We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is a great choice for families visiting the Lancaster area. The rooms are spacious and well maintained, we thought the rate we booked was pretty reasonable for mid-April, when most NJ schools had spring break. We stayed in a room that overlooks the indoor courtyard. The indoor pools, specifically the children's section, are also well maintained and the towels replenished fairly quickly. We loved going around the Amish countryside, so many wonderful, friendly and nice people. We definitely recommend DoubleTree and a visit to Lancaster, PA!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtwooNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thank you for the recommendation! Our facility is great for families and I'm happy to read your's enjoyed their visit. Looking forward to your next stay, Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; koconnor@willowval.com, (717) 464-7503
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    430
    183
    53
    40
See reviews for
929
228
17
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We thought it was a very nice hotel. Breakfast in restaurant was very good! Service there was good. Had a nice time. Pool water in the indoor adult pool was rather cold, though. Children's pool was heated. Jacuzzi tub in pool area was very good. Buffet restaurant across street had good food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevators on your floor. We had an interior room facing the ball room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently. I'm happy to read you enjoyed our breakfast and pool facilities. Our pools are all heated so I'm surprised you found the adult pool chilly. Please let me know when you traveled and I can look in to any issues we may have been experiencing with the pool heater. Thank you again and I hope you will stay with us soon!

Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; koconnor@willowval.com, (717) 464-7503
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Made reservations here so we could go to Sight and Sound Theater. Maybe a 10 minute drive. Also close to Strasburg. Room was big. Ended up with a King with whirlpool tub. Only problem as someone else mentioned was the A/C was loud. First night did not notice the fan was selected to on and ran all night and made some kind of whistling noise. Next night we cooled it off well during the day and then did not need it at night. Much better. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSHS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

If you remember the original resort it was great. Our family stayed there about 2 times a year and threw some larger parties there for family events. Although the building has the same look and feel it has changed. It is now much more holiday inn atmosphere. We tried it this weekend and wont be going back. We already booked our family event elsewhere and recommended others do the same. Remember sunday brunch at the palm court? Its gone. Ok so we just went to the other side for breakfast - but that is getting torn down next month. Remember good food - its gone, i can get this same menu anywhere now. I guess the biggest eye opener was the total abandonment of values. They serve alcohol now - not a problem really i can drink or not drink it phases me little. But when i show up in the dining room sat night and the hostess ask me wife and 2 kids under 5 if we want to sit in the bar??? Thats just someone training her to direct customers there by default because of higher margins on dollars spent. So sad. Its a chain now. Stay away plenty of other places to eat and stay in the area that arent and nice. Willow valley was the top independent destination imo. Now its middle of the road so shop around.

The rooms are clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBSBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thank you for being a long time customer. I'm sorry to read you had a poor experience recently. In 2010, we converted our Atrium building to a DoubleTree and updated our restaurant to include a lounge and menu dining. Sunday Brunch in Palm Court was discontinued (with the exception of holidays) in January 2010. Despite all these changes, DoubleTree Lancaster is still owned and operated by the Thomas Family and still holds values very high. I would be happy to further discuss your visit when you have a few minutes: Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; koconnor@willowval.com, (717) 464-7503
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed for one night in this hotel. The reception staff were helpful and efficient and check-in was quick. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly. The room was clean and large with two queen beds. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a shower with good water pressure. The breakfast buffet included in our rate was good and had a variety of food. I would definitely stay here again if we are visitng Lancaster.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luray, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My hubby & I just got back from a 2 night stay at the Double Tree Resort. Check in to the hotel was quick & painless...and they even give you some yummy warm choc. chip cookies when you check in too.

Hotel is a lot bigger than what it looks like as you first come in. Big ball room in the center of the hotel, very pretty. Room was very clean & smelled good. Beds & Pillows were super comfy...wish I could have taken them home! Pool area was nice & clean. Indoor water park looked like fun for kids!

We went to the bar in the hotel, Cafe 24 Hundred, on Friday night. Bartenders were very nice & made awesome drinks!! Nothing worse than paying $8 for a mixed drink & having it taste like coolaid. The girls at the bar knew what they were doing! :) Bar was not very big, but it was clean & cozy. Nice place to go if you want to drink & not have to worry about having a D.D.

Hotel is about 30-40 minutes away from the 'Amish Country' & Hershey Park. About 10-15 minutes away from the Lancaster Tanger Outlet area. We enjoyed our stay & would deff. stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We are a family of 5 so room size is important. The room had 2 queen beds, pull out sofa (which we did not use), Coffee table and Desk and there was still room left for a pack & play and the kids to move around and play. Although the kids really enjoyed the pool and the arcade and spent most of their time there. The Hotel was clean and updated the staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations. On site food was very good but close to offsite resturants and shops. I have found with other hotels the bed have been too hard but not here the beds were confortable (although I like a very soft bed these beds were not very soft but not hard either)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BuccieroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
5.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing