We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This hotel and the grounds are beautiful. There are 2 good restaurants and an excellent buffet. The rooms are clean and quiet. Beautiful indoor pools, one with a waterslide. The location was convenient to all sight-seeing. The hotel offers a free sight-seeing tour with stops at local shopping areas, and farms.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,641)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,599 - 1,605 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

Recently stayed 3 nights during two different weeks at this "new" property.

It is nice to have a Hilton property like this near Lancaster as I am an HHonors diamond member and there are not many choices in the area. The hotel has a really nice lobby, checkin staff was very nice. The rooms are very spacious, the bedding very comfortable and all the rooms have free internet and brand new flat screen TV's. The only issue with the TV's is that they don't have a really good feed, appears to be some old satellite signal, so don't expect a high def picture or anything like that.

There is a nine-hole golf course on the property which looks pretty neat (haven't played yet) There is also a really cool water park and indoor pool. So we will certainly be back for a points stay over the holidays to bring the kids in for a little mini vacation.

Cafe 2400 is great for lunch and dinner. And the bar is really nice with a solid beer selection on tap. They have a nice menu and everything is fresh. Still not sure why they can't do something better for breakfast. Perhaps because so many HHonors Diamond members eat for free in the morning??

Now for the negative -

Breakfast - ugggh! I had the "Bed and Breakfast" plan which gave me a free cert for the "buffet". Now, if I'm staying at a Hilton Garden Inn, I get a nice buffet with eggs cooked to order and so forth. This "buffet" was more like the Hampton Inn with a few rubbery items that looked like they were all microwaved. Not worth the extra price paid AT ALL. I did have a bartender tell me later in the week that the cert is good for the big buffet over at Willow Tree restaurant. I don't know how true that is, but who wants to have to get in their car or walk all the way over to another complex just to eat in the morning? That's ridiculous.

Coffee - In order to get a cup of coffe in the morning, you have to go into the sit down restaurant and order it. Again, this is ridiculous. Even in major Hilton chains, they have a kiosk with Starbucks or something like that. Even if you do have to purchase it, at least the option is there. Pretty bad when you have to walk to McDonalds across the street to get a good cup of coffee in the morning.

Air Conditioning - I stayed in 3 different rooms over the last two weeks. I had one room where the air conditioning rattled all night. The second room it made a loud CLUNK every time it turned on and off, which also woke me up. The room I had last night didn't make any noise at all, then again, the outside temp and the building temp were close enough together that it didn't run much. They really need to upgrade some of the AC units in this place.


Overall I think the good outweighs the bad here. The hotel and the grounds are really nice. They just need to fix some minor issues in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at the Doubletree, previously the Atrium Building in Willow Valley. I had selected this instead of the Inn and Suites because we wanted to be in the same building as the waterpark for our 2 younger ones, and we could now get Hilton Honors Points.

Upon check-in, we each got a warm cookie, which everyone enjoyed and was a nice touch after a long car ride. The lobby does have a more corporate feel now than previously. The gift shop is gone; replaced by a business area or something.

The room was very nice, as usual. Comfortable beds and nice and roomy. Pool area is still the same. The place is as clean as it always was.

My only complaint was the breakfast buffet at the Cafe Twenty Four Hundred. I had booked the bed and breakfast package, which I have always done in the past. We thought the restaurant would be the same as it was. It is not and we were terribly disappointed. The breakfast buffet there, if you can even call it that, doesn't have a third of the food it did when the resort was not under the name, Doubletree. This breakfast buffet is comparable to the complimentary one you get in a hotel normally. Except, it is not complimentary. Of course, the following morning, we did not eat here and instead went over to the Smorgasbord next door at the Inn and Suites part of the resort, and we were delighted to see it was still our same, favorite breakfast buffet.

Overall, I would stay here again, but the "new" Willow Valley has lost its homey appeal and turned more corporate-like. This one doesn't set itself apart from any other hotels like it used to. I am thinking next time, we may stay at the Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachgirls77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This was a new and clean hotel that was perfect for a place to sleep and have a few meals while in Lancaster. The pool is a great place for kids to waste hours of time in too. We have to go back next month and we're planning on staying there again. I do have a few words of advice for anybody who does plan on staying there:

1. Follow the hotel's driving directions because your GPS will take you through the ghetto. The hotel is in a nice area but there are areas on either side that you may not want to drive through at night with your family and a car full of luggage. Hotel directions will get you around that.

2. If you're traveling with little kids make sure you get an outside room. The inside room over looks a ballroom. There was a wedding going on the night we checked in and the DJ sounded like he was in the room with us. The wedding ended promptly at 10:00 but we had small children with us and we didn't even bother trying to put them to bed before it was over. Other than that the room was extremely quiet.

3. Don't be afraid to ask housekeeping for stuff. When we checked in we had 1 bath towel. Next day we had 2. We explained to housekeeping that wasn't enough for 4 people. She told us she didn't have enough towels but eventually gave them to us. Just seemed like an odd thing for a hotel to fight with their guests about.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and will stay in again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SfromJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Stayed here for the first time on 8/18 with our 2 small children to be near Dutch Wonderland, a 15 minute drive away.

We checked in and played at the amazing hotel pool for two hours. There are two indoor pools, a regular pool where most of the adults were hanging out and a children's waterpark area with two slides and a bunch of sprinklers. The pool was a very comfortable temperature and we had a hard time dragging our 3yo and 1yo away. The lifeguards were really on top of things. The children's pool area was pretty full on an overcast Wednesday evening...I can't imagine what it's like on weekends.

Our king room had a whirlpool tub that the kids liked and a shower with amazing water pressure that I loved. The room was large enough for the four of us, with the sofa-bed for our 3yo, and a pack-n-play provided by the hotel for our 1yo. This arrangement worked only because the kids were so exhausted from the pool and a few evening hours at Dutch Wonderland that they passed out as soon as they hit the pillow; otherwise I'd recommend going for a suite. We had a mini-fridge, but no microwave.

We ordered room service for both dinner and breakfast; dinner took a while but breakfast was really quick. The food was good, the prices were reasonable, and it was much easier for us to have our kids run around the hotel room than attempting the restaurant downstairs.

The hotel is clearly kid friendly, with organized activities for the little ones, including a craft room, a few arcade machines, movies (which we didn't see), and of course the pools.

The hotel itself is lovely and looks like it was designed for wedding receptions. The staff were friendly and seemed really patient about providing suggestions and directions for various food options, drugstores, etc.

The only annoying things about the hotel were 1) the slighly noisy air conditioning unit in the room which I noticed but didn't keep me from sleeping and 2) guests in the hotel seemed unwilling to return luggage carts.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hzg74c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Let me first state that we have stayed at the "original" Willow Valley at least a dozen times and have had many enjoyable and memorable times. We recently traveled to this hotel for a long weekend. Upon checking into the "new" Doubletree/Willow Valley, the welcoming homey feel is gone. The lobby has a cold, corporate feel to it; apparently they are trying to entice the business traveler/conventions. The gift shop in the lobby was gone being replaced with a business center. There was a convention going on during our stay and also a family reunion. Each event had separate dining arrangements so they really did not "take over" the resort.

Upon check in we were greeted with the warm cookies as promised. Again, they try but there was NO welcoming feel which the "old" Willow Valley possessed. The room was fine; nice king sized bed, whirlpool tub, refrigerator, flat screened TV and plenty of plush towels. The down side, the VERY NOISY air conditioning unit in the room. It literally woke you out of a sound sleep upon turning on and off. For this reason alone, we will NOT return to the Doubletree, it was that bad.

I cannot comment on the restaurant at the Doubletree as we dined at the Willow Valley Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucie117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Great hotel! Big, clean rooms with great beds. Excellent restaurant. Good pool. Beautiful grounds. Close to outlet malls and other Lancaster County attractions. Will stay here again and again! The cookies at check-in were great!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fungaw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
789 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 39 in Lancaster
1,936 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: £92 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing