not have complimentary wifi.
The rooms are spacious and clean and nicely decorated. Bathrooms are also nice. Pillows are ultra-comfortable.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Lancaster Marriott and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickytravelerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersburg,WV
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked this hotel for a very good price with government employee discount, so I can't complain about the price. It was a walk to parking garage,unless you chose valet parking, which we usually do not like to do. Internet was an increased cost of $12, so I chose not to get online. Parking would have been $18 per day for self park, but with government discount was only $5. Great deal!!! Unfortunately there was a concert right next door, Five Finger Death Punch, which let some pretty weird looking characters within the hotel. My husband rode down the elevator Monday morning with a man in a hoodie with a pretty beat up face. I suppose a casualty from the night before. There was a fight going on when we got there with police on horseback at the ready, which was pretty cool to see for this rural gal, but made my husband kind of nervous.

The room was everything you would expect from a Marriott. Not as nice as a J.W. Marriott, but close. We did not eat here or order room service, so I can't comment on other amenities. We did watch an in-room pay per view movie to kill a couple of hours at a cost of $18. (The Butler, with Oprah Winfrey, etc.). Total cost for this visit of 2 nights, with the movie, was around $250.00. We did not get out to walk around downtown, but did eat just down the street at Annie Baileys Irish Pub. Great Food.

Room Tip: Check the Marriott website directly and look for discounts. I tried AAA, but the government rate ble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had stayed there in Aug of 2013, We had two rooms although it was very crowded do to the fact that there was two weddings going on at the same time.The Bedding was excellent firm extra pillows The ac worked great also .Lavishly appointed Bathrooms with all things that you would need if staying overnight or for a few days as we did ! The gym downstairs was nice lots of cardio to do huge flat panel plus many smaller one's while you work your pounds off ! The indoor pool was nice although only 3 & 4 feet deep .We were there for FIRST FRIDAY, Which was very cool and feels like the Village /NYC vibe. Each first friday of each month year round.The Breakfest brunch was not as expected Wasn't worth the money, Tastier and cheaper at any local joint, Terrible food at such a classy Hotel. And the $30. per night Valet parking, OUCH !! I FEEL LIKE I'm in Boston Mass, or NYC 4 NIGHT $120, WITHOUT TIP FOR PARKING ONLY !! Had the parking been free for hotel guest that would make a world of difference .If self parked then $18.00 per night walk 1/2 block away. ?? Checkout priceline.com better than rack rate plus everything else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Village, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Stayed here for a wedding in August. Being that we were out and about most of the time this hotel was very accommodating. We were able to check in a bit earlier and get ready in time. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Spent some time at the hotel bar after the wedding and had a great time. This hotel was not too far from Hershey park (about 45 minutes) so we were able to go there the next day. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Nice facility is nice location. Good facilities and great service. Very hospitable staff. Centrally located and adjacent to nice restaurants and bars. Local ghost tours in and around Penn Square. Nice spa, pool, and jacuzzi.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
925 reviews
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#19 of 39 in Lancaster
325 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Property: Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing