We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay ... We Will Stay Here Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay ... We Will Stay Here Again”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here April 19th and could not have asked for anything to be any better. We were welcomed and checked in quickly and were on our way. We had one of the 3rd floor (top) Sun Deck King Rooms which is exclusively for adults only. The room was appointed in the very best of furnishings which resembled what a person might have found back in the day of the riverboats. The room was in the best of shape and clean. The bed felt great and we had a great nights sleep for we honestly never heard a thing. We both talked how that we had never heard anyone or anything while we were in our room. The in-room refrigerator came in handy. The outside area was nicely trimmed with a children's play area and fire pit. The Bartender (sorry, didn't catch his name) makes for great conversation and drinks. We didn't use the restaurant on this trip but it looked inviting. The pool area has an adult only period from 10:00-12:00am.

We will most definitely stay here again when back in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CoupleHarleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experiences Aboard Lancaster County’s Most Unique Full Service Hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations with us, and look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the near future!

Our SunDeck Rooms offer our Adult Passengers very unique and relaxing accommodations. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourselves, and look forward to your return. If there is anything I can do to help you plan your next visit, please feel free to contact me.

Best Regards,

Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    330
    80
    29
    17
See reviews for
897
674
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We arrived at steamboat inn the night before thanksgiving and immediately loved the novel nature of this hotel and it's great location amongst genuine Amish settings. This little two night stay formed part of a four week trip to the US with this part being a road trip between New York and Washington. Just loved every aspect of this hotel. Staff were very friendly upon our arrival and check in. Asked for a ground floor room which was fine. Rooms were perfectly adequate for a family of four. Had breakfast in the restaurant on thanksgiving - again great staff and enormous servings for breakfast! Looked out the window to see numerous beautiful buggies driving along the road. Loved it! This location is perfect for all the nearby quaint little villages and to numerous antique/bric a brac outlets and to Amish attractions and roadside stalls and covered bridges.
I was fascinated by the modern life meets Amish life - ie massive shopping outlet centres on the main road less than 500metres away and then just off the main road seeing countless buggies. This fulfilled my desire for this aspect of the trip perfectly and the steamboat inn was a big part of that.
Also the garden/pond setting was very pleasant and the kids loved the playground.
We loved the Black Friday sales too and we were easily able to walk to one of the outlet malls from steamboat inn - a big novelty for this Aussie family experiencing thanksgiving for the first time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We checked in on a Thursday night and found the room to be well appointed but a little small for us. My wife and I are tall but not heavy and found that starting with the bathroom every room was narrow. The bathroom sink and the adjacent sink in the little room next to the bathroom were low to the ground and we had to bend a bit to get close. The tub was very narrow and the water so soft that you never felt the soap was rinsed off. The tub got very slick and I fell out backwards bouncing off of the toilet breaking the seat and bruising my ribs pretty well. We found out when we reported this accident that some bathrooms were being converted to non-skid tubs but not ours and we had to use a towel in the tub until 2 days later we found that they had mats but the Mgr never told us or offered one. On our second day the room had not been cleaned or changed out even though we left the room on all days by 11:00 a.m. The Mgr never showed any interest in my problem with the fall other than supposedly checking to see the damage caused by my fall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

We thank you for sharing your most recent unfortunate experiences with us at the Fulton Steamboat Inn. Our team is dedicated to providing the highest level of guest services, hospitality, and comfort; and we apologize that we uncharacteristically fell short on this occasion.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the less than satisfactory maid service during your stay. We strive to maintain high standards for all of our guest rooms and I can assure you that we will correct the issue.

We truly appreciate your feedback, as it is through our guest’s comments, and observations that we will continue to improve our accommodations. We will utilize your feedback for the betterment of the property, and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fulton Steamboat Inn again soon.

Kind Regards,

Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bright, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights had a sun deck room nice views of the farm lands near buy watching the horse and carts on the near by road. Beautiful garden setting great meals were had while on our visit to this lovely area. Great shopping only a short walk to two different out let shops bargains galore for Aussie shoppers would have know hesitation in staying hear again if I visit the Lancaster region again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a unique place so we returned for a second visit and stayed two nights. It was, by and large, not a disappointment and we would probably stay here again sometime, but there was a housekeeping issue. The room was well equipped when we arrived. We used the amenities and drank the coffee. The second afternoon when we returned to our "made up" room NOTHING had been replaced! No coffee...no hot cups...no shampoo, conditioner, lotion, nor soap...no laundry bag. Zip! I did tell the front desk clerk as we were checking out and she did seem genuinely concerned. I have a suspicion that the housekeeper simply put all of those items in a personal bag to take home (I know from stories told by friends who run hotels that this is always a possibility and why in the good hotels the supervisor goes through each room with a check list). Now if I'm wrong, and this is standard hotel policy, shame on the hotel! If it's the housekeeper as well as lack of supervision...fire them!

Room Tip: I believe the third floor is for adults only which would be very helpful for couples and singles to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed with our 2 year old who had a great time. Weather was bad so we swam in the indoor pool, watched the ducks and Koi in the pond, and lounged around the room. Added plus- if you call ahead, you can have a gold fish left in your room to accompany your kid.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here with my Mom for a Mother Daughter weekend. Neat place to stay, everything reminds you of an authentic steamboat. Rooms were nicely decorated and clean. Felt the room was a little small but not bad. Indoor pool area was really nice and the hot tub was perfect way to end the day. Duck pond was very relaxing place to wind down before heading out to dinner. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Book rooms on the Sundeck or Observation deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
6.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
2.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Property: Fulton Steamboat Inn
Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Steamboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing