We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior B&B in Beautiful Lancaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

During our recent trip to Lancaster, we stayed at the 'world famous' Lovelace Manor B&B. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but based on all their extraordinary reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided this was the place. In the past, we always stayed at well-known chain motels, so staying in a 19th century Victorian home would be a whole new experience.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by owners, Michael and Lark, and after a quick tour of their beautiful home, they showed us to our rooms on the second floor. Each of the unique rooms were like being in a museum, but with all the modern amenities. They have thought of everything, from TV with DVD player and Wi-Fi, right down to bathrobes, decanter of wine and chocolates. The pillow-top mattress and bedding were luxurious and after supper, we all turned-in early as we were tired from our long drive from NY. The next morning, we met in their elegant dining room, where we were served a five-star gourmet breakfast with all the trimmings. The presentation of all three delicious breakfasts were stunning works of art. I really wasn't expecting anything so grand, so it was a wonderful treat. We enjoyed sitting at the table and socializing with our hosts after breakfast and picking their brains about Amish culture and points of interest in the area. Lark had prepared a 'back-roads' tour and provided us with very clear driving directions and a highlighted map. During our stay, over the next two days, we methodically worked our way through her tour and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. For a wonderful overview of Amish living in the beautiful Lancaster countryside, I advise you take her self-tour, even if you have visited Lancaster before. Lark and Michael are very hospitable and gracious hosts and they made our visit very interesting and enjoyable.

We’re definitely looking forward to returning to Lancaster County next year and staying here again. I highly recommend the exquisite accommodations and hearty breakfasts at the Lovelace Manor B&B. They genuinely deserve the TripAdvisor 2012 Certificate of Excellence Award. For more detailed info, check-out their comprehensive web site: www.lovelacemanor.com

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side, overlooking the gardens, may have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juddann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is a lovely Victorian house. Our room was large and very comfortable. Lark and Michael are friendly and welcoming and very willing to give recommendations and other helpful advice. The breakfast was hearty and delicious and the butlers pantry is available 24/7. The b and b is situated just off the main highway and about 20 mins away from rural Amish countryside which is stunning. We had a great stay and would definitely recommend this b and b.

Room Tip: The Lucasta is a lovely large quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britsincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Lark and Michael are to be congratulated on the amazing recreation / renovation done on the property and are wonderful hosts. A fountain of knowledge about local attractions and Lark's map of highlights in Amish country was of great assistance. Stunning accommodation and Lark's excellent breakfasts will set you up brilliantly for the day! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Innkeepers Lark and Michael were welcoming, informative, and attentive, without being intrusive. We stayed in the Rose room with the claw foot tub, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable (we had it split to twins and it was still great) and the microfiber sheets were exquisite. We visited the Dutch Apple Theater, which was very close to the B&B and on our next trip we will take Lark's driving tour of Lancaster.

We never stayed at a B&B before and we were anticipting an awkward breakfast with people we didn't know. Lark and Michale seemed to float about the dining area interjecting and initiating conversation. It was truly a lovely experience!

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked amazing, just as pictured on the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go2rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Me and my friends had an amazing stay at Lovelace..We were 2 couples and stayed in Lucasta and Althea..Michael and Lark were so accommodating and informative..The moment we walked in ,we knew we made the right choice ..Their self guided tour is to the point and covers everything what you should in Lancaster..and ya the breakfast was so yummy too...I would definitely go back again just because of the lovely innkeepers:)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pc1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My fiance and I had an amazing visit to Lancaster in June thanks to choosing Lovelace. Lark and Michael were accommodating and absolutely lovely from the start, even allowing us a last minute late check out so my fiance could finish a phone interview. We LOVED Lark's driving tour of Lancaster. It is a MUST DO when you stay here: everything we saw was authentic and Amish, and we didn't get caught up in the "Made in India" stores that try to replicate Amish work. Lark also had great dinner suggestions for us (The Accomac Inn- bit of a drive, but worth it! Gorgeous views!)

We stayed in the Rose Suite, a gorgeous room with lovely touches (and the ceiling fan and bathtub were highlights for me :-). Breakfast was great and so filling, little biscuits and coffee were always available if you wanted any. A small carafe of port was left in the sitting room of our suite as well, which was a nice touch.

Easy parking and driving into Lancaster itself (where we did the ghost tour- just OK- and Wheatland- worth it, but weird entrance driveway, we drove right by it). Incredibly happy with our decision to stay in this romantic and beautiful inn. Michael and Lark did a beautiful job renovating the house. It felt comfortable and luxurious. Thank you for such a lovely stay!!

Room Tip: The Rose Suite is to the Back of the house, with windows to the right/left of the bed- beautiful lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We took our first trip back east from Seattle and stayed two nights at Lovelace Manor B&B.

From the moment we drove up, we knew we had made a right choice! It is everything and more that they promise! Michael and Lark made us feel at home the moment we walked in. We were impressed with how beautiful their home is! Every room is a sanctuary and we just loved how it was decorated! Our rooms were amazing. So clean and the beds were SO comfortable! The port wine in our rooms were a special treat and we loved Michael's cookies! Lark's breakfast in the mornings were absolutely delicious, not to mention the lovely presentation of each dish she served. We loved sitting on the 'wrap around porch' each evening and to my surprise, the lawn lit up with firefly's at dusk and I was smiling ear to ear. It was here I saw my 1st Firefly! Being from Seattle, this was a Big deal for me. In fact it was on my bucket list. We loved the Amish tour they provided us with and wish we would have planned differently and stayed longer in Lancaster and less time in New York. Well...now we know! By the time we left, we felt like we had known Michael and Lark forever.
You will not be sorry if you book with them! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: EVERY room was fabulous! You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank secretagent54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
991 reviews
3.5 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,967 reviews
4.4 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
7.7 mi away
The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2236 Marietta Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: £90 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance of yesterday with the comforts of today! Beautiful, Second-Empire Victorian home with 3 guest rooms and 1 suite. Conveniently located to all major attractions. All modern amenities include private baths, TV/VCR/DVDs, free wireless internet, and some all season fireplaces. Two parlors, two dining rooms, a butler's pantry, game room and beautiful porches are all available for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovelace Manor Hotel Lancaster
Lovelace Manor b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing