We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$119
US$95
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn of Lancaster(Lancaster)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$307
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$69
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fulton Steamboat Inn(Lancaster)(Great Value!)
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
513
21
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
21
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bother guestswonderful hostshauck roomheated tile floorslancaster areabreakfast was delicioushome away from homegas fireplaceamish countryhomemade cookiesoatmealloved our staypoached pearpretzelswonderful weekendsitting room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our very first B&B experience. And what a pleasant experience it was. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Scott. This is not your typical hotel check in. We were shown to the parlor where Scott spoke about the history of the house. Traveling with my wife and father, I had previously spoken to Diane by telephone about his dietary requirements, of which were addressed and taken care of during breakfast the next morning. After check in, Scott gave us a tour of the common areas of the house. The house has that old victorian charm throughout. Immaculately clean and orderly with everything in its place. A three course delicious breakfast is served at 9:00 AM, a great time so you do not have to rise early and can even sleep in to enjoy the room. You feel as if you're a member of their family. That particular morning, the table was full, ten guests being served breakfast. After introductions, we all had conversations as if we all knew one another. A very relaxing and rewarding experience. Upon our departure, we took Scott up on his offer to take the covered bridges self auto tour. It is Lancaster the way it is meant to be seen. The Amish going about their daily lives. And what a beautiful countryside. All in all, when in Lancaster county, you must try the E. J. Bowman House; what an experience!

Room Tip: The Bowman Suite is a fantastic room. Completely secluded on the third floor of the house, the King bed is to die for. Very, very comfortable. A memory foam topper was recently added to the bed for that ultimate comfort experience. In the adjacent room, there is a day bed. It is not your ordinary day bed though. More like an XL twin. My 86 year old Dad slept on this one and he was extremely comfortable. There is a trundle mattress that pulls out from under the bed for another person to use. The stove completely heated the whole suite. And there is even a small balcony overlooking the gardens in the rear of the house with two nice chairs.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pabont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for the review, and we are so glad that you enjoyed the covered bridge tour. Breakfast is also our favorite time of day, since we get to sit down with all of our guests and learn bits and pieces about them, and also at that time be ready to help them plan their days. We hope to see you back in the future, as I have said before, the ultimate compliment is a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The house and setting itself is really nice - can't add much to what is already written. What really makes the difference is Scott and Diane's kind approach to making you feel at home and giving good suggestions for outings. Will return next time I am in Lancaster.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellehoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guests, even if it was only for a short time. We do hope you return, there is so much more to see and do in Lancaster County all year long. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What a great place to stay. Diane and Scott really make your stay there special and enjoyable. The house and rooms are absolutely gorgeous. The breakfast was impecable and will keep you full for most of the day. They have all the details covered. Felt like home staying there. We will return there in the near future, and we are looking forward to it. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. Thank you John and Fran

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your most kind review. It makes our day when someone mentions to us or in a review that they felt at home here, and that is how we want all our guests to feel. We hope to have you back in the near future, as they say, there's no place like home..........Thanks again for staying with us and for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This B&B is stands out! Diane and Scott work hard and enjoy what they do. This is evident as soon as you walk into the E J Bowman House. The atmosphere is welcoming and warm as they introduce themselves and the house to you. The breakfast is fantastically MMMMM! It was also very nice for the innkeepers to take time out of their busy schedule to sit and talk with the guests during breakfast. We also enjoyed the snacks and the kitchenette availability. The house as well as the rooms are "spic and span". With a truly inviting and relaxed ambience I would strongly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

We really do appreciate reviews that mention not only our hospitality, but also our cleanliness. That is something that every innkeeper aspires to! Please come see us again, it was great to meet you folks, and we did have a lot of laughs with you. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Thank you so much, Diane and Scott for such a wonderful couple of days spent with you at your B&B last week. Such a beautiful historic home and so comfortable you have made it. You know what a "clean freak" I am, and it certainly did meet and exceed my expectations!! With all of your fall decor and fall-inspired breakfasts, it was the perfect time of year to visit.

Thank you once again,
Bobbie and Paul Foutty

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbieSox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for the very kind review. You were both a delight to meet and have as our guests, and conversation was never a problem between us. Now that fall is almost over, you'll have to stop back for a look at an E J Bowman Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews