We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bug motel with mold problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel on a spur of the moment trip. We paid over $160, and what we ended up with was a bug infested room with either mold or heavy debris built up in the a/c.

When staying at a Holiday Inn express, I expect clean rooms, no bugs, and no mold or excessive dust. I don't think that's to much to ask for. We've already captured and released a roach, a centipede, and some unknown specimen.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imagine20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNSSW_Admin, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello Imagine20.

First and foremost, I'd like to apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I am forwarding the details about your comments to my maintenance and housekeeping departments. I would hope that you'd give us another chance to prove our standards and hospitality.

Thank you for your time,

Jennifer Abbas
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Selected this HI Express after a long car ride. Nearby outlets just an added bonus. Room clean but a little dated. Good rate. Employees nice and polite. A plus for me. Breakfast was nice. Just what was needed for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cog3164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNSSW_Admin, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello Cog3164,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay. I'm so glad to hear that we made your quick overnight stop comfortable. I hope that next time you're passing through the area that you'll give us a call.

Jennifer Abbas
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The furniture and fixtures should be replace. Great location for attractions and shopping. Many nearby-restaurant to eat. The evening staffer(approximately at 8pm) on the 3rd of July was not very friendly. At check-in at about 2pm the front desk staffer was extremely helpful and cordial . The breakfast bar was average. The rooms were ok nothing "outstanding". If they want better reviews they should certainly make some serious changes

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bnshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
padutchhotels, General Manager at Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear, bnshirt,

Your comments are appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. In the coming months you will see many improvements including all new furniture in the rooms and the public spaces of the hotel.

I do apologize for the service issue you experienced with our evening staff that is not normal and I will make sure we address it to ensure it does not happen in the future.

I would hope that you will give us a second chance to show you we listen to our guest comments.

Sincerely,

John R. Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We have typically stayed at this location every year while visiting Lancaster.

The property is in the middle of the outlet action with restaurants close buy.

The room was well a room. Furniture and fixtures are becoming quite dated. Cleanliness was about what you would expect from the brand. The one major inconvenience with the room was the bathroom. The toilet needed several flushes just to get rid of waste. There is a fridge and microwave in the room however the fridge acted more of a freezer with no apparent way of controlling the temperature.

The kids enjoyed the pool but commented that more shade would be welcomed.

Breakfast on the first day, Saturday was a challenge. It was very busy and the attendant was having a challenge in keeping up. The pancake maker was out of order and appeared to have been that way for at least a week. The second day where the hotel was less busy was a little better, however supplies appeared to have been diminished.

The real disappointment this trip was the staff. My interaction with all of the staff, from the front desk, to housekeeping to the breakfast attendant were all less than great. All of the staff appeared to be unhappy with their roles. After 30 plus years in the service industry this responsibility must be that of management.

Will we stay here again? Probably.

Do I feel that you get value for what you pay? Not so much.

Special call out to James who was doing his best however you could tell he was overwhelmed.

Location 5/5
Value 3/5
Cleanliness 4/5
Comfort 4/5
Amenities 5/5
Wi-Fi 5/5

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNSSW_Admin, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hello Mark S.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your stay. Many of the concerns you had mentioned are being addressed with our upcoming renovation. We will be expanding our breakfast area to better accomodate our busy times and the pool area is going to get a face lift with better seating and recreational space. I do hope you'll be back to see the changes!

I will be sure to address the staff issues and apologize that we did not wow you during your stay.
I will also pass along your comments to James.


Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!


Jennifer Abbas
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for a weekend trip to Lancaster. The hotel was clean and room was a little bit bigger than average hotel room. Beds were a bit firm. Room was clean and decor was nice. Cable was more limited. Breakfast bar was great and had any options and large area to eat. There was nice outdoor pool. Water felt warm and there were hotel rooms going to the pool. Hotel is 2 floors high. This hotel is located adjacent to rockvale outlet mall featuring many stores. Also,many restaurants nearby and very close to sound and sight theater as well as other shopping areas, railroad,etc. Would stay again if in the area, Had good cookies in lobby in eve!

Room Tip: Bathroom is small but clean. There are rooms that face the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNSSW_Admin, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hello Tia B,

Thank you so much for your review! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our cookies! Thank you for mentioning our poolside rooms. They are a great amenity to have direct access from your room to our pool area.

Hope to see you again soon!

Jennifer Abbas
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Holiday Inn Express has been one of our "go to" places. This was not what we expected, we left a day early. It is older, so I will not get into decor, they were in the process of updating locks and a few other things while we were there. Which is a good thing, they need to do a great deal to get this place up to snuff. The room was reasonably clean but needed some updating. The room darkener was broken and had numerous small holes in it. The hairdryer didn't work. When we went to the vending machines to get water, we found that they had not been restocked in 2 days. We found out that there was water at the desk for $1. Breakfast is wonderful, lots of great offerings, but is so packed that a back room with folding tables is used for overflow. The one woman who was taking care of all this was a bit overwhelmed by the number of people showing up at one time. There was a great deal of people from bus trips at the hotel at this time. The staff at the front desk were pleasant, helpful and welcoming. Need to really upgrade this place so it meets the standards of this name.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galt49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
padutchhotels, General Manager at Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Galt49,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent visit. Based on your comments and those of other travelers we have taken all the comments and have been taking action on them. Our "Key Entry System" had to be our first on our list.

Over the next year you will see more improvements like enlarging the breakfast room, enhancing the business & fitness centers and the addition of a sundry store; just to name a few.

I would hope that you will give us a second chance to renew your experience with our hotel.

Sincerely,

John R. Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were in town to do some shopping at the outlets. This was the perfect place to stay. We could drop off packages and head back out to the outlets. Easy access to the main streets to go wherever you want. Room was extremely comfortable and well appointed. The towels were the best I have used while staying at a hotel! Breakfast bar was terrific. Plenty of choices and good quality...remember that this will save you money when figuring out if the cost of the hotel is worth it.
We arrived earlier than expected but were pleasantly surprised that the room was already for us so we could check in!! Check out was quick and simple!! Hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharcu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNSSW_Admin, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hello Sharcu7,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could help you shop 'til you dropped. I'm glad to see we were able to accommodate your early check in. Though we don't guarantee our rooms available until 4pm, if we have them clean and available for you earlier than that, we'd be more than happy to get you in your room so you can start your shopping sooner!

Look forward to seeing you again!


Jennifer Abbas
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 40 in Lancaster
516 reviews
6.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
1.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
1.8 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#17 of 40 in Lancaster
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets

Address: 24 S Willowdale Dr, Lancaster, PA 17602-1470 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#13 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: £63 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closet Comfort Inn to the Greenfield Corp. We are the only hotel in the county where you can score amazing bargains and treat your taste buds without ever starting the car. The hotel is situated amidst one of the largest shopping outlets in the country. Take a walk, or ride the complimentary shuttle through Rockvale Outlets 90 factory direct stores and six restaurants. Tanger Outlets is just one mile away and Kitchen Kettle s country shops, quaint antique stores and numerous farmers markets are nearby. To get a real taste of Lancaster County, save room to sample the legendary PA Dutch cuisine. Whoopee pies, chicken pot pie, chow chow and shoofly pies are only the beginning. Holiday Inn Express Lancaster is surrounded by all of the best PA Dutch restaurants including Good N Plenty, Hershey Farm, Miller s Smorgasbord, Plain & Fancy Farms and Bird In Hand Restaurant. The hotel is just minutes away from a wide array of attractions including Sight & Sound Theatres, American Music Theatre featuring top named acts, Strasburg Railroad and Dutch Wonderland Amusement Park. Hershey Park and Chocolate World, Kreider s Farm and the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire weekends Aug. through Oct. are a 30 minute drive. We offer a convenient location, comfortable accommodations and just the right mix of services, all at very affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster-Rockvale Outlets Hotel Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing