We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrapbooking Getaway with the Girls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scrapbooking Getaway with the Girls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

We could not have been more thrilled with our stay at the Inn. We were so honored to be their first scrapbooking weekend. You would have never known that we were the first. Lynne and Bob were right there to anticipate everything that we could possibly need. With 10 ladies you can imagine how we took over the place but Lynne seemed to enjoy every minute of it. Our stay would not have been the same without Lynne and Bob. They went above and beyond any of our expectations to make sure we were all happy. The food was so great and the special snacks that she made for us were wonderful, especially the homemade salsas. It was all of these personal touches that made staying at the inn a weekend to remember and one we hope to make an annual event.

  • Liked — The Inn and our weekend would not have been the same with out Lynne.
  • Disliked — Nothing everything thing was great.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bflmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    31
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
223
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

My husband planned a romantic, SURPRISE, getaway for my 40th birthday. What a wonderful job he did!

We absolutely loved our room - so tastefully decorated, and we loved the gas fireplace. And I loved the tub!

They think of everything - bath salts, bubble bath, robes, plush towels, candles, wine. We absolutely loved it, and my husband arranged a massage for me in a little room on the 3rd floor of the bed and breakfast - very nice!

Breakfast was delicious with so many special touches. Thank you for a wonderful birthday celebation!

  • Liked — The care taken in decorating the room and the jacuzzi tub :)
  • Disliked — The leaky tub faucet - but it happens :)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zanothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuneBJones, Owner, Innkeeper at The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 January 2009
Thank you so much for your kind words and thoughtful review. We love having guests like you and doing our part to help you celebrate special occasions just like this. We hope you return soon.
PS - fixed the faucet! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

What a stroke of luck finding the Walkabout Inn after scouting so many others. We'd planned a one night stay, but decided to extend when we were met with such warm hospitality and beautiful accommodations. Comfortable bed, jacuzzi with bath salts and candles ,TV& DVD, radio/CD and mini fridge stocked with complimentary water and sodas right in your room. Freshly baked cookies, coffee, tea assortment and hot chocolate available in the parlor to be microwaved, and sherry and port to warm you upon returning from your day out. Outstanding homemade breakfast specialities served with delightful table talk between guests and innkeepers.
We've experienced many B & B's lately, but the Walkabout ranks as our favorite now. Hopefully we'll be returning with friends after the holidays.

  • Liked — Shabby chic victorian decor. Hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank orrnret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Walkabout Inn Bed and Breakfast just outside of Strasburg in Lancaster County, PA. Having been guests at many other B & Bs across the country, we have experiences with inns we have liked very much and a few with which we were not so fond. Happily, our experience at the Walkabout Inn places it firmly within the top ranks of any of the B&Bs in which we’ve visited.

Our room, the McLaren Vale Suite, was well appointed with a hot tub, sitting area, television, refrigerator stocked with sodas and water, and probably the best shower head in a bathroom we’ve used in any B&B. The showers as a result were wonderful and worthy of special mention. The suite itself was merely a reflection of the Inn as a whole, which has received extensive time and attention thanks to new owners Bob and Lynne. They have invested significant sweat and effort in their property during the past year and their labor of love was evident in big and small ways all through the house.

The tastefully decorated sitting area just outside of the dining room was another memorable area of the house. Tones of soothing jazz emanated from the room’s stereo system, and we spent many hours chatting there. A nice assortment of teas, cookies, and other pastries were available in this area, and nearby was another refrigerator with cold water and sodas. Bob and Lynne definitely encouraged proper hydration!

The breakfasts were fabulous. With daughter Taylor lending a hand on Sunday morning, the meals were well prepared and presented with a smile. Given that our regular breakfasts at home are far less substantial, we greatly enjoyed the opportunity to sample Lynne’s burgeoning culinary talents. The epicurean pursuits were on full display!

Yet another strong point the Inn has going for it is its location. Close to all area attractions, it is well positioned for anyone who wants to explore the local environs. We ventured just a few miles down the road to Strasburg to visit the railroad museum, several Amish shops, and to sample the fabulous ice cream at the Strasburg Creamery. We also went a bit further down the road to visit Twin Brook winery in the town of Gap, which is a nice stop for those interested in wine tasting.

Our stay at the Walkabout Inn was the perfect long-weekend escape. We highly recommend Bob and Lynne’s hospitality to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the Lancaster area. We had a terrific time and will most definitely pay the Inn another visit in the future!

  • Liked — Great Breakfasts and Great Room
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2go71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

We enjoyed a short time away from our hectic schedule at the Australian Walkabout and surrounding area attractions. The B&B was very friendly and relaxing and we thoroughly enjoyed the hosts and other guests staying there. The rooms we wonderful and the hosts met our every need.

  • Liked — Friendly Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Bed was harder than we like
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Av8tor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the walkabout inn for just a night. When we arrived the innkeeper lynn greeted us right away and showed us to our room which was the outback cottage not conected to the b&b but outside the house. It was a beautiful suite with a jacuzi and seperate bath. HUGE king size bed that was sooo comfortable. Everything was wonderful!! The amenities were so nice. Complimentry wine and beer and other beverages which was really nice. The breakfast was amazing and made us feel at home. The hospitality was incredible. I could go on forever about how wonderful this place really was!

  • Liked — Felt like home away from home.. oh and the jacuzzi =]
  • Disliked — Flawless.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sam27brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

We stayed one night and were thoroughly relaxed the entire time. The Inn is immaculate; the innkeepers, Bob & Lynne, are the best hosts and the breakfast served in the morning was awesome! We will be back, hopefully for a longer stay the next time!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
6.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
24.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
3.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 837 Village Rd, Lancaster, PA 17602-1626
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance in the heart of Amish Country. We offer 5 unique suites with private bathrooms. Hot, hearty breakfast included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing