We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the family, but a tough time sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We started off looking for a simple, affordable place to stay near Harrisburg or Hershey, but found this Doubletree -- still affordable, but offering much more than we anticipated. The kids loved the indoor pool and indoor water park, as well as the free magic show at night. There's also a crafts room and other activities throughout the day. The restaurant was able to handle a large to-go order quickly and offered a nice breakfast buffet the next morning. The suites met our sleeping arrangements perfectly. If we go during the summer next time, we could use the 9-hole golf course and/or basketball courts.

Unfortunately, only one person in our family of four slept well the night we were there. The heating/AC system sounded like it was on it's last legs, wheezing through the night. The air was incredible dry (I realize it's winter and the weather gets that way, but I don't remember it being as much of an issue in other hotels). And the TVs in rooms keep a very bright light on, even when the TV is turned off. The light is bright enough to illuminate the room, necessitating someone to either unplug the TV or cover it with something.

We'll definitely give the hotel another chance -- it's got too much going for it to allow one night's bad sleep to outweigh the positives.

Room Tip: Third-floor rooms are on the lobby-level. If you're on that floor, make sure you get far from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin O, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

I'd like to start with a huge thank you for the opportunity to serve you again in spite of the minor things that went wrong during your stay. When you have a few minutes, please let me know what room you stayed in so our maintenance team can service the HVAC unit. Thank you for staying with us, and again, for coming back. If there is anything I can do to further assist you, please let me know: Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; (717) 464-7503, koconnor@willowval.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,393 - 1,399 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Arrived early and was able to get into our room. Front desk was friendly and efficient. Whole family loved the cookies. The "family room" was large and perfect for having two teens. We hung out at the very large indoor pool area for the day and the next morning. There is a great pizza place across the street and many families got take out and were eating poolside The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff wonderful. We just wanted a 24 hour getaway with the kids to swill and have fun as a family and that we did. We will definately come back for another visit winter visit.

Room Tip: We were next to a linnen closet so next time I would ask for a room not next to linnen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin O, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Hi John! We are glad to read your family enjoyed a quick 24 hour getaway to our facility. If there is anything I can do to help you with your next visit, please let me know: Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; (717) 464-7503, koconnor@willowval.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The hotel was very nice and clean, the room was great and the pool is awesome but I probably will pick another hotel next time I stay.
a. they charge for wireless internet in the room even though they advertise "Free" internet. Yes there is free internet ... in the lobby. If you want it in your room you will be forced to pay $5 a day and they won't tell you it's free if you go down to the lobby unless you ask. I paid the fee but there are plenty of hotels of equal quality in the area that are just as good and don't charge for internet. Although they do warn you before charging you , the advertising is misleading at best.
b. The towels are high quality cotton but the toilet paper is the thinnest cheapest they could buy, this may seem petty but it's the small things that make a hotel quality instead of just average.
c. The toilet in our room ran on and on unless you played with the handle or opened the tank and jiggled it. Yes we could have complained to the management at the time but it was easier to just keep jiggling it then to change rooms, just another example of the little things that are taken care of by good management and let go by poor management.
d. When we used the jacuzzi in our room for the first time the jets spit a cloud of black debris from the pipes into the water. Again it's something that only happened once but should be checked by the staff periodically so that customers don't have to experience it.

So all in all I would recommend you find a similarly priced hotel out of the hundreds in the area but if you do choose the doubletree don't expect it to be the "Hilton" experience just expect a nice average clean room with great towels and a nice pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xfsriddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin O, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility on TripAdvisor. I'd like to respond to your points and hopefully have the opportunity to speak with you. A) We have recently upgraded our internet system and there is a charge for wifi in your guest room. The webpage gives you two price/speed options when signing up and you have to select which rate you choose to pay. We are happy to provide free internet access in the public areas and any member of our team can give you the complimentary code. B) Glad to hear you enjoyed the towels! They are very soft. Regarding the toilet paper, our housekeeping staff can always provide you with additional rolls if necessary. C) We wish you would have told management about the running toilet. Our maintenance team could have fixed it while you were sightseeing or having dinner. There would be no need to move rooms. But, if we don't know there is a problem, we cannot fix it. D) Our maintenance team will look into the jacuzzi issue you ran into. Please contact me when you have a chance so I know what room number you were in and we can fix these "little things": Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; (717) 464-7503, koconnor@willowval.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

You are going to be chared for internet connection in your room. You will be charged per device you want connectivity to. Two laptops two charges ad a notebook three charges. The staff was wonderful accomodations were clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin O, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

We recently installed a new wireless internet system at our property so our guests will have a better and more reliable experience with our wi fi. We do still offer complimentary internet access in the lobby, restaurant and all public areas. When guests log on to the internet in their rooms, they are prompted regarding the charges. I would be happy to speak with you if that was not the case during your recent visit. Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; (717) 464-7503, koconnor@willowval.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We where just there again for another yr and this yr was a disappointment. The rooms getting older and they are letting them get run down.The time we where there it snowed and they couldn't spread alittle rock salt down on a skating rink parking lot if your going to have a Hotel you will have expenses. They did remember all the taxes on my bill though. Smarten up Double tree!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotigers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin O, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Hi Gotigers2011! I would be happy to speak with you regarding your recent stay and what exactly was not clean during your visit. The Hilton "Quality Assurance" Inspector came through our property just last week and we scored an "outstanding" on all aspects of our property including cleanliness, appearance, guest rooms etc. so I'm a little surprised you felt our property was getting run down. I look forward to speaking with you so we can make sure all our guests rooms are up to the highest Hilton and Willow Valley standards: Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; (717) 464-7503, koconnor@willowval.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is a great hotel and a GREAT value. Frankly it's way more than I expected especially for the price. The only problem was the inconsistency of the food at the restaurant - sometimes ok, sometimes poor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin O, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Glad to read you found great value with your stay at our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again soon. I'll share your comments regarding our restaurant with our Executive Chef and Restaurant manager. Thank you for your feedback! Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; koconnor@willowval.com, 717-464-7503

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed at the Doubletree last month and will be there again this week. I was amazed at the quality & beauty of this hotel, especially(No Offense) in Lancaster. It is a very modern hotel with all the emmenities. It has an amazing 5 story open dining room with the inside rooms, like vintage apartments up the side walls, Not very much privacy to the diners though, but the huge palm trees reminded me of the Floridian at Disney. The rates are reasonable and the service was excellent. I only had breakfast there, so cannot speak towards the food at the restaurant, but looking forward to my return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin O, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for your continued business and taking time to share your great experiences with the TripAdvisor community. If I can be of any assistance during any trip to our facility, please let me know: Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; koconnor@willowval.com, 717-464-7503

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
847 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
992 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: £97 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing