We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is NOT our Willow Valley.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“This is NOT our Willow Valley.”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Let me first state that we have stayed at the "original" Willow Valley at least a dozen times and have had many enjoyable and memorable times. We recently traveled to this hotel for a long weekend. Upon checking into the "new" Doubletree/Willow Valley, the welcoming homey feel is gone. The lobby has a cold, corporate feel to it; apparently they are trying to entice the business traveler/conventions. The gift shop in the lobby was gone being replaced with a business center. There was a convention going on during our stay and also a family reunion. Each event had separate dining arrangements so they really did not "take over" the resort.

Upon check in we were greeted with the warm cookies as promised. Again, they try but there was NO welcoming feel which the "old" Willow Valley possessed. The room was fine; nice king sized bed, whirlpool tub, refrigerator, flat screened TV and plenty of plush towels. The down side, the VERY NOISY air conditioning unit in the room. It literally woke you out of a sound sleep upon turning on and off. For this reason alone, we will NOT return to the Doubletree, it was that bad.

I cannot comment on the restaurant at the Doubletree as we dined at the Willow Valley Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucie117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    446
    190
    59
    43
See reviews for
978
240
18
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Great hotel! Big, clean rooms with great beds. Excellent restaurant. Good pool. Beautiful grounds. Close to outlet malls and other Lancaster County attractions. Will stay here again and again! The cookies at check-in were great!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fungaw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

What a nice surprise! This hotel was wonderful! A check in with warm cookies. Beautiful facility with great lobby, rooms, etc. The pool is perfect for kids of all ages. A waterslide area my 6/10 year olds loved as well as a very large indoor pool. Close to food, highway, drug store and so on! I tracel to PA 4-6 times per year and this is my best find yet! Can't wait to come again. Great beds, linens, TVs, in room fridge and plenty of towels. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Central Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Traveling with two young children, we were looking for a property with activities that would keep our son occupied while his little sister took her daytime naps. We are happy to report that between the indoor water playground, duck pound, outdoor playground and even a corn maze, our son was well entertained. However, he did complain some about the water temperature of the indoor water playground, which needed to be about 10-15 degrees warmer. Based on the chattering teeth seen around the pool, he wasn't the only one to find the water chilly. In addition to the amenities for the kids, we were mostly pleased with our suite, which was both roomy and comfortable. Our only complaints with regards to the room were the A/C unit, which was loud enough to wake you from a sound sleep when it came on and the walls which were thin enough to let you hear all of the activity in the hallways and adjoining rooms. Perhaps we caught housekeeping on a bad day, because we returned to our room to find the beds made, but our trash cans remained full. Otherwise, the service was very good from check-in to check-out. We opted for the Doubletree Bed and Breakfast Special and enjoyed breakfast at the resort's Cafe 24 Hundred both mornings. The breakfast buffet they offered consisted of numerous hot items (eggs, breakfast meats, pancakes, oatmeal and potatoes), fresh fruit, breakfast breads, pastries and cereals. While we didn't take them up on the offer, the staff, including the chef, was willing to prepare anything we wanted that wasn't available on the buffet. The resort is located south of Downtown Lancaster, so those wishing to visit the more popular attractions north and east of town (Dutch Wonderland, the Rockvale Outlets, American Music Theatre, etc.) will find the most direct route to those locations from the resort is a 20+ min trip via Downtown Lancaster (at least according to our GPS).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RotzAndFrotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed July 2 and 3, pulling in late, late Friday night. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. Our ajoining rooms were obviously new. The beds were great as was the shower and bathroom. The carpet was clean enough to walk on in bare feet! We were charmed by the warm cookies (a Doubletree standard) and the ever changing fruit water in the lobby. While we were there, 3 couples held their reception in the Palm Court which is a beautiful venue. The only thing not so good was the air conditioning on July 3 -- it went off early in the day but was cranking full blast by early evening. The breakfast buffet was also very good -- many cooked to order items along with the standards. All in all, we were extremely impressed by the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbell2547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

we had stayed at this hotel when the entire property was the willow valley inn. we had always enjoyed our stay there and hoped that it would still be as enjoyable. it was actually better! upon check in, the woman at the front desk was exceptionally pleasant and we received our delicious and warm cookies. we had booked three rooms, at different times, so we were aware that we would not be close together which wasn't a problem. two of the rooms, however, faced into the atrium and we decided to see if any outside facing rooms were available. there was no problem and our request was met with the same pleasant manner as when we had checked in minutes earlier. the rooms are beautiful! we had one suite and two double queen rooms. the room that i stayed in was a corner room and was very spacious. the bathroom was huge and loaded with upscale amenties and towels. having a hair dryer and iron/ironing board in the room made it so convenient...not to mention easier to pack! the beds were very comfortabel but personally i prefer a firmer mattress. plenty of outlets available especially near the desk for various chargers and laptop. free wi-fi in the rooms is always a plus. the building and grounds are impeccibly maintained. the only complaint that i have is there should be adult only hours at the pool. any time, day or night, that we went down to use the pool, it was LOADED with kids. it would have been nice to enjoy a swim without all of the noise, splashing and kids jumping into the pool without looking and almost landing on top of us. perhaps 2-4 and 9-11 pm would be good hours to offer for adults only. we have stayed at other hotels and campgrounds that offered this and it was a great benefit and made our trips that much more enjoyable. overall, i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. plus, the rates were great!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileysmom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarloaf, pa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Great hotel, and excellent service was provided. It does look new and I am sure that has something to do with it. I would highly recommend staying here if you are going to lancaster for a night or two. You get to use Willows Valleys pools as well as your own. That makes it 3 pools and 2 hottubs! Very neat waterpark inside doubletree for your kids. They will absolutely have a blast there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremye83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,915 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
776 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing