We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”
Review of Cork Factory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cork Factory Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Beautiful unique space, VERY CLEAN rooms(a BIG priority for me), comfortable beds, great breakfast, friendly staff.

Only two cons for us were: no room service(why not with a restaurant right there?) and the noise from doors closing/the hallway. We were able to drown out the noise by setting the temperature very low(to avoid a/c constantly going on/off as another reviewer mentioned). Once we had the a/c going continuously we had the best night of sleep we've had at a hotel in a long time. Despite the two minor issues, I loved everything about our stay. It was a unique and charming experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTravelReview_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    221
    82
    30
    19
See reviews for
137
219
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The good: the rooms were fine in many ways. We stayed with our 17 month old- unfortunately, they didn't have a bath, but the rooms were perfect in that they didn't have a lot of things she can break! The bkft was very good- fresh fruit, delicious scones, banana bread, etc. The beds were comfortable. The hotel is next to the Science Factory- worth going with young kids (18mo-6yrs).

The bad: we had contact with two receptionists. One was wonderful, helped us warm up her milk at night, gave good information for us for church, etc. The other, horrible! She gave unclear directions (our friends were "afraid" of approaching her again!), cold, rude, etc. We also had a different waiter for bkft the second day. They were both nice but the second one was completely clueless...didn't know the kinds of tea they had, etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This is a newly converted factory building, as its name implies. The renovation kept the "factory loft" feel in the public areas, very attractive. The room was clean and reasonably appointed. The bad news is that there is totally ineffective noise insulation between rooms-- walls and ceilings. You hear all sounds next door and above. In addition, the HVAC system is awful. It startsand stops throughtout the night and is very loud. For some reason you cannot put just the fan on (to act as white noise against the surrounding sound and to provide ventilation) and so, each time the tempurature adjusts the fan and compressor turn on. I dont consider myself an overly sensitve to sound but the noise from the fan and compressor woke me throughout the night. In the morning I heard our next door neighbors conversation and our upstairs neighbor footsteps. I dont blame the neighbors who appeared to being having a quiet talk, I blame the hotel construction.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kertrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

If only the walls were not so thin, if only the rooms cooled more quickly. Although these are fairly substantial flaws, the hotel is still a terrific hotel. Our $143.00 room was a king suite, well furnished with quality furnishings. The unique rooms, with exceptional bathrooms, the interesting halls, the stylish dining room, the upscale lobby made the Cork Hotel a great stay. It probably did not help that the hallways, elevator (slow) were uncomfortably hot.
Thank God the rooms finally cooled after many hours, the chatter from the other rooms stopped, the slamming doors ended earlier. The included Continental breakfast was tasty and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlestonnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Cork Factory Hotel, during one of the hottest weeks Lancaster has seen this summer (or so they told us). Therein was the cause of dropping the rating from a 5 to a 4 - but more on that later.

The hotel is centrally located, although we had a bit of difficulty finding it as we navigated the one way streets of Lancaster using an old-fashioned street map (no GPS!). We traveled through several residential neighborhoods before coming to the factory area, now billed as "Urban Place". The factory has been renovated into offices, the hotel and restaurant, all of which share a parking lot with the Lancaster Mattress Factory.

As others have mentioned, the hotel is beautifully decorated with brick, dark woods, warm colors and unique and authentic antiques pertinent to the PA area in general, and the old cork factory in particular. Our room was large, with 2 queen beds which we all thought were extraordinarily comfortable, although the sheets were a little rougher than one would expect in this type of hotel. The windows are covered with wood slat window shades - room darkeners would be helpful.The bathroom was beautifully decorated with warm colors and tiles mimicing dark slate on both the floor and shower walls. If it matters to you, at least in our room, there was no tub. The sink was situated within the bathroom itself, rather than in the room....if privacy is a concern for you, the clear glass of the shower door will limit others from using the sink.

Our room was on the 4th (top) floor, which meant high ceilings and interesting ventilation ductwork. We were not bothered at all by noise. Unfortunately when we entered our room, it was 96 degrees outside, and the room thermostat was set at 75 degrees. The room had obviously been baking throughout the day. We immediately set the thermostat to 65, and left to tour the area and have dinner. When we returned five hours later the thermostat read 73 degrees...eventually it made it all the way down to 72. After sweltering for a few more hours, hoping the temperature would drop, we finally called the front desk around 10p.m. wondering if we perhaps had an AC issue. They immediately offered us another room on the 4th floor - when entering the room, it too was set at 75 degrees. Not wanting to start all over, we kept our original room, which eventually settled at 70 degrees after 2 days. Of note, although the lobby was kept cool, neither the upper hallways or elevator seemed to be air conditioned. The ventilation needs to be tweeked, ceiling fans would certainly help cool the rooms on the upper floor, and setting the room temps lower before a guest enters would sure help as well.

Breakfast was wonderful, as was the very hardworking woman who staffed it. Held in the lounge of the restaurant, it was comfortable and relaxing. Fresh fruits, yogurts, baked goods made on premises, boxes of cereals for the kids, granola and nutrigrain bars for the road, all made for a refreshing change.

Front desk staff was not very friendly - when I asked if a local street map was available, the person sitting at the desk pointed over to a basket on a cooffee table and said "in there", then went back to working at her PC. I felt like I was inconveniencing her. Perhaps a little more time and seasoning will help.

Overall, the hotel is definitely worth experiencing, at least once. Hopefully they will get the kinks worked out, as it has great potential.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sleepydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

A hotel with a lot of charm. Nice spacous room. New and clean. Free wifi and complementry breakfast. Nice - small - fitnessroom. Very friendly and helpfull staff. At least 4 star quality.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnetteR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisburg pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Spent one night with wife for anniversary. Enjoyed the room, ended up with a suite and king bed which was very large. On second floor and no probs with noise where we were(end of hall). Did not appreciate the lawn mowers starting up at 7am just outside our window. Also could consider room darkening shades. The room and appointments however were all terrific. Did not have a chance to sample the resteraunt there for dinner but did have terrific meals at Mazzi in Leola and at the Belvedere which is close by. Breakfast at the hotel was very good. Staff excellent. I have to agree the air conditioning in the halls on the second floor and especially in the elevator did not seem to exist. Our room cooled off quickly though when we turned down the thermostat. All in all a neat hotel .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redo774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
916 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#19 of 39 in Lancaster
321 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cork Factory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cork Factory Hotel

Property: Cork Factory Hotel
Address: 480 New Holland Ave, Suite 3000, Lancaster, PA 17602-2291
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cork Factory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cork Factory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing