We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find”

Rock Ford Plantation
Ranked #15 of 77 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rock Ford Plantation is the 18th Century mansion and estate of Revolutionary War General Edward Hand, who served as Adjutant to George Washington. Built circa 1794, over 90% of the original historic fabric of the house, including shutters, woodwork, floors and glass, is intact. During the guided tour of the mansion, visitors will learn about Edward Hand's personal and military history as well as the background of the mansion and the artifacts contained therein.
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We tried to find this site, lots of one way streets, and we were never able to get there.. Also you drive through a very sketchy neighborhood, because of these reasons it would be nice to have some exhibit signs thruout the area to help find the location

3  Thank mowog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

We are sorry that you experienced difficulty in finding Rock Ford Plantation. We are located on 33 acres of land surrounded by Lancaster County Central Park but within 5 minutes of downtown Lancaster. While there are many directional signs in the area, some GPS systems give slightly misleading directions to our site, especially via Strawberry Street. We continue to work with Lancaster City on improving the directional signage to our historic site. We hope you try to visit us again if you are in Lancaster County, and would recommend that you visit our website for further directions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

We took the Yule tour two days after Christmas. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The house and grounds are beautiful. This is one of the rare old homes were you can actually imagine what it was like to live in.

1  Thank Pinback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you very much for your recent review of Rock Ford regarding your visit during our Yuletide event. We are so happy that you had an enjoyable experience during Yuletide. Indeed, it does feel like General Hand and his family are still here, and our enthusiatic volunteers definitely help keep their spirits alive and well at Rock Ford. Welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Rock Ford is an amazing place to go to!!!!! The people are so nice there,and it is so neat to look at how it would of been about 200 years ago!!!!!! They have Tavern Night and there you can have dinner and play games! It is so much fun!!!! You can also have weddings there to! They offer food there if you do the tour! They also offer Sleepy Hollow Tour around Halloween!!! There are kids or adults in every room and they tell you facts about that room and what they would do and what they are doing. They also dress like they are part of the Hand family.

4  Thank jackmissy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you so much for your recent enthusiastic review of Rock Ford! We are so happy that you have enjoyed your experiences at our site and hope you will return ... and tell your friends. It was wonderful having you visit Rock Ford Plantation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Our family recently attended the last tavern night at Rock Ford Plantation. The food was the best! The decor in the candlelit barn was so pretty. We all had so much fun playing the 18th century games. It was more fun than traveling to Williamsburg and dining in their taverns! We can't wait until the next tavern night!

3  Thank michellelynnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you so much for your recent review of Rock Ford's 18th Century Tavern Night. We were so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the event and hope to see you at future events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Learned a lot about a special General to Washington. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. Plenty of space to wander about the property.

2  Thank Elvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review of Rock Ford Plantation. We are delighted that you had a wonderful visit and hope you come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Ford Plantation also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Rock Ford Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing