We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fulton Steamboat Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
North Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

Just returned from a trip to Lancaster & Williamsburg and spent our first 3 nights at the Fulton. We've been to Lancaster many times and this was our first stay at Fulton. Check in was quick & easy and a very polite staff. The lobby was nice, clean, gift shop and the restaurant. We had a nice room on the second floor, right across from the elevator. The room had a king bed with a 3/4 wall separating us from the kids. The pull-out sofa was only a twin, so if you have older kids, you may want a different room. We had separate TV's, both flat-screens, everything was clean and the bathroom was very nice with a second vanity/sink area outside the main bathroom. We asked for extra bedding/pillows and received them within a few minutes. There was a small game room on our floor and a vending area. Although there were lots of kids around, the hotel was very quiet. The location is perfect, very close to everything. We had breakfast once at the hotel and dinner twice. The food was good & the prices right in line. We had a great waitress, Lisa.
The hotel also offers wireless internet, had a nice pool (somewhat small) and a hot-tub.
We will definitely stay here again and give it a thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rock1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,373
    310
    77
    28
    17
See reviews for
839
631
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

I have been going to Lancaster since Iwas a child and this Inn was the best place I ever stayed at there. The pool was great, the staff so attentive, rooms great. It was more than a room. I highly reccommend it and would be staying there again and again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjjm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

We have driven by the Fulton Steamboat Inn many times in the past, but always thought it looked too "gimicky" and wouldn't have considered staying there. However, when we started searching online for place to spend a few days during spring break, the description of the hotel and most of the reviews seemed encouraging. Then we saw that some rooms had bunk beds and we were sold since our boys are completely enamoured of the idea of sleeping in bunk beds lately. When we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was really beautifully decorated and clean. The staff was friendly and the reservations were exactly what we expected. We had signed up for the Captains Club after we made our reservation and they even had the card ready and we got an additinal discount on a great room. The bunk bed room is great for families. We have 3 kids so the 3rd had to sleep on an air matress (they don't have roll away beds, but provide air mattresses for an additional nominal fee). She didn't mind and we actually liked the idea because you could put the bed away during the day and have room to move in the room.

We had a very nice breakfast at Huckleberry's with none of the wait problems that some other reviews mentioned. However, my kids are early birds so we were the first one's there. We had the family-style breakfast - plenty a food, a reasonable price (especially with the Captain's Club discount) and friendly, efficient service.

The woman who worked in the gift shop gave each of my kids a bag of feed for the ducks. They were thrilled! The playground and duck pond are very nice. We got to enjoy some relaxing time with the kids feeding the ducks and fish and watching them play before we headed out for the day. In the evenings we enjoyed the kids really enjoyed the pool.

We really enjoyed everything about our stay and plan to stay there again the next time we want to spend a weekend in the Lancaster area. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlbmcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

Our room was on the third deck in the back, quiet, very spacious, clean. Since it was a warm day we were able to open the door, even had a little deck!!! I would definitely stay again. We didn't try the tavern, but it looked very nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

Stayed over Easter for a long weekend. Everything was great, easy, friendly people, right across the street from the Outlet Mall, Olive Garden, and Dutch Wonderland. Had food at the tavern which was really good, enjoyed the pool. Everything was very clean. The staff had no problem switching my parents to a room further away from the heating system (which wasa bit loud). The playground outside is great if you travel with kids, the little pond is nice too, and the pool perfect for less sunny days - and the jacuzzi very relaxing and clean. Overall a great experience, which I can certainly recommend and would return to at any time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveler1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

This hotel is great for the price (see end for the gritty details). All the decor throughout is brand new and beautiful. Most of the people were great. There is a great outdoor play area for kids. They have an attractive restaurant and tavern. The rooms feel more like a Marriott in quality- higher quality everything. Free wireless, flat screen TV, and many things not advertised on their site. However, the doors are paper thin. We stayed across from the elevator/near front desk and it was awful and we woke up constantly. Also, the pool is tiny (perhaps the smallest pool I've ever seen in a hotel), yet a ton of children were here so we basically didn't use it for more than a few minutes. Most things in the hotel were pretty small because it's a smaller hotel. So the pool is mostly an issue on crowded days. Last, the literature said the restaurant was open until 10. We got their just after 8 and they wouldn't seat us (they close at 8). When I asked them to update this on the PAdutch.com site, they indicated it wasn't their problem to fix. So, if you planned ahead to avoid the above, you'd likely have a great experience. For the price, it's much nicer than I'd expect, especially if we could've moved to a room that wasn't by the front desk and elevator.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank First_Officer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

Right from the check inn, we knew we were going to like this Inn. We no sooner got into our room and the front desk called to see if everything was acceptable. Our room was spotless. It was so neat that we felt we were at home. The restraunt personnel, the maintanice staff and the maides were all so nice and friendly. We will never stay at any other Inn when we return to Landcaster.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
6.7 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
6.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
2.2 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#15 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Property: Fulton Steamboat Inn
Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Steamboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing