We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for the price paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lancaster Family Resort
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for a night on an en route stop. Whilst the hotel has certainly seen better days and spaces look "tired" compared to other hotels in the same category/ price range, we found this a very good value for money. Two swimming pools are available, brakfast is very rich, you can even make your own waffles. Not a fancy plca, but for the price we paid, great. I would actually rate 3.5 if I had this option

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MelaniaMela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibi B, General Manager at Lancaster Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us know how we are doing. The hotel is being revamped at this time, and starting to take on a great personality. We are excited with all projects that are getting done.We are looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was once a great golf resort hotel that is currently seeing some shabby times. Everywhere there is evidence of glory-gone-by: suites with heated tiles in the bathroom, high ceilings, a decades old phone boasting a direct dial to the pro shop... My room (a huge 5th floor suite) had a wonderful view overlooking the adjacent golf course lake where I watched deer and a loon in the early morning.

Sadly now, maintenance and staffing is an issue. The handicapped lift into the hotel lobby was not working. There is no ramp access. In the main elevator there is a sign asking guests not to push the buttons too many times lest the elevator jam and require a total re-set.

Yes, there are many areas that have seen better days and there are many things that could be improved. Used towels along with a stray lime wedge on the floor in the indoor pool area remained untouched the next day. I had to go online (internet worked fine in my room) to figure out how to program the generic dollar store TV remote that controlled the large CRT TV in my room. Half the lights in my room and the hair dryer did not work. The freezer of my mini-fridge was so frosted over that it was completely unusable.

That all being said, I am not a fussy traveler and so am not bothered by any of the cosmetic or other minor shortcomings. I chose this hotel for the indoor pool and was not disappointed. The indoor pool was large and at the perfect temperature. The outdoor pool is huge and clean- but too cold to use during my visit.

The breakfast was good. The WiFi worked. The bed was clean and very comfortable. The indoor pool was heavenly. For the price, this hotel was just fine by me and I would recommend it to anyone who isn't freaked out by a little wear and tear or minor lack of maintenance.

The only surprise was upon check-in. I was informed that a $20 temporary charge would be added on to my credit card against "damages." The charge would be rescinded after check-out. Hmmmmmm.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back (golf course side) are quiet with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BonnieInPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We picked this hotel because it was right across the street from Dutch Wonderland and we went there after our day at the amusement park. Location was great and price was reasonable. But you pay for what you get. The hotel is definitely old and looks it. Carpet in the hallways are patched and dirty, rooms are old; especially the bathrooms. Nothing updated in there. Exhaust fan not working, hair dryer falling off the wall, fixtures (tub included) are very old. Tub did not drain well and shower head sprayed water everywhere but where you needed it. Only thing I saw updated was maybe the bedding and TV. Channels on TV were not consistent (could not get the cartoon channel for the kids) and WIFI was very iffy. Sometimes it connected, sometimes not. Pools were not the cleanest. I would not recommend it or stay here again unless they did some major updating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank barbieq59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean. Sleeping was great the beds very comfortable. Will stay here again. Right across the street from Dutch Wonderland. 10 minutes from Amish Village and buggy ride. Next door to outlets just a walk across parking lot. Great breakfast options.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Goofy10125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I came to this hotel on a trip with the family the hotel seemed nice but when we got in the elevator we knew we were wrong in the rooms there was mold ,a leak , peeling paint cobwebs etc the next room they gave us (after complaining)smelt so bad it was unfit with no ac in it we knew we couldn't stay a night in this hotel I warn everyone to avoid this hotel at all costs the hotel next door is much better and mor fit to sleep in

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Ten months ago I wrote a very negative review on this hotel, but we went back this week due to its location to Dutch Wonderland. Incredible changes greeted us. Though an older hotel, the infrastructure has been undergoing repairs, new carpeting, new bedding, secured balconies, upgraded bathrooms and carefully cleaned pools and pool areas. We loved it! Breakfast is full; view of golf course and pool wonderful. Only problem: no plug in bathtub, room a little warm and elevator still old. ( we didn't take it,) however, it's 1/2 price the hotel next door and is by far the closest to Dutch Wonderland- a two minute walk. Give this older hotel a chance; you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing pool and golf course- not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metoread2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibi B, General Manager at Lancaster Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for noticing . We are doing this for you and all of our valued guests. We are still up grading. Again thank you and see you nest time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the Ramada Inn. Great breakfast. Great service. Rooms were clean. Loved swimming in the pool and hanging out with other families. Close to everything. Enjoyed our time there. Going back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibi B, General Manager at Lancaster Family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us know how we are doing. We will continue to improve to make your stay special and memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
#28 of 40 in Lancaster
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
#24 of 40 in Lancaster
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#25 of 40 in Lancaster
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster East at The Outlets
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Family Resort

Address: 2250 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1112 (Formerly Ramada Lancaster)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £46 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancaster Family Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Quality Inn
Quality Inn Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing