We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Crosby, Texas
1 review
“Worst hotel experience ever!”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Booked reservations. Traveled 500 miles, arrived noon. "No rooms ready,we were full last night."...then, Kirsten informed us.. NO ONE will be checked in before 4PM. Several housekeeping staff "relaxing" in/around lobby area.? Couldn't one get a room cleaned? Kirsten, did not offer to get one room ready if we would wait. Kept repeating "check in is at 4." So, we decided to cancel. Desk clerk Kirsten, then inform us we would still have to pay for the room. What?, Pay, because of unprofessional hotel management or because they were unable or unwilling to clean a room? Come on, it's your business to have rooms ready, isn't it? You can tell me everyone staying decided to check out at exacty 12:00. Really? I want my money back. I am sure some one got my room...already paid for... and Holiday Inn sold one room twice! What a scam! We left, and will tell all we meet of the terrible way we were treated. 30 years of national and international travel and this is the rudest, most unprofessional desk clerk I have encountered. She wouldn't represent my company. Hey, if you want quality rooms, great service, cheaper prices, friendly atmosphere...book the Hampton Inn,even the Comfort Inn was more comfortable and less expensive. Everything about them beats Holiday Inn Express we've stayed at...hands down. Especially the beds.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We appreciate feedback from our guests, good or bad. We take all reviews seriously and use them for training at the hotel.
I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your early check in. Our check-in time for the hotel is at 4:00PM, we do try our best to accommodate early check-ins whenever possible. However, this is not always possible when the hotel was sold out the night prior and check-out is only at 11:00.
When you came to check in at 12:00, our staff was on their designated lunch break. As stated above we strive to accommodate all guest requests based on the time allotted and the period of notification we receive from our guests.
If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact the hotel directly at 717-293-9500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    146
    57
    43
    14
See reviews for
175
125
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I had a wonderful trip. The accomodations as always spectacular! Lily always has the breakfast area set up so beautifully and she keeps us happy and full!!! Thanks Lilly

Room Tip: POOL SIDE is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My friend is the expert on Holiday Inn Expresses; I recently joined him at the Rockvale Outlet location. The first thing one notices is that there's no visible signage from Route 30, meaning it's quite easy to miss the location. Even if you turn into the right mall area, you might have to circle around. It's easy to miss the turn; hopefully this could be resolved in the future?

My friend arrived before I did. He claims there was a putrid odor in the room. It was some hybrid of animal and refuse or something. The staff worked to resolve the olfactory problem, though when I arrived there was still a heavy musty odor that stuck around the entire time we stayed.

A couple of notes about bathrooms:
1. The public men's room didn't seem to lock as one thought it would. This lead to, shall we say, an embarrassing situation.
2. In the room bathroom (which could use some renovation), the bathroom door STUCK (think: the top warped/expanded or something), trapping one inside, particularly after a shower. What?!?!? Absolutely not cool. (We notified the staff of this at the end of our stay; I'm guessing it was resolved.)

I found the Wi-Fi to be slightly below average in terms of speed, though not painfully sluggish.

The manager mildly reduced the room rate due to our inconveniences, though the staff refused to give my friend points (which he says other locations usually grant given sub-par Holiday Inn experiences). My friend deemed this location rather sub-par with respect to most HIEs.

The saving grace for this location was the breakfast, which was superb. Do note, however, that if it's bus tour season the breakfast area is liable to be either rather empty or really crowded.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripToSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red House
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Very friendly staff, quiet convenient location with lots of shopping and restaurants. The breakfast was very good both days and the cookies were exceptional. The room was very clean and the beb was very comfortable.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem quiet and comfortable (we have stayed in two).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a 2 night stay and was very impressed. The staff (Diane, Jeremy, Carrie and Marsha) were great, very polite, very helpful. The breakfast was great, well prepared, and hot. The location could not have been better, shopping, shopping all around. The refigrator in the room was a great benefit by letting us freeze our ice pack to carry in the cooler all day. Would recommend this hotel to everyone going to stay in the ZLancaster area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmkwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We spent three nights of our Honeymoon June 12012, and our accommodations could not have been nicer. Requested a King room in a quite area of the hotel and our request was accommodated. The room was large very clean and quite comfortable. The mini refrigerator ran more quietly than in most any other hotel I have stayed at. We did not hear any noise from other guest from nearby outlets even though the outlets are just outside the hotel.

Breakfast was what you come to expect from an Express. The breakfast room was kept clean and well stocked. They have an overflow room when the main area gets crowded. Comfortable good looking lobby area which houses a computer and printer.

The location of this property is situated in an excellent location making it very convenient to get to all area attractions theaters,and restaurants quickly and easily. I would suggest this property when overnighting in the Lancaster area.

Room Tip: Corner Kings are large and have a sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1600Penn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Staff was great. It is always a pleasure to stay there, very quiet breakfast is good. The outlets are within walking distance, there are several places to eat, bank within walking distance. Holiday In express is the only place we like to stay they make you feel very confortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyinphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 39 in Lancaster
505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
0.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets

Property: Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Address: 24 S Willowdale Dr, Lancaster, PA 17602-1470 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closet Comfort Inn to the Greenfield Corp. We are the only hotel in the county where you can score amazing bargains and treat your taste buds without ever starting the car. The hotel is situated amidst one of the largest shopping outlets in the country. Take a walk, or ride the complimentary shuttle through Rockvale Outlets 90 factory direct stores and six restaurants. Tanger Outlets is just one mile away and Kitchen Kettle s country shops, quaint antique stores and numerous farmers markets are nearby. To get a real taste of Lancaster County, save room to sample the legendary PA Dutch cuisine. Whoopee pies, chicken pot pie, chow chow and shoofly pies are only the beginning. Holiday Inn Express Lancaster is surrounded by all of the best PA Dutch restaurants including Good N Plenty, Hershey Farm, Miller s Smorgasbord, Plain & Fancy Farms and Bird In Hand Restaurant. The hotel is just minutes away from a wide array of attractions including Sight & Sound Theatres, American Music Theatre featuring top named acts, Strasburg Railroad and Dutch Wonderland Amusement Park. Hershey Park and Chocolate World, Kreider s Farm and the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire weekends Aug. through Oct. are a 30 minute drive. We offer a convenient location, comfortable accommodations and just the right mix of services, all at very affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets Hotel Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing