We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B & B Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morris Township, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful B & B Experience”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a perfect place to stay in Lancaster - charming & cozy. Denise & Al are terrific hosts. We would highly recommend the Victorian room, which is very roomy and has a private porch. There is a small refrigerator in the hall filled with drinks, but also has room for guests' personal items. In the afternoon we snacked on cupcakes, fresh peaches & lemonade. Breakfast was fantastic! Stuffed French toast, bacon, blueberry muffins, fresh strawberries & whipped cream, coffee & juices...the toast wasn't the only thing that was stuffed. A great value.

Room Tip: The Victorian Room has a private porch and is very roomy. There is A/C, ceiling fans, and a firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANewBeginningB, Owner at A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Paul & Valerie – thank you for taking the time to write a review for A New Beginning! We enjoyed your company and also Robert’s – he is quite the ‘character.’ We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love meeting people, providing a simple and relaxing experience and sending them home with a renewed and relaxed mind and a full belly. All the best to you and we hope to see you again. All the best, Al & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
192
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Wow.... Talk about a new beginning! Our host Denise, went above and beyond caring for us. She recommended a great restaurant which we loved and even made reservations for us. Also, she gave us a 10% discount coupon to go with it. She even researched things for us to do in the area. As for the inn itself, can you say clean, comfy, cozy and romantic. Location was key too, as it was 10 minutes from all tourist attractions. May I also mention Denise is an excellent cook. Fresh fruit and coffee for breakfast and the creamed meat on toast was out of this world. I loved the peaches and cream too, better then then group. What else can I say, this was a great place to stay. There were even treats for us at night left in the dinning room, plus a fridge filled with goodies, beverages and snacks. There are books and nick naks around the place as well to explore and read. Our room was the Americana Room, and it was an excellent choice. New Beginnings was just like going home, yet we were 300 miles away. The experience was unforgettable . Thank you again Denise and thank you for caring for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trafficman968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANewBeginningB, Owner at A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Tom & Jennifer – Thanks for the wonderful review! It was so great that you took the time to write about A New Beginning. It was great having you and Jennifer stay with us and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and everything was a good as you had hoped! It was my sincere pleasure to do what I could for you both.
Thank you for staying with us, writing the review and hopefully we will see you again.
All the best,
Al & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband & I stayed 2 nights in the Americana Room. It is pleasantly decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom has a shower stall and no bathtub, but we didn't miss it. The hostess is extremely helpful and goes out of her way to make suggestions for restaurants and interesting things to do. She will make phone calls or research on-line to help guests enjoy their stay. The breakfast was a feast so you need to let Denise know if you have special needs.

Room Tip: Air conditioner is in the window and can be a bit noisy if you are not used to one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tooie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This B&B is lovely and family-friendly. The Americana room was very clean and comfortable, the décor warm and interesting - a combination of historic antiques and country-kitsch. It is obvious that the whole house and grounds are decorated and cared for with a loving touch. Beware: Santa is everywhere, even in June! Coffee was delicious, breakfast tasty and mostly fresh, but I skipped the canned peaches and whipped cream!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We’ve been to this area and other B&B’s many times, so we are not new to this. This is the first time at this B&B and are looking forward to returning, as this is one of the best we stayed at. We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed the conversations with Denise in the morning, which made us feel like friends. She cooks up some great breakfasts and not to mention the afternoon snacks. We like having a TV in the room, Fridge and microwave down the hall and the location is close to everything. Al and Denise were very pleasing to chat with and there if you needed them, without being intrusive. Thanks so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taurus430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for a weekend and it exceeded our expectations. Denise and Al are super friendly and can help you with information on places to go and how to get there. The food is amazing. The room was cozy and clean and had everything you needed and more. Would definitely recommend the place. It's great for napping during the day too. Thanks for the great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights it was one of the best B&B's we have stayed in.Very friendly, comfortable and clean. Denise & Al were very helpful with directions and places to eat. We stayed in the Victorian Room with the porch which was great after a long day sightseeing, relaxing with our treat and drink that Denise had left for us. Breakfast was great every day. I requested the recipe for Stuffed French Toasted & Baked Oatmeal. We had great conversations with Denise in the morning which made us feel like friends. During our stay they became Grandparents and without missing a beat visited their new Grandson and still took care of our needs. Another guest was unable to use tickets to Sights & Sounds (Noah) and asked Denise to pass them on to another guest so Denise thought of us which was nice of her and please thank the guest that didn't use them. Its was a great stay,hope to visit again.

Room Tip: The Victorian room is great with the porch to sit and relax in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.5 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.0 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
939 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast

Property: A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1400 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the simple life! We hope to make your stay with us as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing