We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fulton Steamboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the ice storm. We were out of power and looking for a nice place to stay. The Marriott chains in town were $150/night but this place was $80/ night and having stayed here before, we decided to try it. Great choice. I would not say that this is a luxury hotel, but it is so great for a family. The rooms were very clean and had nice toiletries. Towels were fluffy and beds clean and comfortable. Again, not luxury but very nice.
The pool area is well decorated and it is a kidney shaped pool and my son loved it. Also, very big hot tub in an ice storm was great.
The restaurant was probably my favorite. Excellent home made food, with superb service.
There were a few issues, such as some issues with check in. Not sure what the problem was, but there was some tension with the manager and the front desk. We waited a while, but they apologized and the rest of the trip was fine.
I would also prefer duvet covers over the bedspreads, although they were extremely clean, I just prefer that in a hotel bed.
I also noted that the gift shop sold bottled water for 25 cents, which was really appreciated. It is nice not to be overcharged by a hotel.
Highly recommend, especially in the summer combined with a trip to Dutch wonderland. The hotel has a nice lake and play set that we could not use this time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank angelambudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,394
    314
    77
    28
    17
See reviews for
847
645
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Fulton Steamboat for 3 days and 2 nights for a Christian Marriage Retreat along with 6 other couples on February 6, 2014 - February 8, 2014 and we had a very relaxing stay while there. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful to us as a couple and as a group. My husband loved that he was able to get a cup of coffee in the lobby while I checked us in. The room was nice with plenty of room to spread out and there was also a microwave oven, refrigerator, coffee maker and blue ray DVD player in the room. Part of our package was 2 breakfasts and a dinner that was served family style and the food was good, plentiful and filling. My husband and I ate appetizers for lunch one day and what we ordered was very tasty and big enough for us to share. I also ordered a Strawberry Daiquiri and the server refilled my glass with the daiquiri that was left over. We definitely are lookinf forward to returning.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor right in front of the elevator and around the corner from the ice make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMJalmost40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Feb. 11, 2014 My husband and I stayed at the Steamboat and had a wonderful time! from the moment we walked in the door to the time we left. We ate at their restaurant food and all of the staff where happy, helpful and professional. Room was done in Old Time Victorian theme, bed was comfy warm and with the fireplace going made the room very cozy. We will defiantly go back again to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Was told by a friend this was a nice place for lunch. So we gave it a try. We did give it a try. The only thing there was a few things not available on the mean.But with that said. We did have a nice lunch. The soup was really good. We were there F eb.2014.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Along with five of my closest friends, I went to this hotel for a winter break on February 7, 2014. From start to finish, we enjoyed the visit. In addition to the amenities (cookies, coffee and inviting lobby), the comfortable big bed and the cozy fireplace, we enjoyed the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. From the front desk to the tavern and restaurant, everyone provides service with a smile. The convenience of being close to all the attractions that we were seeking didn't hurt either. My friends are planning to make this our destination for next year's winter getaway. A winner!!

Room Tip: The Sun King Suites are roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I took my mom on a weekend 'girls getaway' and ran across this hotel during a Trip Advisor search. We both loved our room and were very impressed in the period décor of the entire inn. The inn sits towards the end of hotel row on Route 30-yet still close enough to the outlets and activities-and as soon as you pull in the parking lot you know this is different from the rest. There was fresh coffee and chocolate cookies by the check in area, a welcome and homey touch. Everyone, and I want to stress-EVERYONE was polite and if the smiles were not genuine, they deserve Oscars. Visit the gift shop, try the breakfast at Huckleberry's and if you go in warm weather, take in the serene outdoor settings. We will be back and I hope very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back if you'd like a view of fields instead of Route 30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCAM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unadilla, New York, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I took advantage of a winter special the Steamboat was running for a time when we were going to be in Pa. We were given a king bed room but I didn't expect a four poster bed and having a fireplace in the room. I heard they were renovating rooms and we had stayed here before but the rooms weren't this nice and impressive. I paid to have breakfast included and it was worth it. All you could eat, but not a buffet, you were served at the table. Scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausage, bacon and muffins. They were extremely busy, people were staying there that had lost electricity due to the previous ice storm in the area, but we were finally seated and enjoyed a hot filling breakfast. Thanks for the surprise room and satisfying breakfast.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
6.7 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
6.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
2.2 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#16 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Property: Fulton Steamboat Inn
Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Steamboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing