We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Gibraltar Grille

Gibraltar Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Gibraltar Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 572 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Race Avenue
Description: New American, Mediterranean Influenced, Locally Inspired... Gibraltar delivers an extraordinary dining experience for every occasion or no occasion at all. Casual elegance in a relaxed manner reminiscent of a seaside Mediterranean resort, spacious, window-lined dining rooms and a beautiful garden patio provide a perfect setting. Boasting a superior ZAGAT food rating of (26/30 - '13 Philly Survey) the cuisine is as beautifully presented as it is delicious. Inspired by the seasons, utilizing the best ingredients, at the peak of freshness, from the fertile PA Dutch Country and around the globe, line-caught, wild fish and shellfish flown in daily, prime beef, local organic poultry, lamb and fresh local produce, Chef Vitale and his staff create delicious and inspired dishes. An award winning wine list offers nearly 250 selections to further enhance your experience.
Lititz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Perhaps because the sign is small or the fact that it is tucked away in a hidden location, we often forget about the best cuisine and service in Lancaster. It's been nearly 6 months since my husband and I have dined at Gibraltar, and we never fail to be blown away by the service and food. We had the most wonderful tuna tartare, with an asian flair and an amazing fresh pea ravioli followed by fileted bronzino (best fish I've ever eaten) and perfectly cooked filet. Portions are very generous but we managed to share a decadent chocolate/peanut butter dessert. The interior is a bit tired, but I understand they plan to move into new space later this year... can't wait!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamKan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    50
    24
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Staff & Food”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Spent the night of our engagement here; the staff had two tables ready so I could pick the one I wanted! The food was outstanding and the staff helped make our night even more memorable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pete717, Owner at Gibraltar Grille, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Congratulations again Justin, and thank you for celebrating your engagement with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had the most wonderful time at Gibralter this Easter. The lamb trio was one of the best dishes I've ever had, and I'm well traveled. As a table of 5 we all enjoyed our meals and appetizers, the Tuna Tartare was excellent. Our waitress "Veevee"' had a passion about food that was infectious, her bubbly personality and personal attention made our dining experience. The next time we're in Lancaster we will definitely visit again and ask for Veevee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charliemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistently the best restaurant in town”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Gibraltar is, unfailingly, the best and most consistent restaurant in town. We have eaten at Gibraltar many times over the years and the meals are always wonderful. Creative, beautiful dishes that taste as wonderful as they look. Even the bread, made in-house, is excellent. You can't go wrong with any of the fish dishes - the tuna, halibut, scallops, crab cakes - are all delicious. And while the menu doesn't change frequently, there are always great specials to try. Gibraltar also has an active bar scene - and in the summer, a delightful outdoor patio. This isn't a meal to rush through, but rather to sit back, relax and enjoy every bite.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AALancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conestoga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tastes like expensive food”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I like the ambiance, it is certainly a place you wear a jacket and take a fancy lady for a nice meal. The food is good, but not great, and I hate to say anything too negative, but it is just not worth it most times. The place is probably the priciest in Lancaster and for that, I think it should taste better than anywhere else.
I had some seafood pasta and it felt like the ratios of all the food was off and it got a little monotonous. It was superb food, but I want it a notch better for the price.

Overall a good time, but you will be paying for the ambiance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gibraltar Grille also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Gibraltar Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing