We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
373
235
90
35
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
235
90
35
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelsoccer tournamenteasy accessother hotelsbusiness centerexcellent stayoff the highwayfitness centerconvenient locationclean roomspool and hot tubgreat place to staywe've stayedbreakfast buffetwould definitely stay here againfirst flooramish country
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2009

My friend and I traveled Lancaster with my 5 month old daughter for a weekend to visit the Amish Country and the outlet malls. We arrived in Lancaster much earlier than expected (11am) and called to see if we could check in earlier and the front desk said we could check-in at 12, which was great. We had a room on the second floor. One downside was that the hotel only has one elevator and our room seemed to be on the complete opposide of the hotel from the elevator so that was somewhat of a nuisance having such a walk to the elevator (we needed it for all of the baby stuff). The hotel does have smoking rooms and you could smell it throughout the halls but our room did not smell of any smoke. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The crib that we requested was already set up in the room. Bathroom was clean and roomy. Beds were very comfy. We decided to stay in for the night since we had the baby with us and ordered room service from Clyde's (the hotel restaurant) and while the entree prices were a little high, the food was good. We also had the hot breakfast buffet and for $10, it was worth it. It had your typical continental breakfast items as well as breakfast potatoes, bacon, sausage and made-to-order eggs, omelets, pancakes and french toast.

The hotel is right off the highway and close to downtown Lancaster and only about a 10 minute drive to the Amish Country and about the same to the outlets. There is a Chili's restaurant in walking distance from the hotel.

We had planned on enjoying the indoor pool but time did not allow it. It looked very nice and clean though. We definitely plan on visiting the Hilton Garden Inn again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyCarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

This Hilton in Lancaster was suggested by an admission officer at Franklin & Marshall College for being centrally located for visiting Elizabethtown College / Lebanon Valley College / Franklin & Marshall / Dickinson University / all being up-scale Private Institutions in that area. The location was excellent for our two nights come & go itinerary as were the nightly accomodations. The variety of nearby restaurants and a filling station right next door was a bonus for our whirlwind colleges tour over three days.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hersheymanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

after reading several good reviews on trip advisor, we decided to take our 2 young children to the hilton because i expected it would be cleaner than the touristy hotels on the strip. we checked in w/o a problem and the front desk staff was courteous and helpful. the hotel seemed clean and nice upon arrival...however, as we proceeded to our room, we took the elevator that smelled like fumes and cigarette smoke (and that smell didn't go away for the many times we used the elevator over 2 days' time). our room was smelly too...smelled like carpet cleaner or air freshener trying to cover up cigarette smoke. the hallways smelled of cigarette smoke near the rooms the whole time too even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking hotel. the worst part was the smell covering the entire 1st floor during sat night of our stay (9/19/09). there was a lingering stench from the time we exited the elevator all throughout the hallways and lobby and even in the restaurant where we had to suffer from it all through dinner! the hotel did nothing about the foul odor until hours after our dinner we finally saw an employee cleaning the bathroom and then the smell was gone...but too late for us who smelled it the whole time we ate. it was horrible.

the only good thing about our stay was that the bathroom was pretty clean and on the new side, so we didn't feel bad about showering our 3 yr old son in it...sometimes hotel bathrooms are dingy and i don't like to take him there...but this one was fine.

the bed was ok for comfort, but looked bad when we checked in because it was all lumpy looking from the comforter...which was covered by a duvet that i'm sure they don't wash between each visitor, so we had to take the whole thing off...which was annoying, that should have been done by housekeeping.

we left our expensive tempurpedic pillows there and called housekeeping as soon as we returned home that night...and it's almost 2 days later and we still have not gotten a returned call. not very good service, hope they'll be honest and at least return our pillows!

all in all, it probably would be ok on another date assuming the foul odor from the bathroom was a fluke and the smoking guests are not always there...but there should be better control from the management about the odors and toxins w/in the hotel.

the indoor pool looked nice and had extended hours...but we didn't try it on this trip.

the food in the restaurant was pretty good, but not a very large selection....but there was no room service for breakfast which was very disappointing to have to bring 2 small kids to a crowded dining room and expect them to behave...ugh!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jojocorazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

After staying at a wonderful HGI in Florence, SC, we decided to go with the HGI in Lancaster. We were in room 269 -- upper level, away from the elevators, double-beds, vaulted ceilings, non-smoking.

First, the pluses ...
- friendly and attentive front-desk staff
- spacious room w/hair dryer, free internet plug-in, nice bedding
- nice amenities ... bottled water for HH members, business center, fitness center, pool
- convenient parking
- near Panera Bread, Ruby Tuesday, Walmart, Dutch Wonderland

The minuses ...
- humid room ... A/C could not cool a room of that size w/vaulted ceiling (e.g., towels and toothbrushes were still wet the next day ... the carpeting was also sticky-feeling ... difficulty breathing and sleeping)
- noisy A/C that blew cold air on our heads at night
- small TV ... maybe 27"?
- across the hall were smoking rooms ... could smell smoke in the hallway and in room
- pool heavily chlorinated, had no lifeguard
- could smell chlorine in the hallway that overlooks the pool
- "Clyde's" is not the same as the standalone restaurants found elsewhere ... the menu is limited.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoodHealthM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We've had good experiences with other Hilton Garden Inns and based on the reviews on Travel Advisor, made a reservation here.
The room is pleasant but there is a smell. Not sure what it is.
We reserved a King room with a pullout couch for the kid but when we got to the room, no couch. We called the desk and were told the rollaway should already be in the room. We said it wasn't. It did come after this.
Even more stunning, service wise - there was exactly one towel in the bathroom. Apparently housekeeping "forgot" to replace the towels after the last guest left - which, I have to say, is a first for me. We had to go to the front desk and schlep our own!
If this were a $60 hotel, I'd feel a lot more forgiving of these lapses. But we paid well over $100 and expected a higher level of service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews