We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mini family resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Nautical themed rooms....ours had a king bed with bunk beds in it, the kids loved the bunk beds! Rooms were better looking in person than online! They were clean, updated, spacious and comfortable. Afternoon lemonade and cookies were a nice afternoon treat! Great touch!! Pool, arcade, and gift shop were all fun! Great bar for the adults and restaurant had great food and service. Outdoor areas were amazing! Beautiful water features, huge play area, plenty of ducks to feed and an amazing fire pit to relax and enjoy in the evening! Plenty of outdoor sitting areas. Also, the hotel offers free DVD rental to enjoy a movie! Friendly staff! This hotel has thought of it all! We can't wait to come back and enjoy this mini family resort and I hope this hotel will maintain these fine standards as it a real gem!!!

Room Tip: If you have kids, the rooms with the bunk beds are a bit hit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,974 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is our second time staying here. We stayed last year at this time. The staff is always helpful and friendly. We had breakfast both years - very good. Thank you shannon for great service. Last year the bartender told us about the area and recommended places to eat. We will always come back to the steamboat! Although we don't have children, it seems like a nice place for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnysusie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I recently finished our summer vacation stay at the Steamboat Inn (July 2013) for several nights with our 2 year old son. Overall, the place delivered. It is centrally located to several attractions, including Dutch Wonderland, the Tanger Outlets, and the Strasburg Railroad, so that is an absolute plus. (I recommend adding a Dutch Wonderland ticket purchase with your lodging package to save time when visiting the theme park.) Other attractions are also only minutes away. Each afternoon, the Hotel places a welcoming of lemonade, lemon flavored water, and a platter of warm, delicious chocolate chip cookies in its lobby for arriving guests. Outstanding. Families with young kids will love the playground and watching them feed the ducks. There is adjacent farmland where you will see cattle grazing and the clap and clatter of local horse drawn carriages going up & down Route 896.

There is a gift shop on site which gives guests a discount on merchandise and has a nice assortment of souvenirs and the like. We ate at the Inn's on-site restaurant (Huckleberry's) for breakfast and found the food & service very good.

An honorable mention is Scott, one of the front desk agents. He recommended a great place to buy fresh produce and baked goods (the Bird-In-Hand), and also a great buffet restaurant - Dienner's - which should be a must for anyone staying in the area; a real local find with an outstanding assortment of lunch and dinner meals (keep in mind though that their last seating is 6pm during the week). He also came up to help us use the in-room blu ray DVD player.

The pool was on the small side meaning that on an inclement weather day it can get crowded, so keep that in mind.

The property has a small fitness room with a small spread of 5 pieces of cardio equipment. Our room was right by the elevator but were not disturbed at all by any ambient noise. The only two things I was surprised about was that there is no bell captain service and no ATM on site, which are really the only reasons I can't rate the property higher. Their luggage carts are decent for modest packing travelers, but expect to have to potentially make multiple trips to your car to pack & unpack.

Overall, I would return here in the future and definitely recommend it to others. The staff were informed, professional, and prompt in assisting us, which is all you can ask for really. The property was clean and comfortable and has something to offer everyone.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor near the elevator and despite it being the only (one) in the Hotel, were no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Curacao_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel balances elegance with approachable comforts for families with children. The steamboat feel was delightful and we particularly enjoyed feeding the ducks and Koi fish. The grounds were spacious and you never felt crowded. My 8 year old son loved the playground and pool, my teen daughter loved having a quiet place to ruminate outside by the duck pond. There is a lovely solarium with a pool/hot tub and also a gym on the third floor. Cookies and lemonade were available in the lobby every afternoon. If you want a pet - you can adopt a goldfish for your room for the duration of your stay! We enjoyed the farmer's breakfast one morning as a special treat - though there are a myriad of dining options nearby. We were also able to get discount tickets to Hershey Park (Dutch Wonderland were also available).

If you are at all sensitive to moisture/dampness, request a room on the second floor (the duck pond surrounds much of the 'boat'). I am highly allergic and had some minor sensitivity on our first night. However, Crystal at the front desk could not have been more accommodating or helpful and found us a room on the second floor for the remainder of our stay. Every staff person we met was friendly, polite and helpful but Crystal went above and beyond!

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on the second floor (with children) or third floor (without children). All rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was a very family friendly hotel. The hotel looks like a steamboat and carries that theme throughout. Although we did not utilize it, it has a great swimming pool. There is a playground and pond where my daughter was very happy feeding the fish and ducks. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The wait staff in the restaurant was great, especially Tara and Bob! The hotel is down the road from Dutch Wonderland across the street from one of the two outlets in Lancaster. It was also not far from other attractions such as buggy rides and other things. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I was on first floor but not where the pool was. The side of the pool has more foot traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We love lancaster and have been going there for years trying different hotels each time. Sometime we go back to one that we liked previously. Not that we have a young daughter we are looking for hotels with things for families and children. Boy did we find a winner with this Hotel. It is elegant, nicely furnished rooms, excellent resturant, bar and pool gret for the adults. What won us over was the features for the children. Wonderful kid's menu, and if you wear a sailor hat to dinner you get free ice cream, the pool, game room, great outdoors play ground and the best.. ducks and fish that you can feed on the property and the super surprise is that you can borrow a goldfish as a room mate during your stay. My daughter got a fish she named Dorothy.. Dorothy helped to occupy her while we were int he room getting ready to go out and she cannot wait to goback to see how big Dorothy grew. Our daughter also loved the specila treats in the lobby in the afternoon, not to mention the store. The rooms were immaculate and the entrie staff was friendly and went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was the best one ever. An added perk, is that they ahve a card that entitles you to discounts on the rooms, food and gift purchases during your stay. We will be going back for sure..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRS1595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Steamboat Passenger,

We are thrilled to hear that you were happy with your accommodations aboard The Fulton Steamboat Inn! Please let your daughter know that Dorothy is doing great and she continues to grow each day. The Steamboat crew thanks you and looks forward to your return!

Kind Regards,

Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Fulton Steamboat Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It was another wonderful stay at the Steamboat. We stay there 4 or 5 times a year. This time we brought with us my 3 year old grandson, son & his girlfriend. I would like to thank Crystal for taking care of the reservations and all the info she gave us about Dutch Wonderland. What a great asset she is at that hotel. She is always willing to go out of her way to make it a pleasant stay. We will be retuning again in the near future.

Mike & Sue

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
6.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lancaster (Amish Country), PA
6.6 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: £67 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Steamboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing