We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My Mother and I took my two boys (1 1/2 and 4 1/2) to Lancaster recently and stayed 4 nights here. I can't say enough about the place. Both boys had a blast in the Indoor Water Playground! The room was spacious and clean and the grounds were beautiful. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    428
    181
    53
    39
See reviews for
923
224
17
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had not booked accommodation on a visit to the Amish area of Pennsylvania and just found this hotel on TripAdvisor. Right from the reception we received at checkin, where we were offered a discounted room rate and the warm cookies, through the service in the bar,restaurant and at breakfast the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The rooms were quite spacious and very clean and the outlook over the adjoining golf course made this stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfnut3977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

I've been visiting the Lancaster area for years and have stayed at Willow Valley Resort many times. This was my first time on the Doubletree side of the hotel. The rooms were beautlfully renovated and clean. I really enjoyed all of the hotel amenities. The breakfast breakfast was delicious.

We also spent some time in the pool area which is very large, clean and good for all ages. We truly enjoyed our stay and would reccommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilemoevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowValley_LS, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank your sharing the experiences of your recent stay. I am happy that you had such a memorable experience. I will be sharing your kind words with our staff. It is this type of feedback that keeps our entire team energized to serve all our guest.

Sincerely,

Lisa Sellers
Assistant General Manager
717-464-2711
lisa@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Made our reservation 22 days in advance and was VERY CLEAR that my wife and I would be accompanied by 2 children. Arrived at 12:30 PM and was told by the person at the front desk (in a way I would describe as rude and I’m hard to offend) that our room wasn’t ready. She also informed me that they promise 4 PM check ins and I had to force her to allow me to check back with her at 2 PM. We were sent on our way and fortunately got word from friends that we could go hang in the pool area which is a nice area for kids of all ages to swim. We went back at 2 PM and our room still wasn’t ready (our friends’ room wasn’t either). However, everyone else in line checked in with no problems. We checked in after 5 PM. The hotel (in general) and room were in great condition and VERY CLEAN. But there were several issues. We were given a handicap room (didn’t ask for that) with one dining room chair and a waist high ironing board. There was very little light. Paid a little extra for the whirlpool tub so we could put our 2 young children in for baths and wash their hair except the tub had no faucet. That meant reaching into the separate stand up shower to bath them because there is only room for one person in the shower at a time. The room faced the hotel’s indoor atrium that had an event both nights we stayed there (prom on the first night, wedding on the second night). We called the front desk immediately after walking into the room and hearing a prom PA announcer and asked to be moved. I was told by the manager on duty that they were “booked up”… that even if she found something, she would “charge me at the higher rate for a lesser room”… and that “it wouldn’t be fair to other customers that haven’t arrived yet”. The wedding on the following night was featured a DJ and was REALLY LOUD (base pumping and guest singing at the top of their lungs along with songs) well into the night making it impossible for my kids to sleep.

In summary, the facilities were of good quality, BUT the service was some of the worst I’ve had to endure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium are extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowValley_LS, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I apologize for the customer service shortfalls that you encountered when dealing with some of our Team Members. We take pride in providing excellent service to every guest. When we do not meet these standards of service, we appreciate knowing so that we may make the necessary improvements. I will share your experiences with the appropriate Team Members.

Thank you for the nice comments on our clean rooms, our housekeeping staff works really hard to provide this service.

Again, I apologize for the service you received and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.


Lisa Sellers
Assistant General Manager
717-464-2711
lisa@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel looks nice and the indoor water playground is great for little kids. However, the hotel rooms are poorly designed because people who stay in the rooms of the "inside" ring can't really use and open their blinds. All you can see outside of those windows is a huge banquet hall; you can't have any privacy if you want to have some sunlight coming into your room. The worst of all, you can hear noise from the banquet room. This was our first time to have a family vacation in this hotel. We arranged to stay there for 3 nights, but the hotel had parties till 10 PM "two" nights in a row during our stay without giving us any fore-warning or heads-up. First night of our stay was a prom; we tried to stay up late until the party was over without raising any problem with the hotel staff because the noise level was bearable. The second night was a wedding but a very "LOUD" one. Our exhausted and cranky 2 years old tried to sleep around 8 PM but was constantly scared and woken up by the blasting loud music. The unpleasant LOUD noise messed up our 2 years old's sleep; we, tired parents, felt frustrated. We called the front desk few times and raised the problem; they just said the party will be over by 10 PM without asking the party to lower their music. We felt the hotel cared about their party customers so much more than other customers. Our feedback was ignored. We felt the money we paid ($156/per night) was not worthy. The hotel staff said the word sorry but did not sound sincere; no staff took any action about the blasting party music. No hotel manager ever came to apologize and said that they understood our frustration. We wished the hotel staff would give us a little heads-up about the party noise because the hotel staff knew the party noise would greatly impact customers who stay in the rooms next to the banquet hall. The services at the Marriott Lancaster and Armishview Inn are so much better. We would suggest that you spend money somewhere else where you can get quality service. We ignored some negative reviews before booking Double Tree Resort Lancaster. We now agree with those reviews which gave fair warnings. The overall experience with the hotel staff was very disappointing. It's a shame that the hotel itself is nice, but the hotel service/ management is poor, not professional.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowValley_LS, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. I value our guest’s opinions and do use them to make improvements when necessary. I want to first apologize for not informing you about the events that would be happening in the Palm Court. We are currently working on ways to improve this communication with our guest. A Manager is on staff from 8am-11pm on weekend nights, I am not sure why you were not directed to speak with the Manager.

I will be sharing this review with the appropriate department managers, so we can work on the care that we must show our guest. Please accept my apology and we would hope you consider giving us another chance to serve you again in the future.

Lisa Seller
Assistant General Manager
717-464-2711
lisa@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

While the rooms were fine and the location was okay (not central to anything) the rooms look out at an atrium were the proms friday and saturday were the warm up to the horrible wedding sunday night. The proms at least were put in a seperate room with doors that closed so while you could hear a little bit of the music it sounded distant. The wedding was in the atrium including the bad dj and music around a dance floor-literally with our rooms looking out at the wedding. What a disaster

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandriamomva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowValley_LS, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the location of your room over looking the Atrium. I apologize for the poor job on our part of not informing you of the events that would be happening. We are addressing your concerns and working on ways to inform our guest of events in our Palm Court. I hope you would reconsider looking elsewhere for a place to stay in Lancaster. We do have lovely rooms with outside windows that do not overlook the Palm Court and would provide you with a restful night. It would be our pleasure to serve you again.

Lisa Seller
Assistant General Manager
717-464-2711
lisa@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We looked around for some place to take our Granddaughter over Easter vacation that had an indoor pool. My husband and I love to travel to Amish country, this place was fantastic. It was beautiful, staff were very friendly and attentive. Pool areas were kept up very nicely and it also had a great indoor waterpark area! Our granddaughter swam for hours upon hours. She also greatly enjoyed the nice big warm cookie at check in.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
5.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing