We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Way A Bed And Breakfast Should Be”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Denise and Al are real people who know what they are doing and it shows. I have nothing bad to say about the place or the people. Simply put if you are looking for a place to stay that is reasonably priced, cozy/homey, with delicious breakfast and friendly conversation then A New Beginning is the place for you. Thank you again for the lovely stay Denise and Al. Bravo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terriblyvexed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

What a special place this is!!!! Al and Denise were fabulous hosts to our cousin reunion several weeks ago. This wonderful home used to belong to our grandparents, and the love and family traditions that we enjoyed as kids still live on through these two special people. This is a home away from home... the cozy, special charm each rooms presents is unsurpassed. The wonderful smells of a country breakfast cooking is your wake up call each morning. My grandparents would be so happy to know what their old homestead has become. Thanks you Al and Denise for making all of our childhood memories come alive again. When you visit this very special place, you will take away your own special memories and two people who will instantly become your friends forever!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANewBeginningB, Owner at A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Martha, it was such a great pleasure on our part to host your family reunion here at A New Beginning. Hearing the stories of days past were truly inspiring to us and it was wonderful to hear the history that has passed through this wonderful home! We were so happy to accommodate you and your family here in the house that held so many happy and memorable time for you all.
We are grateful to have had you as our guests. To know that your grandparents would be proud to know that their home has been preserved as a home offering comfort and love is something very gratifying and special to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Denise and Al are the best host and hostess anyone could ask for. I stayed for two nights with both small children and my elderly parents. Everyone had a great time, and a lot of that was thanks to the warm and welcoming atmosphere at A New Beginning.

On the day we went to Dutch Wonderland (which is a great amusement park for younger kids) Denise offered to pick up my parents and take them back to the B&B if they got too tired to stay.

She also prepared wonderful Gluten-Free treats for my son who is allergic to wheat. She made him feel really great! Also, she prepared delicious breakfasts every morning (and even made a special breakfast for my father who is strictly a bacon and eggs guy.)

I can't say enough wonderful things about our stay. The only negative is also sort-of a positive. A New Beginning is on a pretty busy road, however, you are right next to everything you could possibly want to visit. The B&B is right down the street from Dutch Wonderland and close to amish buggy rides, farm tours, restaurants and anything else you may want to see. I highly recommend staying here, it felt like a home away from home and like Denise and Al were family. In fact, my four year old asked if we could call Denise on our way home because she missed her so much!

It was an excellent experience in every way!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poolpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANewBeginningB, Owner at A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thanks so much for your review Laura! We know how busy you are with little ones and to take the time is very special to us. We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us. Your mom & dad are very special people and we are glad they enjoyed their stay here as well. Your children were such a pleasure to have here - they are such well-behaved and happy children. I love that Kelsey wanted to call me - adorable!
Al & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a perfect place to stay in Lancaster - charming & cozy. Denise & Al are terrific hosts. We would highly recommend the Victorian room, which is very roomy and has a private porch. There is a small refrigerator in the hall filled with drinks, but also has room for guests' personal items. In the afternoon we snacked on cupcakes, fresh peaches & lemonade. Breakfast was fantastic! Stuffed French toast, bacon, blueberry muffins, fresh strawberries & whipped cream, coffee & juices...the toast wasn't the only thing that was stuffed. A great value.

Room Tip: The Victorian Room has a private porch and is very roomy. There is A/C, ceiling fans, and a firepla...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANewBeginningB, Owner at A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Paul & Valerie – thank you for taking the time to write a review for A New Beginning! We enjoyed your company and also Robert’s – he is quite the ‘character.’ We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love meeting people, providing a simple and relaxing experience and sending them home with a renewed and relaxed mind and a full belly. All the best to you and we hope to see you again. All the best, Al & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Wow.... Talk about a new beginning! Our host Denise, went above and beyond caring for us. She recommended a great restaurant which we loved and even made reservations for us. Also, she gave us a 10% discount coupon to go with it. She even researched things for us to do in the area. As for the inn itself, can you say clean, comfy, cozy and romantic. Location was key too, as it was 10 minutes from all tourist attractions. May I also mention Denise is an excellent cook. Fresh fruit and coffee for breakfast and the creamed meat on toast was out of this world. I loved the peaches and cream too, better then then group. What else can I say, this was a great place to stay. There were even treats for us at night left in the dinning room, plus a fridge filled with goodies, beverages and snacks. There are books and nick naks around the place as well to explore and read. Our room was the Americana Room, and it was an excellent choice. New Beginnings was just like going home, yet we were 300 miles away. The experience was unforgettable . Thank you again Denise and thank you for caring for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trafficman968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANewBeginningB, Owner at A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Tom & Jennifer – Thanks for the wonderful review! It was so great that you took the time to write about A New Beginning. It was great having you and Jennifer stay with us and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and everything was a good as you had hoped! It was my sincere pleasure to do what I could for you both.
Thank you for staying with us, writing the review and hopefully we will see you again.
All the best,
Al & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband & I stayed 2 nights in the Americana Room. It is pleasantly decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom has a shower stall and no bathtub, but we didn't miss it. The hostess is extremely helpful and goes out of her way to make suggestions for restaurants and interesting things to do. She will make phone calls or research on-line to help guests enjoy their stay. The breakfast was a feast so you need to let Denise know if you have special needs.

Room Tip: Air conditioner is in the window and can be a bit noisy if you are not used to one.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tooie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This B&B is lovely and family-friendly. The Americana room was very clean and comfortable, the décor warm and interesting - a combination of historic antiques and country-kitsch. It is obvious that the whole house and grounds are decorated and cared for with a loving touch. Beware: Santa is everywhere, even in June! Coffee was delicious, breakfast tasty and mostly fresh, but I skipped the canned peaches and whipped cream!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.5 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.0 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 39 in Lancaster
953 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
4.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A New Beginning Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1400 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: £66 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the simple life! We hope to make your stay with us as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing