We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Walking distance to shopping center, other interesting places to enjoy, New furniture and beds, enjoy the Lancaster view and weather. Excellent experience would definitely recommend and coming soon. Best services I experience from the reception until checkout.

Room Tip: We had double beds and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kaushik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    31
    34
    44
    71
See reviews for
75
65
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Priceline rates this as a 2 star hotel and I was really disappointed when I bid and got this hotel. I saw that they were renovating, so I had some hope that it would be ok.

We arrived when it was dark, but we could tell what we were in for. The parking lot was cluttered with old furniture, construction materials, etc. Checked in and was given room 132. I asked if it was one the renovated rooms and was told it was. We couldn't find the room so, desk staff showed us where it was. It had a masking tape number beside the door.

The carpet in the room and the wood tile had been renovated. The counter on the sink was new. The microwave and mini fridge looked brand new. The flat screen TV was an off brand and was small. The bedding and bed were definitely not new. The mattress was hard. The bedding had holes through it and looked old and worn. The shower had a new shower head.

Woke up the next morning to sunlight pouring in the blinds. No curtains and cheap blinds means we were wide awake at 6:45 am. As we were leaving I noticed the carpet in the building looked new. The hallways smelled like smoke, even though no smoking signs were posted. Stopped at the desk and told them about brightness in room and they left a sheet in the room for us to hang up over the window.

There was no phone in the room. Wi if worked great after we got the password. No one was at the front desk until 8 am in the mornings. Smelled coffee, but didn't see any "limited breakfast."

All in all, you get what you pay for and I learned never to go below 2 1/2 stars on Priceline. The best things about the hotel was the friendly and courteous staff and the location,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very Close to shopping center and Theater.
Property is renovating, New rooms are excellent and beautiful! I stayed here for a week end and it was lovely, and great experience in Lancaster. The room was clean and updated with granite counter tops and flat screen TV's.
Great customer service. Loved it!
Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Chris M,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We will proudly show your review to the remainder of the staff, so they know their work is not going unnoticed. We appreciate the honest feedback about the lancaster's favorite hotel. Travelodge Lancaster/ Strasburg.

Best
Dave G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This room was one of the very cleanest I have ever experienced. It is under construction. So the parking lot was a mess. Excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Lisa W,

Thank you for the positive feedback as we yearn to be one of Lancaster's premier boutique hotel. Thank you for allowing the chance to provide you with positive guest service and a clean room.

Yours in Travel,

Dave G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I would definitely take the time to come out to lancaster again and visit this inn and all of its surrounding attractions. Came to the sight and sound show, it's only three traffic lights away. Rooms were extremely spacious!!!! We loved the shower and amenities. They also have a swimming pool which will open in season. We stayed in room 132.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pratap 'Nana' M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with the Travelodge Lancaster/ Strasburg in Amish Country.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were very satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

The most positive feedback is your enthusiasm & love for our staff.
Very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.
I will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to them.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours in Travel,
Dave G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Ok so we spent a night here because we wanted to hit the Lancaster outlet centers, and finding a cheap room was a good way to get the shopping mission started early in the next day. Well.

We got what the check in clerk described as refurbished. And it might've been... kinda. The fixtures and floor in the bathroom were new. The hotel room walls were recently painted (it was kind of a weird industrial indoor stucco). There was a new tv, a small flat-screen no-name brand like you'd find at Walmart on Black Friday for $88. And there was a new hair dryer that barely blew out any air. I guess that was the refurbishment.

The bed/mattress were so old that Methusalah might have slept on it. The dresser was banged up, cracked and broken (to the point that one of the three drawers was inoperable). There was NO closet or wardrobe of any kind, not even a hook. So there was nowhere at all to hang even a single item of clothing or a jacket. The A/C unit was sloppily installed into the wall, in a cut-out that was not quite straight. There was no trash can, in the room or bathroom. There was an old dirty clock radio on the shabby nightstand. The towels in the bathroom were threadbare, 1/2 the size of a normal bath towel, and one of them had mystery stains all over it. There was no wifi as advertised, at least not in our room. There was no free breakfast as advertised, although I did see a box of mini-muffins in the lobby when I checked out. It was there the night before when we checked in, too. We left and went to IHOP.

I'm struggling for any positives. Um, the front desk people seemed pleasant enough. And the location is very close to the outlet shops. There.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MalteseFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
#24 of 38 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
#25 of 38 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
#27 of 38 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#30 of 38 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
0.5 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#23 of 38 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg

Property: Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg
Address: 2390 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1132 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the pet friendly Red Roof Lancaster - Strasburg hotel your home base for fun in Amish Country. Our Lancaster hotel is just off Highway 30, convenient to attractions like the Amish Village and Amish Farm and House, as well as live-entertainment venues like the American Music Theatre and Dutch Apple Dinner Theatre. Your kids will love the pony rides and barnyard animals at Kitchen Kettle Village, just 5 miles from our hotel. We offer free WiFi and a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lancaster - Strasburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing