We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another amazing stay at EJ Bowman House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Republic, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another amazing stay at EJ Bowman House”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our second stay over Valentine's weekend with Scott and Diane at the Bowman House. We were e-mailed prior to our stay and were asked if we wanted to come a day early due to a large incoming snowstorm. Upon arrival we sat in the parlor and caught up with each other's life happenings in the past year like we were chatting with old friends. Overnight the area was hammered with 14" of snow resulting in everything in the area being closed that day. Never fear, Diane announced that lunch and dinner would be provided for all. As usual, the accomodations were impeccable. A delicious breakfast each morning was accompanied by interesting conversation amongst new lodgers and also two couples we met the previous year. We both feel if you lookup the definition of the word innkeeper in the dictionary, you would find a picture of Scott and Diane there. Barring unforeseen circumstances, we plan on visiting next year and in the years to come.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here. We would accept any available room. The heated floors in the bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Reviews don't get much kinder than yours, and we thank you very much. It was a pleasure to have you with us those 5 days, and a chance to get to know you both better. We also look for the friendship to grow as each year goes by, and we already have a surprise for you to see on your next visit .......until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
287
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was absolutely lovely. The breakfasts made by hosts, Scott and Diane, were delicious. They were very accommodating to our vegetarian diet. It was also nice meeting the other guests during breakfast. Our room was so comfortable, we did not want to leave. The home is beautiful. The whole experience was amazing. We look forward to staying again sometime soon. Thank you Scott and Diane!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RSKESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We really enjoyed meeting you both, and are very glad that you chose us to spend your Valentine's weekend. We really would enjoy having you back again, but of course there are bigger things coming first before another retreat! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Scott and Diane have such a Beautiful and Relaxing Home. They made us feel so welcomed from the minute we walked in the door. Loved hearing the history of the home.

We stayed in the 3rd floor suite and could not have asked for better. The room was spotless and inviting and comfortable. We will defiantly recommend this B&B to everyone and try to get back for another visit in the summer.

Thanks Again for a wonderful Stay.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We really did enjoy meeting you both, and hope that you had a successful trip to New England and back home. We'd love to have you come back again in the summer! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

from the minute the door opened my wishes were their command. I was able to work in a beautiful,peaceful environment and enjoy a home away from home,and look forward to a great breakfast with a cup of fresh coffee. i was able to be productive and still return to my home refreshed. Dr.C cernak

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayla98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us, and that you appreciated all we offer our guests. We're looking forward to having you back again sometime when you can enjoy warmer weather and all the beauty that Lancaster County has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Recently stayed for one night at EJ Bowman house. Room very comfortable and owners very friendly. All the amenities of home. Snacks and beverages available at all hours. Delicious three-course, made-from-scratch breakfast. Menus available for local restaurants/bars. Brochures availabe for sightseeing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Travel0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We really enjoyed having you as our guests, even if it was only for 1 night, and we are happy that you felt comfortable in our home and all that it offers. We would love to have you come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We chose a very cold and snowy weekend to stay at EJ Bowman, but it was very warm and cozy inside. Scott and Diane did an excellent job of making us feel very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. The little extras - library with a full selection of music and DVDs, the home baked cookies, popcorn, candy, coffee, latte, tea, spring water and ice were great. The room with the gas fireplace and heated tiles in the bathroom kept us warm while it was freezing outside. Thanks, Scott and Diane for a wonderful weekend and we would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landis162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review. We do enjoy sharing our home with our guests this time of year even though it is a lttle cold and snowy out. They really were nice breakfast chats we had with you and the other guests, and we hope you come back again when the weather is nicer and you can take advantage of the pond and gardens. Until then.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Nice historic building in good location with friendly obliging hosts.
- rooms have reasonable space (not as cluttered as some)
- beds firm enough (in some B&Bs the beds are so soft you both slump into the centre)
- breakfast is decent cooked effort (tasty and filling)
- lots of extras included (mints, popcorn if you want it, fancy tea and coffee, DVDs, etc)
- off season pricing is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APMuchTravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. You certainly have travelled around and lived in some interesting places. We hope that you get back our way again and get to see a little more of Lancaster County in a warmer time of the year. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.1 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
3.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.3 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
4.4 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast

Property: EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2674 Lititz Pike, Lancaster, PA 17601-3724
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As your hosts, the O'Donnells welcome discerning travelers to where good tastes and elegance are at home for you in their circa 1860 Italianate home (big yellow house). 4 deluxe rooms and a suite (with whirlpool), modern conveniences, full homemade breakfasts and a lovely garden offer you the perfect Lancaster getaway with Hershey, Gettysburg and Philadelphia each a simple day trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing