We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place!!! Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved this place!!! Great for families”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My wife and our 3 young childen stayed here from 7/27- 7/31. We had an amazing time. The hotel is clean and well kept The staff is very friendly and helpful. Having 3 small children, we needed some extra towels and mattresses. The housekeeping manager, Holli, came to us the first day and said, "What can I get you to make things easier for you" What a great welcome.
Another time our 4 year old was running at the pool and scraped his knee. Two lifeguards Olivia and Taylor came over right away and were very kind and gentle with him. Staff in general were great
The rooms were large and clean and well kept. Our particular housekeeper did an o.k. job with the room, but could have been more attentive in cleaning up.
The resort itself is in a beautiful part of Lancaster, The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The indoor pools are amazing, The children's pool is clean and our little guys loved every second. They definitely cater to families. The Saturday night we were there they had a bonfire and all the kids at the hotel were able to roast marshmallows and hotdogs.
We'll definitley be back there next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGrainson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    430
    183
    53
    40
See reviews for
929
228
17
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I cannot possibly give this Hotel the rating I want to since it exceeded every expectation. The suite was roomy and comfortable. The 24 Hundred restaurant staff added to the highlights. We also enjoyed breakfast at Willow Valley. The BEST part about the Hotel, and what we will look back on with very fond memories, was the care we were shown by the Hotel personnel. One in particular (Anna) treated us with great curtesy and consideration. I felt like we were dealing with a close relative. We have family in the Lancaster area and this is now our official 'home-away-from-home'. Thank you, Double Tree...and thank you, Anna. :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were thrilled with our stay. My husband and I had our three year old with us. We stopped at Hershey on our way. The hotel was an easy 40 minutes from the park. Our main purpose was for Dutch Wonderland which was only 10 minutes away. From the moment we walked in the front door, we were impressed with how friendly everyone was and with the charm of the hotel. We were pleased that it was updated and clean yet had the "old school" feel of a family resort...activities for children, indoor pool/play area, duck pond, playground area... We tried the family restaurant buffet for breakfast and dinner during our three day stay. We ate out for our other meals as the food wasn't particularly good and mostly fried/heavy. If you were going to do any meal here, I would suggest breakfast because they do make fresh eggs for you. Overall, we were pleased with the value and plan to return again!

Room Tip: Eat at the cafe in the hotel and not the buffet or eat off grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandTerps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

At the last minute we decided to leave 1 day early for our preplanned 6 day road trip which encompassed a family wedding at Bedford Springs and a stop in Lancaster on the way there and another stop in Lancaster on the way home. I hit one of the online bidding sites to book lodging and lo and behold was awarded with a one night stay at Willow Valley Resorts. On our annual trips to Lancaster, I never stayed there before. I was thrilled with our deal. We spend all of our time in the Intercourse/Bird in Hand area and I thought this location would be inconvenient. However, it was less than a 10 minute ride to that area and well worth it. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and given delicious cookies. We were not treated any differently by the front desk staff as sometimes can happen when booking through a bidding website. Our room was wonderful. We were booked into a room one level down from right off the main lobby. The bedding was sumptous, the full size sofa was great to relax on, the flat screen TV was awesome. We got some outdoor pool time in and the pool was fabulous. The bathroom was spacious and clean and I loved the granite tops everywhere and the separate fridge/coffee area. I also LOVED the Wolfgang Puck pod coffee maker in the room! I want to thank you for participating with the online bidding websites because I have now discovered you, and I intend to only stay here on our future Lancaster visits!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is the second time I have been to what is collectively referred to as the Willow Valley Resort. It is a beautiful area and centrally located to not only Pennsylvania Dutch country and Hershey, but also Baltimore and Philadelphia.

When I last visited, ten years ago, I stayed next door at the other hotel, but visited this one and found it to be quite nice. We returned for a little family reunion and it was the perfect place for our group. Although we had snafus with two of the rooms, they were remedied quickly. Overall, we found the rooms to be quite spacious, well appointed and very clean. The indoor "water park" area was a great place for our three-year-old nephew to spend every minute that we were at the resort! We were impressed by the calendar of activities each day, although we were unable to take advantage of them because we were trying to cram so many other things into a four-day weekend. We did have time to take a tour of the Amish country, which I believe was coordinated by the hotel, and it was fantastic. Other members of the group were also able to take a wagon ride offered one evening. Although there is a small charge for the ride, it is apparently very enjoyable, particularly for children.

We did not partake of the meal plan that is available, but did eat at the smorgasboard frequently throughout our stay. The food, while not five-star, is very good and the price was extremely reasonable (even without the meal plan). We also ate at the Cafe 2400 and found the food to be eclectic, but very good. The prices in the lounge were also surprisingly reasonable considering it was within the hotel.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would recommend this resort to both families and couples who might be traveling to the Lancaster/Hershey area.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room one one of the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MVThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverstraw, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The hotel was very nice and the employees were very friendly and helpful. I was not a fan of the food served in Cafe 24 Hundred however.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayzy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My family and I stayed 3 nights at the Doubltree Resort in Lancaster. The hotel was very attractive inside, and the rooms looked like they had recently been updated. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly. They also have a golf course on site (I think it's 9 holes), but I didn't get a chance to play. It looked like it was in good shape, though.

The hotel is located a few minutes away from downtown Lancaster, and it's also just a few minutes away from several of the local attractions like the Strasburg Train Museum, several small towns, Amish country, etc. It was a bit confusing trying to get on the freeway westbound to Hershey, but we eventually got there. We thought the hotel was in a great location, and worth the few minutes' drive. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, by the way.

There are two pools on the property - one large "normal" pool, and a mini-water park with some slides and stuff in the area next to it.

We ate breakfast each morning in the hotel restaurant. The staff there were very friendly. Not only was there standard breakfast food on the buffet, there were cooked to order eggs as well. Very similar to an Embassy Suites Breakfast. My only complaint - and it wasn't the hotel's fault - was the number of screaming, unruly kids in the restaurant each morning. I was amazed that the parents made no effort to stop their kids from screaming at the top of their lungs, banging dishes and silverware on the table, etc., but like I said, it wasn't the hotel's fault.

I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it for others. Maybe bring some ear plugs to breakfast:)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golferperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
5.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing