We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flowers & Thyme Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Yes, it was an ok experience only. My husband an I spent Valentine Day at Flowers and Thyme BB. Although, it was a snowy day, the atmosphere inside was nice and cozy. We were surprised to find our room (Flower) in very small hallway the second floor, where rooms were just next to each other. Our room was very small (although, well decorated). As we enter the room and placed our luggage on the bed we could hear that the bed almost falling apart. Another thing that bothered me was the glass bathroom door, and a mirror next to it that did not add privacy..
Before breakfast was served, Don asked everyone to pray, which I found extremely inappropriate and no consideration to other peoples' belief. Breakfast was very simple: one piece of waffle and a small bowl of banana and sauce. I thought that bed and breakfasts are famous for their authentic breakfast. This one is not one of them..

Room Tip: If you looking for privacy and good food, this is not the right place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joy422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H1138, Owner at Flowers & Thyme Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I'm sorry you felt you had a bad experience. You were in the Garden Room (we don't have a Flower Room) which has an old oak bed in the bedroom and a small sitting area and bath. While the bed is an antique, it is supported well and has a new mattress for comfortable sleeping. And sorry you did not see the blind on the door into the bathroom which you could have pulled down if you chose to do so for more privacy.
We do offer a brief prayer of thanks for the food...sorry it was offensive to you.
Breakfast that morning was coffee, orange juice, sliced bananas foster sauce drizzled on top, Bacon, 2 waffles served with sliced strawberries were plated and a glazed coffee cake was on the table for anyone who wanted pastries. After serving the entrée, extra waffles were made available to those who wanted more. I'm not sure what you were expecting an authentic breakfast to be - we are not a smorgasbord but we do try to make sure that everyone has plenty. We often hear the comment that enough was served that they did not have to eat lunch.
Hopefully you will find a B&B that you enjoy! There are many good and varied options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
69
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Owners Ruth and Don were the nicest people you could ever meet. The B&B was very clean, breakfast was very good and the room was very comfortable. The Hot tub was so nice to relax in and again everything for such an old house was very clean and in great shape. It was my first B&B with my wife and it won't be my last. Flowers & Thyme B&B made our visit so welcoming that we will do this again. Ruth always had either home baked cookies or Brownies out for us during the night along with coffee. I have nothing negative to say about this great place. Thank you again Ruth and Don!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Wonderful B&B! Ruth and Don were the most gracious and accomodating hosts! The room was impecable, food was delicious and it was one of the nicest B&B's my husband and I have ever stayed in. We can't wait to go back for another relaxing stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was a truly a great B&B. Ruth and Don were very welcoming. We went on this trip with another couple and Don met us when we arrived and explained everything available to us. the Gazebo was a great bonus where we relaxed in screened in comfort after our days activities' in and around Lancaster. The location was very central to all our destinations and both Ruth and Don offered insider recommendations for restaurants and how to best get about town. My husband and I are still talking about the amazing breakfasts. We will definitely return anytime we are heading to the Lancaster area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I loved our night at Flowers & Thyme! Ruth and Don were wonderful- so welcoming and kind. Our room was VERY comfortable, EXTREMELY clean, and very nicely decorated. The breakfast was amazing- YUMMY!! The most wonderful thing for my husband and I, was that this was a Christian home- which was just the greatest thing...such a refreshing blessing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schodack Landing, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We picked the B&B off of the PA tourist website and were extremely happy with our choice. The home and gardens are absolutely beautiful! The room was very comfortable and everything was spotless. The home offers 3 large areas to relax in after a day of walking and sightseeing. Prior to our visit we were looking at obtaining tickets to the Sight and Sound production of Noah and Ruth was kind enough to contact Sight and Sound and get us 'great' seats. The breakfast was more than what we had expected and it was delicious. Due to a tour early one morning we were not able to attend our second morning breakfast but Ruth set out some homemade food for us to pack to take with us so that we could eat breakfast on the go. We had such an enjoyable stay that we will highly recommend Flowers and Thyme to all of our friends. If we find ourselves back in the Lancaster area we will definitely stay here again. The proprietors, Ruth and Don, were gracious hosts. Thanks, Ruth and Don, for opening your home to us and for a wonderful weekend stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a lovely stay at Flowers and Thyme
Ambiance:r
The location is a good one,, in the country, but only about 10 minutes from the main tourist area, and another 10 minutes(in the opposite direction) to Lancaster City
As others have
commented, the grounds are beautiful-even in Spetember,which is probably not the peak time for flowers.
Inside, the Inn has three rooms Everything is spotlessly clean. The decor is country, and done attractivly

Food:

We stayed three nights and all three breakfasts were excellant. Each day there was a fresh fruit appetizer, with freshly made breakfast pastrys. The entrees varied .We had silver dollar pancakes one day, followed by a cheese quiche the next and scrambled eggs the third day, Each was accomanied by a local breakfast meat- Sausage links, bacon and ham loaf respectively. Note that although the food was excellant, the dishes were reletively straightforward breakfast fare. This was fine with us.-at breakfast especially, we tend not to be adventuresome. However, if you are looking for an over the top gourmet experience, this is nort the place for it. Just very well prepared standard breakfast dishes.
There is an extensive selection of coffee and teas as well.

Unusual Features
Perhaps the most unusual feature of the Inn are the three large common rooms-two sitting rooms and the dining room(which also has a sitting area with a sofa and armchairs).There is a large flat scren TV in one of the rooms(no TV's in the guestrooms). A fourth,,closet sized room-the '"puzzle room" has a jigsaw puzzle awaiting completion. The number and size of the common rooms is especially unusual in a Band B with only 3 guestrooms-so there is plenty of space to spread out.

The Innkeepers
B and B host's, style tend to range the gamut from becoming your best friend for the weekend to leaving you wondering whether they exist. On this broad spectrum The Harnishes would fall near the middle, but somewhat more reserved than average. They are welcoming and helpful, but not intrusive(Don also has a full time job that takes him away weekdays).
I grew up in Lancaster County and we return often, so we were not seeking help on what to do, However, the advice I heard them give others was accurate and thorough.
As others have pointed out, the Harnishes are devout Christians and grace is offered aloud before meals. There is also a good amount of religious literature-including Christian fiction- on the bookshelves of the common rooms However I did not hear either Innkeeper push their faith on guests or inquire about their faith and beliefs, . That said, the Inn tends to attract Christian guests- On Saturday at breakfast there was a good deal of church talk between us and the two other couples staying there- which as believing Christians and active church members, we enjoyed. However, if you are a militant athiest, or are uncomfortable with others saying grace at table, this may not be the best Band B for you.

In Summary this is an excellant B and B with exceptional grounds and common rooms and very well prepared non-gourmet breakfasts. The owners faith will be a plus for many and only a negative for those uncomfortable with even minor displays of faith.

Room Tip: RThe three rooms are very differant. The Country Room is the smallest- there is about one foot clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brookquarry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
4.9 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Walnut Lawn B&B
Walnut Lawn B&B
#7 of 22 in Lancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flowers & Thyme Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flowers & Thyme Bed and Breakfast

Property: Flowers & Thyme Bed and Breakfast
Address: 238 Strasburg Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-1326
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three room property in a rural setting on 1 1/3 acres of landscaped beauty. Our rooms are individually decorated with comfortable mattresses and private baths. You can choose from a room with a canopy bed, an electric fireplace, or a room with a two-person Jacuzzi. Enjoy the outdoors, the flower beds and the gazebo as you relax here during your Lancaster County visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing