We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This was a new and clean hotel that was perfect for a place to sleep and have a few meals while in Lancaster. The pool is a great place for kids to waste hours of time in too. We have to go back next month and we're planning on staying there again. I do have a few words of advice for anybody who does plan on staying there:

1. Follow the hotel's driving directions because your GPS will take you through the ghetto. The hotel is in a nice area but there are areas on either side that you may not want to drive through at night with your family and a car full of luggage. Hotel directions will get you around that.

2. If you're traveling with little kids make sure you get an outside room. The inside room over looks a ballroom. There was a wedding going on the night we checked in and the DJ sounded like he was in the room with us. The wedding ended promptly at 10:00 but we had small children with us and we didn't even bother trying to put them to bed before it was over. Other than that the room was extremely quiet.

3. Don't be afraid to ask housekeeping for stuff. When we checked in we had 1 bath towel. Next day we had 2. We explained to housekeeping that wasn't enough for 4 people. She told us she didn't have enough towels but eventually gave them to us. Just seemed like an odd thing for a hotel to fight with their guests about.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and will stay in again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SfromJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    446
    191
    59
    43
See reviews for
979
241
18
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Stayed here for the first time on 8/18 with our 2 small children to be near Dutch Wonderland, a 15 minute drive away.

We checked in and played at the amazing hotel pool for two hours. There are two indoor pools, a regular pool where most of the adults were hanging out and a children's waterpark area with two slides and a bunch of sprinklers. The pool was a very comfortable temperature and we had a hard time dragging our 3yo and 1yo away. The lifeguards were really on top of things. The children's pool area was pretty full on an overcast Wednesday evening...I can't imagine what it's like on weekends.

Our king room had a whirlpool tub that the kids liked and a shower with amazing water pressure that I loved. The room was large enough for the four of us, with the sofa-bed for our 3yo, and a pack-n-play provided by the hotel for our 1yo. This arrangement worked only because the kids were so exhausted from the pool and a few evening hours at Dutch Wonderland that they passed out as soon as they hit the pillow; otherwise I'd recommend going for a suite. We had a mini-fridge, but no microwave.

We ordered room service for both dinner and breakfast; dinner took a while but breakfast was really quick. The food was good, the prices were reasonable, and it was much easier for us to have our kids run around the hotel room than attempting the restaurant downstairs.

The hotel is clearly kid friendly, with organized activities for the little ones, including a craft room, a few arcade machines, movies (which we didn't see), and of course the pools.

The hotel itself is lovely and looks like it was designed for wedding receptions. The staff were friendly and seemed really patient about providing suggestions and directions for various food options, drugstores, etc.

The only annoying things about the hotel were 1) the slighly noisy air conditioning unit in the room which I noticed but didn't keep me from sleeping and 2) guests in the hotel seemed unwilling to return luggage carts.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hzg74c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Let me first state that we have stayed at the "original" Willow Valley at least a dozen times and have had many enjoyable and memorable times. We recently traveled to this hotel for a long weekend. Upon checking into the "new" Doubletree/Willow Valley, the welcoming homey feel is gone. The lobby has a cold, corporate feel to it; apparently they are trying to entice the business traveler/conventions. The gift shop in the lobby was gone being replaced with a business center. There was a convention going on during our stay and also a family reunion. Each event had separate dining arrangements so they really did not "take over" the resort.

Upon check in we were greeted with the warm cookies as promised. Again, they try but there was NO welcoming feel which the "old" Willow Valley possessed. The room was fine; nice king sized bed, whirlpool tub, refrigerator, flat screened TV and plenty of plush towels. The down side, the VERY NOISY air conditioning unit in the room. It literally woke you out of a sound sleep upon turning on and off. For this reason alone, we will NOT return to the Doubletree, it was that bad.

I cannot comment on the restaurant at the Doubletree as we dined at the Willow Valley Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucie117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Great hotel! Big, clean rooms with great beds. Excellent restaurant. Good pool. Beautiful grounds. Close to outlet malls and other Lancaster County attractions. Will stay here again and again! The cookies at check-in were great!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fungaw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

What a nice surprise! This hotel was wonderful! A check in with warm cookies. Beautiful facility with great lobby, rooms, etc. The pool is perfect for kids of all ages. A waterslide area my 6/10 year olds loved as well as a very large indoor pool. Close to food, highway, drug store and so on! I tracel to PA 4-6 times per year and this is my best find yet! Can't wait to come again. Great beds, linens, TVs, in room fridge and plenty of towels. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Central Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Traveling with two young children, we were looking for a property with activities that would keep our son occupied while his little sister took her daytime naps. We are happy to report that between the indoor water playground, duck pound, outdoor playground and even a corn maze, our son was well entertained. However, he did complain some about the water temperature of the indoor water playground, which needed to be about 10-15 degrees warmer. Based on the chattering teeth seen around the pool, he wasn't the only one to find the water chilly. In addition to the amenities for the kids, we were mostly pleased with our suite, which was both roomy and comfortable. Our only complaints with regards to the room were the A/C unit, which was loud enough to wake you from a sound sleep when it came on and the walls which were thin enough to let you hear all of the activity in the hallways and adjoining rooms. Perhaps we caught housekeeping on a bad day, because we returned to our room to find the beds made, but our trash cans remained full. Otherwise, the service was very good from check-in to check-out. We opted for the Doubletree Bed and Breakfast Special and enjoyed breakfast at the resort's Cafe 24 Hundred both mornings. The breakfast buffet they offered consisted of numerous hot items (eggs, breakfast meats, pancakes, oatmeal and potatoes), fresh fruit, breakfast breads, pastries and cereals. While we didn't take them up on the offer, the staff, including the chef, was willing to prepare anything we wanted that wasn't available on the buffet. The resort is located south of Downtown Lancaster, so those wishing to visit the more popular attractions north and east of town (Dutch Wonderland, the Rockvale Outlets, American Music Theatre, etc.) will find the most direct route to those locations from the resort is a 20+ min trip via Downtown Lancaster (at least according to our GPS).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RotzAndFrotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed July 2 and 3, pulling in late, late Friday night. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. Our ajoining rooms were obviously new. The beds were great as was the shower and bathroom. The carpet was clean enough to walk on in bare feet! We were charmed by the warm cookies (a Doubletree standard) and the ever changing fruit water in the lobby. While we were there, 3 couples held their reception in the Palm Court which is a beautiful venue. The only thing not so good was the air conditioning on July 3 -- it went off early in the day but was cranking full blast by early evening. The breakfast buffet was also very good -- many cooked to order items along with the standards. All in all, we were extremely impressed by the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbell2547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,921 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
777 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing