We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B We've Stayed In!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My husband and I recently spent four wonderful nights at Lovelace Manory and we can't say enough about the house (beautifully restored and furnished), the hosts (Lark and Michael were so welcoming and helpful), and the food (outstanding breakfasts and delicious "snacks"). Everything from Michael waiting up for us until almost 11 PM the night we arrived (and still wanting to take the time to explain so many of the wonderful amenities of the home to us), to Lark arranging for us to have dinner with a local Amish family, and spending a goodly amount of time explaining about local attractions, etc. made this one of our best travel experiences to date. We stayed in the Lucasta room which was huge (by B&B standards) and had a bed that my husband is still raving about. We would wholeheartedly recommend Lovelace Manor to anyone who is thinking about visiting the Lancaster area and we certainly hope to be able to return there again someday ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2009

The Lovelace Manor B&B was a completely elegant experience from the beautiful decor to the cravingly delicious breakfast served in the morning. We felt like royalty from the time we arrived to the time we left. Upon arrival in our room at night we were greeted with an evening nightcap of Port that really set the mood. The host and hostess were an absolute joy to converse with and they were knowledgeable about the surrounding area and its history. We will absolutely be back again and hope to make it a regular experience. We hightly recommend this B&B if your find your travels in the Lancaster, PA area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Incredibly fortunate to find Lovelace on the web (our usual method for finding lodging) in 2004, we have returned many times over the years. A lovely setting made perfect by the owners who provide personal attention to each guest. Ten minutes away from all the activity in Amish Country, but well removed from the hustle and bustle of tourist areas providing a quiet retreat at the end of the day. Owners well connected with local attractions and Amish community affording unique cultural experiences. One leaves Lovelace knowing one will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRPNewhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

When I stepped into our room, my jaw dropped. The Innkeepers Lark & Michael truly outdid themselves with their guestrooms. They thought of every detail. The rooms are perfect, even the showercurtain (b.t.w., we stayed in room Ellinda) is in Victorian style - and I couldn't find a dirty spot anywhere. The beds are great too, feel like Sofitel-beds, only in better rooms. In the morning, they suprised us with fine breakfast: fresh fruit, omelet or French toast, juice and coffee/tea and good conversation if we felt like it. Lark and Michael make you feel welcome, at home and are interested in their guests, without being too intrusive. If we didn't live in Europe, we would definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesszelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

As frequent travelers to the Lancaster area and staying several places, without a doubt Lovelace Manor is our favorite. We have actually been here a few times now and our review is long overdue.

This B&B is set up so much nicer than others we have been to and much better than the hotels because you are not forced to sit in your room. The rooms are certainly spacious enough that you can spend the whole time there if you want (we have stayed in each room now), but they also have two inviting common parlors, two dining rooms, and a large wrap around porch each of which have plenty of seating. You can socialize with other guests and the charming innkeepers with a cup of coffee or tea any time of day, or spend time by yourselves. They also have a game room where you can play billiards or darts, listen to music or just relax, and it is far enough away from the guest rooms that it does not disturb the other guests. There was one couple there that kept to themselves, but the rest of the guests were really outgoing and friendly and we had a great time just hanging out and talking. As usual, the breakfasts were awesome and the company friendly and sociable, especially the hosts Michael & Lark.

With everything Lovelace Manor has to offer and the reasonable prices they offer, we have absolutely no problem in strongly recommending this particular B&B to all of our friends and family and have even bought a couple of gift certificates. Definitely worth the money to get away for a few days from the hustle and bustle of the New York City suburbs only a short drive away without having to pay all that money for air fare, rental cars, etc. We will continue to come back again and again to enjoy the top notch service and quality. Hope to see you there.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin_Cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

My daughter and I were invited by friends to join them for a "weekend getaway" to nearby Lancaster, PA. I hadn't been to "Amish Country" in many years and I was intrigued. When she mentioned that she had found a beautiful "B & B" called the Lovelace Manor, and that it was a large Victorian home circa 1880's I was sold. From the moment we trekked up the charming stone pathway and onto the wrap-around porch I felt the excitement as we peered through the windows into the life size "Dollhouse" that is the quintessential essence of the Lovelace Manor. We were a few minutes early, but not to worry because owner's Lark and Michael McCartley are as warm, welcoming and charming as the home that they have opened up as a "Bed and Breakfast".

From the moment we arrived, my 17 year old daughter and I were transported from our Suburban Baltimore home to a bygone era, and to quote her " I am in love with this place". Each of the two drawing rooms are unique and well decorated and appointed. The mixture of Antique and Victorian artwork, accessories and trim work balance perfectly with the design of the home. It is notably light and airy, though the furnishings are true to the era. There is no lack of luxurious touches and fortunately all the plumbing is updated while most of the hardware and hinges are original and are a "must see" for collectors and historians. The home is not without the proverbial ghost stories and cast of characters who are as much a part of the Lovelace Manor as the wallpaper. There are four magnificent Suites and each is named after a woman known to the Manor's namesake Lord Lovelace of 17th Century England . Lark and Michael the proprietors actually played some board games with us and accompanied us to a charming dinner at the home of a local Amish Family. We even think that the Lovelace Manor has a bit of lucky charm as we found out some terrific news while staying at this "magical manor". The breakfast which is generous and delicious will remain long in our memory as one of the best. Be sure to ask your proprietor's for tips on where to go, as they are knowledgeable and eager to share their copious literature with you. We can't stop raving about this beautiful B & B and can't wait to plan another visit here to see it in the Spring or Summer!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GetawayLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We stayed for one night for a nice getaway and we couldn't have been more happy with our stay. From the moment we arrived, Lark and Michael were warm and welcoming. A hot plate of oatmeal choc chip cookies were waiting, which was perfect on this 26 degree day! The extra touches of the unique Inn make it so charming..from the special toiletries (all bearing Lovelace Manors' name) to the Port wine and candies in your suite, extra-special. Some of the rooms have an electric fireplace which created even a more homey, warm atmosphere.
Breakfast was incredible..homemade croissant french toast and sausage, fresh fruit, little crisp wontons with egg and ham...yummy! The Amish Central Market is a brief 10 minute ride and Intercourse and other small towns only about 20 minutes away..making this not only a wonderful place to stay but a very convenient one, as well. Lark can also arrange dinner with an Amish family..how unique!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank prczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.5 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
9.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,954 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.4 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2236 Marietta Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: £94 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance of yesterday with the comforts of today! Beautiful, Second-Empire Victorian home with 3 guest rooms and 1 suite. Conveniently located to all major attractions. All modern amenities include private baths, TV/VCR/DVDs, free wireless internet, and some all season fireplaces. Two parlors, two dining rooms, a butler's pantry, game room and beautiful porches are all available for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovelace Manor Hotel Lancaster
Lovelace Manor b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing