We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel spoiled by rude guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Spent three nights here with family for New Year's fun. Beautiful lobby and friendly staff, but we didn't get customary cookies on check in, not sure why? We had a king suite which was nicely decorated, very clean but a little on the small side. We didn't spend much time in the room so not really a big deal. Indoor carnival was lots of fun, kids enjoyed the inflatables and games (there were tons!), and of course had fun picking out prizes with their tickets. Web site advertised free popcorn and cotton candy, but it turns out none of the food was free and there was no cotton candy--kids were disappointed at that. Pool area was nice, and good to have kids' water playground separate from the regular pool for those that come without kids. Dining options are limited to one restaurant and lounge, with room service available. Food was good but nothing extraordinary.

New Year's Eve party was packed! Some hors d'oeuvres, chips, cheese & crackers, soda and cash bar. Unfortunately, DJ was so-so, played music that at times was not danceable, blew off people's requests, didn't transition well between songs. He was downright rude to our daughter's friend. We were told by another guest that they had a better DJ 2 yrs ago, so guess it changes from year to year. Nonetheless, balloon drop was cool, and we had fun!

Our biggest complaint is the bad manners of some of the other guests at the hotel for the festivities. It seems that many families come here year after year as groups and apparently they think their last names are Hilton and they can do whatever they want. For 2 of our 3 nights there, we barely slept because of the noise out in the hallways. Kids were running up and down the halls, adults kept their doors open so they could all visit each others' rooms and were talking, laughing and yelling VERY LOUDLY! Obviously because it's New Year's, you expect a party atmosphere, but there is no excuse for it going on until 3 am. This is a FAMILY NEW YEAR'S EVENT, and there are many people there with young children who don't all stay up all hours of the night. It was so loud that we could even hear the noise in the bedroom with the door closed. When asked to keep it down, one guest in particular wanted to know why she had to be quiet. In addition, there were packs of kids (some as young as five) roaming the halls at all times of day and night unsupervised, which shocks me to no end. The hotel is very large and full of strangers who could do God knows what with any of these kids. I'm not saying the hotel doesn't have security, but you can never be sure who is in the room next to you......Not to mention the kids are running around, yelling, blocking the halls, pushing all of the elevator buttons, etc, etc,---you get the picture. Unfortunately, this essentially spoiled our trip and as a result, we will probably never return. If guests like that come back year after year, it's not going to change.

I would recommend this hotel if you are going for any other reason: it's very clean, up to date and all staff we encountered were very friendly. The location is great and there's alot to do in the area. It's too bad we didn't enjoy it as much as we had hoped.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank char0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,559 - 1,565 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

We went there on the christmas break. The lobby was amazing with Palm trees in the atrium. We were greeted with warm cookies. Hotel clean. Lots of family friendly activities. Food could definitely be better. Friendly staff but they could be more educated about activities since there was no concierge. The kids loved the pools. There were 2. One for the little kids with fun slides well attended with lifeguard. The pools were the highlight of he stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dandoona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Arrived an hour before check-in and room was ready. We were greeted with a smile and the warm cookies were an unexpected bonus! We had visited this hotel before during a wedding reception for the holidays, so knew it would be decorated beautifully. The room was updated, clean, and no complaints about the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, as requested. After our stay, we visited the bakery next door and purchased some home made goodies for family members. It was centrally located and easy to access downtown Lancaster, but allowed us a quiet night's rest. We would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpanishTeacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Great place for family. the indoor swimming pool with water slide for kids is fantastic. Rooms are large and extremely quiet. Restaurant service is a little slow, but food is good

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiekiwi_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

All I can say is what pleasure it was to stay at this hotel. We will stay again without second thoughts. It's spotless, cleaner than clean. Go visit Annie Celotto at the front desk. Boy she was always happy. Always gave great information. She always went over and beyond. Also, the warm chocolate chip cookies was just the beginning for a weekend of treats offered at this resort. I could go on and on. Take my word for it. Go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichP636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My husband and I just checked in this hotel yesterday for a short (2 day/1 night) stay. We were really looking for a very beautiful and a very clean place to relax with "suite" accomodations, heated pool(s), and fitness facilities. WE FOUND IT AT THE DOUBLE TREE RESORT BY HILTON AT WILLOW VALLEY IN LANCASTER!!!

The excellent (extremely comfortable king bed and whirlpool suite) overlooked a gorgeous wedding/banquet area (which we could see from our large window since this gorgeous venue was the floor below us). An absolutely beautiful wedding reception took place yesterday evening at this hotel and it is an excellent venue for this kind of occasion.

By the way...when you arrive at the hotel, you are greeted with a (large, delicious) warm cookie and they do their best to accomodate you immediately. We requested an "extended checkout" this morning and they were able to accomodate our requests. The staff is very wonderful and very friendly and they truly do what it takes to make your stay fulfilling.

I strongly suggest that - especially if you do not have a lot of time to spend at this hotel during your stay - then choose the "Smorgasbord Package" option. It is an excellent idea. The food for this package is provided by the Willow restaurant immediately next door to the hotel. Fantastic (and plentiful) food and plenty of different food choices for dinner and for breakfast. Well worth the extra money when considering how much it costs to eat at nice restaurants. By choosing this package, you do not have to worry about finding a decent restaurant to drive to/to travel to during your stay. You already have this right at your fingertips.

Like everyone else. I work hard but I am a "spoiled brat" when it comes to choosing a hotel and having the best of all worlds available at my fingertips. Therefore, this hotel is an excellent match for my "spoiled brat" mentality when it comes to hotels and entertainment. EXCELLENT AND I LOOK FORWARD TO GOING BACK AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: Upgrading to a suite is an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaDelanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Visited Double Tree Resort for a Class Reunion Friday 3pm thru Sunday 12 Noon. Very well run Resort; very cordial; very accommodating; great food; quality facility. My wife, Lori, was in charge of the arrangements for this reunion. We were provided a meeting room with separate banquet room on Saturday evening. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: Some rooms are suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
819 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
977 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster East at The Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: £92 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing