We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time with grandchildren”

The Lancaster Science Factory
Ranked #16 of 71 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the Lancaster Science Factory, a hands-on, interactive technology and science center in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. We invite you to come explore our exciting exhibits relating to the physical sciences, engineering, technology and mathematics.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun time with grandchildren”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Even though this place is geared for 7-13 year olds my 18 month and 3 year old enjoyed The Science Factory. The 3-year especially enjoyed the parachutes and whisper tunnel. The 18 month loved anything with balls. There are bathrooms and it is all on one level.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cinjebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    47
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for an 8 year old”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had some time to spare in Lancaster and my grandson loves science. This was a great place to spend a few hours. He spent a lot of time shooting up parachutes and moving marbles thru a machine. Take note to call ahead. The local schools visit in large groups and it can be busy. We just hit it right with a group leaving and had the place almost to ourselves. Parking is across the street.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic time!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I took our four kids here for a few hours on a Saturday, and we all had a blast. Lots of hands-on activities, good descriptions of the science behind each one. My favorite was the pipe of air that shot little parachutes up.

Helpful?
1 Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great educational activities”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a weekend trip to Lancaster and took the kids to the Science Factory. The kids and adults both loved it! It looks small when looking in, but the activities are plentiful and educational. There's many different types of science activities which kept the kids busy. They didn't want to read the explanations (which I wish they would) but enjoyed and became fascinated by some. Would definitely come back again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv2Travelw2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Science Fun”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Really cool museum. Worth it. A little bit small but there is a lot to explore with hands on activities. Expect to spend at least two hours there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lancaster Science Factory also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Lancaster Science Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing